We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“This place was awesome and homey.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Trovatore Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Trovatore Motel
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Kingman
Ventura, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“This place was awesome and homey.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

My husband and I just stayed at this hotel for a night after 12 days of staying at various hotels in various states. Not only was the check in a fun experience with Sammy but it was the best night sleep of all! The owners go out of their way to welcome you including small touches lime putting the TV station to a channel she thought my husband would like since we were towing a motorcycle. The rooms had everything you needed and the AC worked very well. Because it is an older hotel the shower floor is a bit worn but the water pressure made up for it. If you like strong
water pressure it was great. All in all we are so glad we stayed there. Thank you Sammy and Monica and congratulations on maintaining a comfortable yet very affordable hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gulartes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    119
    50
    20
    16
See reviews for
68
164
26
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hermitage, Tennessee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

After all of the wonderful reviews, my husband and I expected a great experience. We were disappointed. The location along Route 66 was desired, and the history of the motel is interesting.

Our room, unlike others reviewed, was small with stained carpet. When we first opened the door, the first impression was it looked nice, but that lasted for just a few seconds. The bed looked nice, appeared to be clean, and it was comfortable. The TV was an older model, but it worked.

The same cannot be said for the WiFi; neither my husband nor I could use it. The only outlets in the room to charge phones or laptops or use for any reason was in the surge protector behind the mini frig; the mini frig looked as if someone had used it for batting practice it was so dented.

Again, unlike other reviews of other rooms, the Paul Newman room had a bathroom that was so below par that I was afraid to shower, but I did. The tub had a sheet of drywall board on it; it was unusable. The shower area, on the other side of the toilet and small sink, was sunken a bit below floor level; it was dark and grungy. There was no counter space, no outlets, no hair dryer, and the mirror was hung too high to be of use to me.

The worse part of our stay was when I was using the mirror in the bed area to dress, and I felt something on my foot. I looked down, and a large roach was there. Shortly after, we found a large, dead roach in the bathroom near the toilet. My husband and I got out of there as quickly as possible, and we will not be back to see if other rooms seem to have been so much better than the one we stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

This motel is very quaint and historic. It was very clean and lacked no necessity. The owners are very friendly and knowledgable about Route 66, which I enjoyed hearing about. The bathrooms are a little rustic; the shower had no light and was pretty dark. But it was clean and had plenty of hot water! If you're looking for luxury and brand new, probably not the place for you. But if you enjoy historical and vintage places, it's worth a night's stay.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank KassieJ9777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We loved the quirky nature of this motel. We had the John Wayne room and it was lovely, clean and well appointed with the original 1930 s bathroom, briliant, The owners were so friendly and well informed. Would not hesitate to stay here again. xx

Room Tip: The character rooms were a real treat, Elvis, John Wayne, Marilyn etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Wasn't sure what to expect here but was happy with the result. The rooms were clean and well appointed for such an old establishment, and the owners could not be more friendly and helpful. The themed rooms are a nice touch - not often a chap gets to honestly admit to spending a night in Audrey Hepburn....!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Maroc365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The owners are so nice and friendly and really care about Kingman and Route 66 history! And they want to share it with you. The motel is a work in progress. There are things that need updating, but it's still a clean enough place--old grungy not gross dirty. I hope that the updates can be done without losing the charm of the architecture. The bathrooms are really neat! I have severe allergies and the AC and the carpet got me bad, but I am still glad we stayed here. I see a lot of potential in this property and would love to see it when more fixes have been made.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Outdoorsy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

What a great place to stay. This is an old Route 66 hotel that the owners have have put a lot of work into restoring and they've done an excellent job. Our room was clean and quiet.

Our air conditioning unit went out and the owners called the maintenance man at 9 pm to come in and replace the unit. Wow... That's customer service.

If you are looking for the Route 66 experience, a great place to stay, the opportunity to meet a mix of guests and interact with the delightful owners and their cute little dog this would be the place to go.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingman hotels
2.0 mi away
Ramada Kingman
Ramada Kingman
#3 of 28 in Kingman
4.0 of 5 stars 580 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#12 of 28 in Kingman
3.0 of 5 stars 407 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Kingman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#11 of 28 in Kingman
3.5 of 5 stars 118 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Kingman
1.6 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#14 of 28 in Kingman
3.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Trovatore Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Trovatore Motel

Property: El Trovatore Motel
Address: 1440 E Andy Devine Ave, Kingman, AZ 86401-6254
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Kingman
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Kingman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — El Trovatore Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are on Route 66 in downtown Kingman, AZ. We have Legendary Hollywood Icon Themed Rooms/Marilyn Monroe,Elvis Presley,John Wayne and many more. There are many murals including a 206' 3D map of Route 66 and famous 100' glowing neon tower. Come and join us for the ulimate Route 66 experience! Classic cars/neon/Specialty rooms/King size and doubles/Kitchenette/Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your El Trovatore Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing