We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good old steak”

The Butcher Shop & Grill
Ranked #1 of 225 Restaurants in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: In the heart of Sandton, on Nelson Mandela Square, is the flagship Johannesburg branch of The Butcher Shop & Grill: an institution in South African dining. For over 20 years, our unmatchable steakhouse has been as much a part of SA culture as sunshine, red wine and red meat. You could say it is a landmark on the culinary landscape (and we're now in Cape Town and the Middle East). But The Butcher Shop is also about family - and the laughter, memories and conversations shared with special people over great food at a top steakhouse. Our family business, handed down over three generations, is famed for its quality produce, extensive menu, separate butchery & deli and 800 passionate staff globally. In Johannesburg we're able to seat up to 600 guests, plus 22 guests in our exclusive private dining room. In Cape Town, we can accommodate 250 guests, with capacity for an additional 40 guests in our private dining room.
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good old steak”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Good quality steaks. From Africa specialties - game carpaccio is delicisios, as well as the oxtail. Always a hard choice with all meats being so good there.
Also have seafood there - but I have never tried.
Also a nice selection of South Africa wines. Tip - takeaway is 30% off the price on the list. And very helpful service selecting the wines.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank meTatyana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,218
    837
    255
    113
    90
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“South African Specialities”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is a more than exceptional restaurant, with a wonderful ambiance, exceptionally well appointed with the most well trained staff. It is situated in one of the best shopping centers in the world, on Mandela Square which in itself is a must see.
The food is delicious with a vast menu which includes typical South African dishes, my favorite is the Boerewors, a South African spiced sausage.Their Biltong another South African staple is so delicious, similar to Beef Jerky but so much nicer.
If you are in Johannesburg, d go to this restaurant and also enjoy the fabulous shopping center which personally to me only compares with the Landmark in Hong Kong. Not many shopping centres as great as this one. You can also buy many quality South African souvenirs in the Sandton complex/

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sanmerle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Top notch food”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Its all about the meat! Fantastic simple food well cooked, pleasant service and an excellant selection of wines by the glass.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laurence_B_Jacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hengelo, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best restaurant for meat eaters!”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Visiting JNB it is almost mandatory to book at this restaurant. It is the best restaurant I know if you like to eat meat! Their (fillet) steaks are the best and together with a splendid wine it results in an unforgettable meal. We were lucky to start our trip and finish it there. Hope to be back in the (near) future

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brave315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great atmosphere”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We had a party of three at this restaurant. It's a large restaurant, but the service was excellent and friendly. The food was first class, some of the best beef I've tasted. I had a 1/2kg T-bone steak as a surf and turf with large tiger prawns, and it only cost about £15. We were even able to select our own cut of meat from the in-house butcher. Value is excellent, although eating out is generally cheap when compared to prices in other locations. A great evening.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Butcher Shop & Grill also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to The Butcher Shop & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing