We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Faircity Falstaff Hotel
Ranked #22 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“good value for money”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

situation in a posh area in sandton, the hotel is quiet and provides good rest. the room was comfortable, although the bathroom got wet as the screen meant to block water was not sufficient. wifi works in certain areas but was not strong in the room. toiletries provided were decent for use but certainly not luxurious. breakfast was fantastic, despite the spread not being too wide, whatever was available was amazing, especially the eggs. the best part of the hotel was the free shuttle service within a 5km radius, gets you to sandton city and back. super thoughtful and convenient. overall, for the price i paid, i thought it was excellent value for money. would recommend it if you're looking for a good deal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aaron0421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Falstaff Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear aaron0421,

We at Faircity Falstaff would like to thank you very much for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We appreciate the effort that goes into a review like this and use all feedback, good or bad, to continuously improve our product and services to our valued guests.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Yours in hospitality
Jaco Steyn-Venter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    71
    20
    4
    8
See reviews for
7
41
14
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I am a very loyal Quartermain guest. I travelled with a colleague who prefers the Falstaff. It's very similar to the Quartermain just smaller. Brilliant service. Scrumptious breakfast.

My only gripes were the shower is over the bath which meant it poured water all over the floor. I also called a day before to arrange for my courier to deliver a box for me to use when UTI arrived the staff at Flastaff wouldn't sign for the box, despite being marked clearly "guest". This was highly inconvenient and frustrating. Also the WiFi didn't work in my room. I had to go to the restaurant/ lounge. This also wasn't ideal.

This being said. I would stay again if the Quartermain couldn't have me!!

Room Tip: As far as possible from the restaurant. It was very noisy. I was in 101.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Princessetami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Falstaff Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Princessetami,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. Thank you also for your constructive feedback on our hotel and its services and apologies for the challenges you experienced during your stay.

We also appreciate the comments about our sister hotel, the Faircity Quatermain.

We are all looking forward to welcome you back at either of our hotels during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Great surroundings, beautiful gardens, safe and secure. Great breakfasts. Large bedroom, fantastic bathroom. Attentive service while not too stuffy or formal. I'd actually stay here if visiting friends in the area and not on business.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeeVee007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Falstaff Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear VeeVee07,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our beautiful hotel. We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also delighted to hear that this is your favourite business hotel.

We are all looking forward to welcome you back at the Faircity Falstaff Hotel during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The hotel is located in the safest and richest area probably of the whole continent.
There are no nearby attractions, however consider you're in Johannesburg so, overall, there's not many attractions anyway.
The hotel itself is very pleasant. Unlike other big business hotels no long corridors with endless rooms but a dislocation throughout the area, around a lovely swimming pool area.
Rooms are clean, fairly big and classically decorated.
Gym is small (2 tapis, 1 cyclett, 1 rowing machine, 1 eliptic, and weights until 10kg). Could be improved, but good enough for everyday workouts. Unfortunately outdoors activities are not especially recommended so you need to cope with what you have in the gym to workout.
Restaurant is great. Fair prices, very high quality, makes in room dining a pleasure. Could be improved the light meals selection as they're not that light :) Breakfast is very good, with a good selection of pastries, cereals, and salted food.
The bar area is fantastic, with a fire place for the winter, TV to watch sports, couches to relax.
Staff is extremely friendly and serviable.
The whole for a fair 90€ a night!

Room Tip: Avoid room close to the road, given the traffic of Sandton in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreCdC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Falstaff Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear AndreCdC,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our beautiful hotel. We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your positive feedback on our services and facilities is highly appreciated.

We are all looking forward to welcome you back at the Faircity Falstaff Hotel during your next visit.

Kindest regards
J Steyn-Venter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The Faircity Falstaff turned out to be a little gem. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The bar is quite fun and the accommodations were certainly adequate. Loved the breakfast buffet and enjoyed one dinner there at the restaurant. They really cared about us and meeting our needs! Wi-fi while free was a little inconsistent at times.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaddyx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Falstaff Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Gaddyx2,

Thanks you for your kind and positive review of out beautiful intimate hotel. We really do pride ourselves on our friendly, caring and helpful staff and thank you also for acknowledging this fact.

We are delighted to hear that you also enjoyed our Food and Beverage facilities and services.

We hope to see you back at the Faircity Falstaff Hotel soon.

Sincerely

Faircity Falstaff Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed here two nights ago....reception, bar and restaurant staff very friendly and helpful. Room was lovely.Great value for money compared to Australia. Cannot comment on location as we don't know the J'burg area well and were only staying one night

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco S, Manager at Faircity Falstaff Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Andrea B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to rate our lovely hotel. We appreciate your comments about our hotel, its facilities and value for money.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel should you return to Johannesburg again.

Yours in hospitality,

Faircity Falstaff Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Good place. Nice rooms, good food and easy to access wi-fi. Centrally located. Need more iron for business guests. Friendly staff and pleasant outside pool deck. Safe and secure parking. Not for families with kids.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yusuf K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco S, Manager at Faircity Falstaff Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Ysuf K,

Thank you very much for taking the time to rate our hotel on Tripadvisor. We appreciate feedback from our valued guests at all times.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful hotel and its facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Faircity Falstaff Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.1 mi away
Faircity Quatermain Hotel
Faircity Quatermain Hotel
#17 of 48 in Sandton
271 reviews
1.5 mi away
Park Inn Sandton
Park Inn Sandton
#27 of 48 in Sandton
749 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
#23 of 48 in Sandton
99 reviews
0.3 mi away
Garden Court Morningside Sandton
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Sandton
Courtyard Hotel Sandton
#21 of 48 in Sandton
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faircity Falstaff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faircity Falstaff Hotel

Property: Faircity Falstaff Hotel
Address: 223 Rivonia Road | Morningside, Sandton, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Sandton
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Faircity Falstaff Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lush gardens, this hotel offers air-conditioned rooms with a flat-screen satellite TV. It features an outdoor pool and a restaurant with a terrace. Free Wi-Fi is available on site. A minibar and an iron are in Faircity’s spacious rooms. Each comes with a private bathroom with a hairdryer. Wooden furniture and white linens are part of the modern classic décor. Breakfast is served daily in the restaurant. Room service, including breakfast, is also available. Guests can relax with a drink by the fireplace in the lounge or on the terrace. Sandton City is just 2 km from Faircity Falstaff Hotel. The O.R. Tambo International Airport is 27 km away, and a shuttle can be arranged on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Faircity Falstaff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falstaff Hotel Johannesburg
Faircity Falstaff Hotel Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing