We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pathetic service and incompetant staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Faircity Quatermain Hotel
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Sandton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pathetic service and incompetant staff”
Reviewed January 13, 2012

After booking the hotel via an online website and paying via CC for a superior double room, my booking was not recorded by the hotel.
Upon arriving at the hotel, and after sending them my confirmation email 4 times, the staff appeared not to know their email address and the email address on teh hotel card was not working, with all my emails bouncing back.
The lady on duty then took a full hour (1hr) to check us in (rather frustrating to say the least).

The following day, upon arriving back at the hotel at 9:30, we were locked out of our room. We then went back to the reception, and was told that we need to downgrade to an inferior room (for no apparent reason, and despite the fact that the hotel was empty and that we had paid in full in advance).
We stress that the hotel did not contact us once, to inform us that there was an issue, despite the hotel having our mobile and email addresses - this in isolation is poor form, as we were taken by surprise by the move.

The receptionists were not obliging, and did not move our luggage or use their discretion, but were instead rather unfriendly and refused to call the duty manager.
Furthermore, the move took over an hour to sort out.

The following day, upon speaking to the duty manager, he promised a solution and communication back to us - I am still awaiting this.

In addition, we are now in a tiny room, despite paying for an upgraded room, and no solution is in sight.

The hotels staff need major training, with respect to customer service, IT systems and general PR skills.

Furthermore, general service in the hotel is pathetic, with no butter being on the tables etc.
We will be hesitant to recommend this hotel to anyone.
The staff need to seriously pull up their socks.
This has been the most embarrassing and frustrating hotel stay ever.

Room Tip: Wait for staff to get training, before visiting this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane P, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
On Behalf of Jaco Steyn, The General Manager of the Faircity Quatermain:

Dear Mr Dean G,

Please allow me to offer my sincerest apologies for how your parents' whole reservation and consequent room move turned out. As explained to you before, the booking you made was through a 3rd party website that only sends on the reservations to our reservations department, these mails never reached us due to technical difficulties. This resulted in us not having their reservation or room type by time of check in, but I do also apologise that your parents were expected to move rooms. I assure you that we take this matter very seriously and have dealt with all the parties involved. We have done a full refund to your credit card as a token of goodwill, thanks also for your mail reply to us as follows:

“Hi Jaco,
Thanks very much for dealing with the matter at hand.
I appreciate the apology and my folks appreciated the gesture of the gift basket.

Kind regards

Dean G”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    104
    37
    8
    7
See reviews for
24
73
16
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

My wife and I stayed in a suite for 2 nights at a great price (2nd-4th December 2011). The suite is what you would expect from a classy hotel very comfortable and huge in size. Off from the sitting room is a private patio which was great to sit in while you read and just chill. The breakfast was good and served in pleasant surroundings.When it was time to go home and after a 5 hour trip I realised I had left my watch in the room.I phoned the hotel and they found it in the safe I thought I had lost it but was glad to hear that it was found. Because of my experience with this hotel I would go back gladly.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhysQTM, Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Good Day Richard.

Thank you for the wonderful reply. We feel we have a fantastic team of staff and I am glad that this has shone through for you. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future and hope your next stay will be as enjoyable.

Kind regards and Warm wishes.

Faircity Quatermain Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

I've visited the hotel on 5 occasions this year, staying for a week at a time, and I have absolutely no complaints. The service has been exceptional at all times, and the staff are friendly and always willing to go the extra mile.

In addition to staying at the hotel, we made use of the conference facilities for the week, as well as buffet lunches and dinners. Conference facilities is what is expected of a conference facility, and the lunch & dinner menus were varied daily, and got you going up for seconds.

All in all, possibly the best hotel I've been too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrkleinsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhysQTM, Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
Good day.

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you are a return visitor. We hope to see you again in the future and that we will continue to provide excellent service to you. Wishing you the very best for the holidays and 2012

Warm regards and best wishes
Faircity Quatermain Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

I think this hotel can't be beaten in Sandton for it's price and level of service. The location is great, being not too far from anything in Sandton. The rooms are clean, service is great and friendly and the food is good. The provision of free wi-fi was greatly appreciated. The general amenities such as the gym and pool were also very adequate. I would definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends staying in Johannesburg.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aar0n76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhysQTM, Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Good day.

I would like to thank you for your kind review. We appreciate feedback from our guests. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future. Wishing you all the best from the Quatermain Team

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

I've been staying here on business for 5 years (not continuously, obviously). I stay for a week or so, about 3 times a year. For a city hotel in this price bracket, this is my favourite hotel anywhere.

Located close enough to Sandton to be close to the action and yet remarkably tranquil. My work takes me out and about all across Jo'burg and returning here at the end of the day is like coming home. Also good food, friendly service, spotlessly clean, free Wi-Fi, spacious rooms, plenty of "public" areas to sit and work/read etc. and a decent gym.

One word of caution though; this hotel polarises people. One or two of my colleagues who've stayed here have found it too quiet and quite claustrophobic. I suppose it's a matter of personal taste. If you're a Marriot type of person and want nothing but a typical business hotel experience, then it's probably not for you. If you like stepping out of your room, breathing fresh air and seeing grass and trees, then it probably is. Personally, I find it a refreshing change to cookie-cutter corporate hotels.

I've not reviewed the Quatermain before because I'm selfish and didn't want to spread the word. However my conscience has got the better of me after 5 years!

Room Tip: Sorry, keeping this to myself!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oolon_Colluphid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhysQTM, Guest Relations Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Good day.

I would like to thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. I am very glad to hear that you are one of our regulars.

We appreciate all our regulars and when you are with us next please feel free to ask for me at reception as I like to meet our regulars and introduce myself and the Management of the hotel.

Again thank you kindly

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

I stay at this hotel on bussiness every month and find the quality of the rooms outstanding and the service from the staff is excellent

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Capetownjulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhysQTM, Guest Relations Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Good day.

Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate all feed back we receive from our guests. It is very nice to know that you are a return guest and we hope to see you again soon.

Warmest regards

Rhys Downard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

I only stayed for one night on business but after getting in late and tired from the flight, this hotel was a pleasant suprise. Not too expensive, nice room, good service with fine food. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hungry_TravelerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhysQTM, Guest Relations Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Good Day.

Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate your support and hope to see you again in the future.

Wishing you all the best

Kind regards

Rhys Downard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.1 mi away
Faircity Falstaff Hotel
Faircity Falstaff Hotel
#22 of 48 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
1.5 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Garden Court Morningside Sandton
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
1.6 mi away
Park Inn Sandton
Park Inn Sandton
#27 of 48 in Sandton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faircity Quatermain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faircity Quatermain Hotel

Property: Faircity Quatermain Hotel
Address: 60 West South Road, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sandton
#12 Business Hotel in Sandton
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Faircity Quatermain Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 2 km from Sandton City, this hotel features a courtyard with a swimming pool and an award-winning restaurant. All rooms and suites come with air conditioning and a satellite LCD TV. Including free Wi-Fi, all accommodations at Faircity Qautermain Hotel in Johannesburg come with extra long beds and an electronic laptop safe. Some of the rooms and suites have a private balcony. A breakfast buffet is served daily on the courtyard terrace with its green parasols. The Sel et Poivre restaurant serves gourmet cuisine in a classic setting with a fireplace and paintings. While visitors exercise in the gym, the 24-hour staff can arrange airport shuttles to O.R. Tambo Airport, 27 km away. Free parking is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Faircity Quatermain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Faircity Quatermain Hotel Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing