We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stop” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramblin Rose Motel

Ramblin Rose Motel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ramblin Rose Motel
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Kingman
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
52 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice place to stop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We were traveling through Kingman about 9:00 p.m. and decided to stop here.

Kingman is a railway town. No avoiding it. (For you history buffs, it is the site of a railway fire that had the greatest loss of life in Arizona.) More than 100 trains a day pass through town (average: 4-5 an hout). If you hate the sound of trains, you won't want to be ANYWHERE in Kingman.

We don't care... we love trains and whistles in the middle of the night.

The motel is a no frills affair. The managers are friendly enough, and they went out of their way to make sure that we had enough ice and anything else that we'd need.

The air conditioning was noisy. Then again, back when we were kids in the 50's and 60's air conditioning was *always* loud.

We would stop here again. The family that runs it is worth the visit. However, if you really adore plastic hotels and are in general demanding (even if you say you're not), keep on driving. You're not human enough for a place like this.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GaoDawei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    10
    7
    6
See reviews for
4
15
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Haifa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

You don't have to spend the time more than passing here the night for tomorrows activity. I guess this place has no intentions to be more than that and it's absolutely OK.
I did so in my way from Las Vegas towards the Southern rim of the Grand Canyon. So I just stopped here for the night and it was only after I entered the room that I realized the train tracks are at the other side of the road. I was too tired for letting it disturb my sleep and I was more frustrated that the wireless was out of rang so I ended up having my laptop on the reception's front desk in order to have some communications... Meanwhile, I had a nice chat with the owner's son who will (probably) replace the hardware, at least for having his front desk free for other customers to come in… :-) Other than that, I have no complaint, maybe the past criticism here made things better during my visit ?

The real Rose, however, was found in the Dambar steak house restaurant which is 3 minutes drive up the hill - Thank you so much Mrs. Ramblin' Rose for letting me know about this restaurant, it was awesome!

Room Tip: If the wirless gear wasn't replaced by now, ask for a room near the front dest office. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SharkOnRush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We came into town after dark and looked for a cheap but clean hotel. Rambling Rose sounded good and looked ok. It is old and dated but it has what you need, clean sheets, clean bathroom and a TV to distract the kids. At $80 it was a little expensive for 3 people and the air conditioner was noisy but we hardly noticed since we pulled in late and left early.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LincolnK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

This hotel is located just next to the railway.
The trains keep running all through the night with big big horn.
IMPOSSIBLE TO SLEEP !!!
I definitely NOT recommend you to stay this hotel.
You will never able to sleep!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chiquitita0104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

The accommodation itself is fine for a cheap motel, but the location is terrible. Around a dozen trains passed between 10pm and 7am and they all sound their horns for six long bursts as they approach the nearby crossing. It was a very sleepless night.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nod069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

My fiance and I stayed at the rambling rose on a late night on our way to vegas. We understand this is a budget motel but we also expect at minumum that the room is clean.

We got in late at night and checked in with a woman who was almost as pleasant as a toothache and no empty spots to park our car. We dealt with it and figured it out. We walked across the parking lot to out room to realize the main lights were burnt out and the room smelled like an ashtray (we booked nonsmoking). We decided we would deal. The pillows were smelly and stained and I couldn't bring myself to lay my head on it. The blaankets were stained all over....the worst part is that we were itchy, like intensly itchy. We ended up sitting in the chairs and talking for a few hours until we went to take a shower....no towels in our room. Had to go get towels to take a shower in the most disgusting shower ever.

Point being...just stay somewhere else. This is the most repulsive motel...ever.

There are plenty other budget hotels in this area check in to one of them instead.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jennyc1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

To say this place has seen better days is a huge understatement. A couple of miles from I-40, this hotel looks terrible, needs paint, and new fixtures, but nevertheless, everything (the tv, ac, hot water) worked. The place was clean and quiet (although the a/c was a bit noisy). The best part was the blazing fast free wi-fi (password required). It was the fastest, best wi-fi I’ve ever experienced at a hotel. The service at the front desk was not very friendly, and the total (room rate + taxes) was rounded UP by a couple of bucks. That said, it was an easy, inexpensive place to stay while on a road trip across Arizona.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 305road_tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingman hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#12 of 28 in Kingman
3.0 of 5 stars 407 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#14 of 28 in Kingman
3.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ramada Kingman
Ramada Kingman
#3 of 28 in Kingman
4.0 of 5 stars 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
El Trovatore Motel
El Trovatore Motel
#6 of 28 in Kingman
4.0 of 5 stars 331 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hill Top Motel
Hill Top Motel
#15 of 28 in Kingman
3.5 of 5 stars 95 reviews
2.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Kingman
Red Roof Inn Kingman
#9 of 28 in Kingman
3.5 of 5 stars 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramblin Rose Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramblin Rose Motel

Property: Ramblin Rose Motel
Address: 1001 E Andy Devine Ave, Kingman, AZ 86401-6209
Location: United States > Arizona > Kingman
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Kingman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramblin Rose Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Ramblin Rose Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing