We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wished for a longer stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Faircity Quatermain Hotel
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wished for a longer stay”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

What a delightful place. This hotel is unique with a Europen flair in the construction and service. Prices were reasonable and the restaurant was EXCELLENT. Food was prepared expertly with a diverse menu of local dishes to creative combinations. Was there for one night but wished it could have been a couple more to sample the other menu items and relax a bit in the conservatory.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Welike2explore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Welie2explore,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our hotel as well as the excellent food we have on offer. We pride outselves on our high quality of food and accommodation that we have on offer.

We hope you will return one day to enjoy the peace and relaxation in our conservatory and lush gardens!

Sincerely
Jaco S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    105
    37
    8
    7
See reviews for
24
73
16
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eemnes, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The hotel is a definite 4 star hotel from the amenities and facilities. Unfortunately, in regards to service, it is a 2 star. There is no concept of service, shown daily by the lack of the staff seeing if their customers are in need. I stayed for 7 days and on each day when in the lounge, I was never approached by a waiter or staff to see if I required anything. I always had to go to reception or flag down a staff member to order something as simple as a Coca-Cola.

Although I like the hotel, I will not return as I do not see any impetus to increase the level of the service.

Room Tip: pick a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tedjjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear tedijk,

Thank you very much for taking the time to rate our hotel and its service on Tripadvisor.

Firstly, I really would like to apologise for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay at our hotel due to lack of service. We have addressed your issue with the proprietor of the Food and Beverage services in the hotel and put in place measures to ensure this does not happen again.

Second, although you may not choose to, we really do hope to welcome you back to our hotel one day and trust that we will be able to redeem ourselves then.

Your sincerely
Jaco S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I recently spent 10 days at this hotel leading a workshop for my organization and 50 representatives from our Africa offices. The hotel is a wonderful oasis in the middle of the city; once you enter, the gardens and the architecture of the hotel make you feel like you are in the British countryside. The staff is amazing and incredibly nice, always willing to help us. The rooms are modern, spacious and incredibly comfortable and the bathrooms were clean, large and rather luxurious. In addition to all of this, the hotel restaurant had the best food I ate in Jo'burg. The chef was a finalist on S Africa Top Chef and the food is fantastic--and not any more expensive than what you would find in outside the hotel. Finally, this is a great hotel for women traveling alone on business. I felt very safe and the hotel provides shuttle services to area malls, businesses etc. Hope we hold another conference here!

Room Tip: only a 2 story hotel but no elevators. so if you don't want to lug your luggage, ask for a groun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel-crab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear travel-crab,

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback on the Faircity Quatermain Hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your conference and our restaurant, Sel et Poivre, with our award-winning celebrity chef, Coco Reinarhz.
At Faircity Quatermain Hotel, we take great pride in our friendly and efficient staff members. Thank you also for your kind remarks on the cleanliness and quality of our rooms and overall experience. We have proudly shared your comments with all members of staff at the hotel.

We look forward to welcome you back to the Faircity Quatermain Hotel on your next visit.

Sincerely
Jaco S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here at the Hotel in Sandton where I was presenting for a Business Conference .From start to finish it was excellent..really refreshing to have staff who genuinely are happy and eager to assist.As my flight was delayed it was touch and go as to whether I could make the Safari ...but this was perfectly sorted by Ntokozo ! This trend of excellence continued with Grace Barbara and other reception and conference staff ensuring everything went to plan with the minimum of fuss!

The food and catering was excellent run by a well known chef from Burundi...quality and price was excellent!! The bar and restaurant staff were all attentive and very polite exhibiting high standards of South African humour!!
The room was a perfect size comfy bed Sat TV ..important for those live premiership matches! Very clean and comfortable
I have stayed in many so called 5 star hotels whose quality would make this 7 or 8 stars...cannot recommend it enough whether in Joburg on business or for pleasure.Also very safe and secure as are the trips that are organised by the Hotel

Well done guys!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank VinnyHar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear VinnyHar,

Thank you so much for taking the time to rate Faircity Quatermain Hotel on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
At Faircity Quatermain Hotel, we take great pride in our friendly and efficient staff members. Thank you also for your kind remarks on the cleanliness and quality of our rooms, the high quality of our food and beverage department and overall experience. We have proudly shared your comments with all staff at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon in the not too distant future.

Yours in hospitality
Jaco S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Great hotel, friendly service, clean spaceous rooms, great breakfast and if you want lunch and dinner available. Reasonable rates. Stayed on business for 4 nights and worked out great. Only issue I had was with internet but I think it was something in US about my computer as the IPAD worked fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Pekoehouston,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to rate our hotel on Tripadvisor. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Faircity Quatermain Hotel.

We take great pride in our friendly service, great food and quiet, cosy atmosphere. Also worth noting is that we are in the process of introducing a new summer menu in our restaurant and should you return to our hotel, you will be able to sample some of the wonderful new dishes on this menu.

Yours in hospitality
Jaco S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights the beginning of Sept. 2013. It is such a cute hotel and the staff are very friendly. The restaurant is beyond superb. I would suggest to just eat there and do not venture out for dining. We made the mistake of eating at The Butcher Shop in The Mandela Square and wished we had stayed at the hotel for dinner. Great, quiet and cozy hotel. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: There is a swimming pool and small gym. No spa. They have free shuttle service to the mall and train...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pekoehouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Pekoehouston,

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback on the Faircity Quatermain Hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our restaurant, Sel et Poivre, with our award-winning celebrity chef, Coco Reinarhz. Be on the lookout for his exciting new spring menu to be rolled out soon.

We look forward to welcome you back to the Faircity Quatermain Hotel on your next visit.

Sincerely
Jaco S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

What a beautiful little gem situated in the heart of Sandton. A stone's throw away from Sandton City and Morningside, the Quartermain is convenient. It is amenable with the courtyard being a pleasant feature. There is WiFi available which in today's world of connectivity is a must. If you are interested in meeting at your hotel this would be an ideal place as a get-away from the hustle and bustle without leaving the city. It is always the details that distinguish the average from that 'special' place. It was so tempting to test the beautiful orchids in the reception areas I must admit I broke a petal. It's an old world charm that pervades in atmosphere as well as service.The added service of a shuttle is a bonus if you are ever without transport in the city of Johannesburg.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear GABCDFreeman,

Firstly, thank you so much for taking the time to review our beautiful hotel on Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our unique setting and environment at the Faircity Quatermain.

We pride ourselves on offering a secluded bespoke environment with all the extras you will expect from a hotel like ours; free WiFi, good service, complimentary shuttles, the list goes on.

We also take special care of gardens and all orchid plants in our hotels as they are our pride and joy, adding to the homely atmosphere and charm.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Sincerely
Jaco S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.1 mi away
Faircity Falstaff Hotel
Faircity Falstaff Hotel
#22 of 48 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
1.5 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Garden Court Morningside Sandton
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
1.6 mi away
Park Inn Sandton
Park Inn Sandton
#27 of 48 in Sandton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faircity Quatermain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faircity Quatermain Hotel

Property: Faircity Quatermain Hotel
Address: 60 West South Road, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Sandton
#12 Business Hotel in Sandton
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Faircity Quatermain Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 2 km from Sandton City, this hotel features a courtyard with a swimming pool and an award-winning restaurant. All rooms and suites come with air conditioning and a satellite LCD TV. Including free Wi-Fi, all accommodations at Faircity Qautermain Hotel in Johannesburg come with extra long beds and an electronic laptop safe. Some of the rooms and suites have a private balcony. A breakfast buffet is served daily on the courtyard terrace with its green parasols. The Sel et Poivre restaurant serves gourmet cuisine in a classic setting with a fireplace and paintings. While visitors exercise in the gym, the 24-hour staff can arrange airport shuttles to O.R. Tambo Airport, 27 km away. Free parking is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Faircity Quatermain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Faircity Quatermain Hotel Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing