We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for business but not for leisure” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Faircity Quatermain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Faircity Quatermain Hotel
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Feckenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good for business but not for leisure”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

This is a well appointed hotel in an excellent location. My husband has stayed here on several occasions. However this time was part if a holiday break and we were underwhelmed. The place is clearly geared to conferences and groups were noisy and intrusive to the extent that we did not feel welcome to sit round or use the swimming pool. Still not sure if the 'trench' in the garden area was a pool or not but it was dirty anyway!
Wifi in the rooms was intermittent so one had to use a lounge with conference visitors. We only ate breakfast here which was ok but uninteresting. Nowhere near as good as at the B and Bs we have stayed in. As a point of interest thus is decidedly not suitable for disabled guests as there are many steps and different levels throughout. Staff were all pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a new room at the back near the garden if you want to avoid conference groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Chris F,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to rate our hotel on Tripadvisor. We highly value all feedback from our guests highly.

Firstly, thank you on your comment our hotel being well geared for business travellers. We are sorry to hear that you did not feel welcome because of the conference groups around you. Unfortunately, being primarily a business hotel, November is our busiest month of the year, especially during the week. I can assure you that we value all our guests both business and leisure travellers alike.

We would also like to thank you for your kind comments about the pleasantness and helpfulness of out staff.

Unfortunately the unique double storey architecture of our beautiful buildings do not allow for mechanised access to rooms on the upper floor. We do however try to accommodate all our guests in a room of their choice, especially if the guest requires easy access to a room on the lower floor.

We do hope to welcome you and your husband back to our hotel in future and we trust that we will be able to redeem ourselves then.

Sincerely

Jaco S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    102
    35
    7
    7
See reviews for
23
69
16
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Absolutely loved this colonial inspired hotel. Except for a terribly bitter coffee at breakfast (room has better coffee with the capsule machine) and poor WiFi (most hotels in South Africa) I have nothing to complain about. Slept well and surrounded by friendly and helpful staff.
One of the highlights was a stunning sirloin steak in the restaurant. Hard to find better meat anywhere on the globe.
Would certainly like to come back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pligs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Pligs,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate your comments and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We pride ourselves on our clean, comfortable rooms, friendly staff and good food. We have proudly shared your comments with all members of staff at the hotel.

We look forward to welcome you back to the Faircity Quatermain Hotel on your next visit.

Sincerely
Jaco S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

I have been happy with my stay at the hotel. Efficient staff and shuttle service. Close to all business districts. Restaurant menu was adventurous although under delivered, auper wine list albeit much was unavailable. Small gym and decent wifi.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your comments about our product and services.

We are delighted to hear that you found our hotel conveniently located and that you also found our staff, shuttle bus and WiFi efficient.

Thank you also for your feedback about the food, we have just in the last week changed to a brans new summer menu and wish to apologise if the execution is not quite there yet. We are ensuring all staff members are constantly trained on the service and delivery of the new menu.

We trust that when you return to our hotel, you will experience the new and exciting menu to its fullest.

Sincerely

Jaco S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
122 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

On the face of it, a delightful hotel. In reality I was disappointed. Here's why:
- The internet signal in my room (42*) was not good enough to make a connection (and so had to go to the lounge, where it was fine, although not convenient).
- With a stone floor outside the room, people leaving early with wheeled luggage made so much noise that I didn't have a good night's sleep.
- Breakfast service was slow - getting a simple cup of coffee took as long as it did to eat my meal.
- Checking out was a bit of a process
- The much publicised shuttle bus was not available for the entire afternoon on the day I was there as it had to do an airport run.

Room Tip: Don't choose the room I had 42* - the internet connection was too weak to make a connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grassy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Grassy W,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor. We know as business travellers, time is money and appreciate you giving us feedback on our product and services.

Firstly please accept our apologies about the WiFi connection as we unfortunately suffered quite a bit of damage on our WiFi system due to a huge thunder storm over that period, that is why only certain areas were affected. This has since been fixed.

Unfortunately, this is also an extremely busy time of the year for us and even though we have two shuttle busses, they are sometimes not available on short notice and we suggest guests book their transfer well in advance to avoid disappointment.

We do apologise that you found the other guests' luggage too noisy. Unfortunately, the unique country-style building of our hotel with its wide open passages does not easily allow for a work around for this situation.

We do whish to welcome you back to our hotel one day and we know that you will not experience these issues again.

Sincerely
Jaco S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

What a delightful place. This hotel is unique with a Europen flair in the construction and service. Prices were reasonable and the restaurant was EXCELLENT. Food was prepared expertly with a diverse menu of local dishes to creative combinations. Was there for one night but wished it could have been a couple more to sample the other menu items and relax a bit in the conservatory.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Welike2explore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Welie2explore,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our hotel as well as the excellent food we have on offer. We pride outselves on our high quality of food and accommodation that we have on offer.

We hope you will return one day to enjoy the peace and relaxation in our conservatory and lush gardens!

Sincerely
Jaco S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eemnes, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

The hotel is a definite 4 star hotel from the amenities and facilities. Unfortunately, in regards to service, it is a 2 star. There is no concept of service, shown daily by the lack of the staff seeing if their customers are in need. I stayed for 7 days and on each day when in the lounge, I was never approached by a waiter or staff to see if I required anything. I always had to go to reception or flag down a staff member to order something as simple as a Coca-Cola.

Although I like the hotel, I will not return as I do not see any impetus to increase the level of the service.

Room Tip: pick a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tedjjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear tedijk,

Thank you very much for taking the time to rate our hotel and its service on Tripadvisor.

Firstly, I really would like to apologise for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay at our hotel due to lack of service. We have addressed your issue with the proprietor of the Food and Beverage services in the hotel and put in place measures to ensure this does not happen again.

Second, although you may not choose to, we really do hope to welcome you back to our hotel one day and trust that we will be able to redeem ourselves then.

Your sincerely
Jaco S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

I recently spent 10 days at this hotel leading a workshop for my organization and 50 representatives from our Africa offices. The hotel is a wonderful oasis in the middle of the city; once you enter, the gardens and the architecture of the hotel make you feel like you are in the British countryside. The staff is amazing and incredibly nice, always willing to help us. The rooms are modern, spacious and incredibly comfortable and the bathrooms were clean, large and rather luxurious. In addition to all of this, the hotel restaurant had the best food I ate in Jo'burg. The chef was a finalist on S Africa Top Chef and the food is fantastic--and not any more expensive than what you would find in outside the hotel. Finally, this is a great hotel for women traveling alone on business. I felt very safe and the hotel provides shuttle services to area malls, businesses etc. Hope we hold another conference here!

Room Tip: only a 2 story hotel but no elevators. so if you don't want to lug your luggage, ask for a groun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travel-crab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear travel-crab,

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback on the Faircity Quatermain Hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your conference and our restaurant, Sel et Poivre, with our award-winning celebrity chef, Coco Reinarhz.
At Faircity Quatermain Hotel, we take great pride in our friendly and efficient staff members. Thank you also for your kind remarks on the cleanliness and quality of our rooms and overall experience. We have proudly shared your comments with all members of staff at the hotel.

We look forward to welcome you back to the Faircity Quatermain Hotel on your next visit.

Sincerely
Jaco S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.1 mi away
Faircity Falstaff Hotel
Faircity Falstaff Hotel
#22 of 49 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
1.5 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Park Inn Sandton
Park Inn Sandton
#27 of 49 in Sandton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.3 mi away
Garden Court Morningside Sandton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faircity Quatermain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faircity Quatermain Hotel

Property: Faircity Quatermain Hotel
Address: 60 West South Road, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sandton
#12 Business Hotel in Sandton
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Faircity Quatermain Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 2 km from Sandton City, this hotel features a courtyard with a swimming pool and an award-winning restaurant. All rooms and suites come with air conditioning and a satellite LCD TV. Including free Wi-Fi, all accommodations at Faircity Qautermain Hotel in Johannesburg come with extra long beds and an electronic laptop safe. Some of the rooms and suites have a private balcony. A breakfast buffet is served daily on the courtyard terrace with its green parasols. The Sel et Poivre restaurant serves gourmet cuisine in a classic setting with a fireplace and paintings. While visitors exercise in the gym, the 24-hour staff can arrange airport shuttles to O.R. Tambo Airport, 27 km away. Free parking is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Faircity Quatermain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Faircity Quatermain Hotel Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing