We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whale watching and game”

Wotton-under-Edge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Whale watching and game”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We are old hands at St Lucia and love it there, but this time we had our eldest grandson (aged thirteen) with us and we wanted it to be special for him. The area itself is one of outstanding beauty, though because of the weather conditions there were fewer amazing birds than usual. And as a town, there is not a great deal of choice for vegetarians. All the same, the wildlife, the dunes, the ecosystem with the estuary make it very special. In addition there were the various guided tours. It seems that the big, national/international firms are moving into St Lucia, but they don't do such good tours or pay such good attention to their guests as the pre-existing local firms do and we would strongly advise travellers to stick with the local firms: Advantage Tours for whale watching and the estuary, Kian at Shaka Barker for going into the game park - his evening tour is amazing, his knowledge outstanding and his introductions to the little creatures of the area second to none, Geoff and his colleagues at EuroZulu with their absolutely amazing 'ferrari safaris' to Hluhluwe.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank DebbieE186295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    26
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Drumnadrochit
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“St Lucia wetlands”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This was our second visit to St Lucia, we stayed in the town and visited game reserves close by, but we found the most amazing thing was the fact that you can just walk down to the river from the town and see hippos and crocodiles in the wild, can't wait to go back again!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenDurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We went here in November time, we saw most the wonderful animals except Elephants which were re-introduced in 2005 but were noticibly abscent at the time we went, Hippos and Crocs everywhere different buck and the quite rare Samango monkey, we were so close to some Rhino we could have touched it, the best thing is that it is self drive (normal sedan car fine) so you could stop where you wanted for as long as you wanted,
The village/Town of St Lucia is really lovely one road with a quaint feel to it.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank sonyaclairelewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
139 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Good Day Out”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We did this in our own car, and had a fantastic time, we took a picnic which we ate on the beach.
We also saw a leopard, YES LEOPARD, so beautiful, amongst loads of other wildlife.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank maryrhosUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Hippo cruise with Heritage Tours and Safari!”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

There are a number of companies offering cruises but we joined the one with Heritage Tours and Safari. We were on a small boat which is nice. And the guide is knowledgeable and humorous. He explained us a lot and we saw many hippos, birds, croco and even shark. There was no single moment boring and I can only highly recommend it.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank SharonKMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greater St Lucia Wetland Park also viewed

 
St Lucia, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Greater St Lucia Wetland Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing