We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quietly convenient” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Faircity Falstaff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Faircity Falstaff Hotel
Ranked #22 of 49 Hotels in Sandton
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Quietly convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Often stay here for a night per week and far prefer to its sister hotel the quatermain. Yes people are not mad about the hill to the parking but I find this hotel has rooms exactly the same as the quatermain, they are not so spread out and the food is just as good. Try the beef prime rib. Less expensive than most hotels and whilst adjoining Rivonia road it is hardly heard. Would recommend anytime

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank tnick48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane P, Front Office Manager at Faircity Falstaff Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear tnick48,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Falstaff on Trip Advisor!
We greatly appreciate all feedback we receive and are thrilled to hear that you are one of our regular guests! The menu at Le Petit Sel is great value for money and I am pleased that you enjoy it.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards
Jane Patterson on behalf of Faircity Falstaff Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    70
    18
    3
    8
See reviews for
7
38
13
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
185 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Affordable hotel, great breakfast, newspaper free! Very central, you quick anywhere , Morningside Shopping Centre around the corner, with all restaurants!
The "in house" Resturant is also very good! For the lazy evenings very convenient ....
Free WiFi, super friendly staff!!
Shuttle to Sandton and Gautrain!

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane P, Front Office Manager at Faircity Falstaff Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Thomas S,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review both of our properties on Trip Advisor!
We greatly appreciate all feedback we receive. I am very pleased that you enjoyed the Falstaff and am especially glad to hear that you found our staff to be friendly!
We look forward to welcoming you back again!

Kind regards
Jane Patterson on behalf of Faircity Falstaff Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Unfortunately i stayed only one night but it was enough to convince me that if I return to Johannesburg, I would definitely stay again. Room was spacious, spotlessly clean with very comfortable beds and a well appointed bathroom. Staff were professional and friendly. I loved the bar with its very 'English' feel with comfy armchairs and sofas and lovely dark wood bookcases. The shuttle bus to nearby shopping areas including Mandela Square was greatly appreciated. The restaurant served a yummy breakfast and the dinner menu was comprehensive. The grounds were immaculate and the pool looked inviting. Well done

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneM44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FaircityQuatermain, Front Office Manager at Faircity Falstaff Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear AnneM44,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We truly appreciate your feedback regarding your stay with us at Faircity Falstaff.
Thank you for your kind words regarding the hotel & restaurant, we love to get comments of this nature and I will be certain to forward your compliments on to the whole team.
We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Jane Patterson on behalf of Faircity Falstaff Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
245 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights in the hotel. The staff are very friendly and the inclusive breakfast was lovely with lots of choice. The rooms are of average size and we had free Wi-Fi which was a positive. There is a gym and a great pool area where you can also get a drink. The hotel has excellent security. The rooms are dark especially if you are on the ground floor.

The bathrooms are proficient. It is strange having a liquid soap dispenser in a 5 star boutique hotel. The bathroom is also small. The rooms have a deodoriser smell which is not nice - could be that they need to do this as the windows seem always to be closed. The hotel is more of a business hotel and is not near the shopping area (Sandton or Rosebank). If you stay here you will need a car.
The accommodation is good value - but not luxurious.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FaircityQuatermain, Front Office Manager at Faircity Falstaff Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear Eric,

Thank you for your review and your positive comments on the hotel, we are very pleased that you enjoyed our facilities.

We are actually a Four Star Hotel and we use the liquid soap as many of our guests enjoy it. Should you prefer bar soap we do have it availabale at reception. When a room is not occupied we keep the windows closed as a security measure. We have a complimentary shuttle to transfer guests within a 5km radius and we also have the Morningside shopping centre down the road, it is about a 2 minute walk.

You are corrected in saying that we are positioned in the market as a business hotel. The Faircity group has many properties to suit different needs. All you need do is contact us and tell us what you want and we can make a recommendation.


Kind regards,
Jane Patterson on behalf of Faircity Falstaff Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

I have stayed at the falstaff many times And every time it was excellent.
I stayed once again in feb 2012 and from the time I arrived at the reception, the quality of the service was excellent. I was early however I was able to move into my room within 20 minutes.
Whilst I am there, I have meetings in the lounge area and this works very well as the staff are always on hand to arrange refreshments. The bar is ably managed and well stocked.
The breakfast range is very good and as always, one is able to request any type of egg from the friendly staff.
In my visits over the past 17 years to sandton (Johannesburg) I stayed at a well known chain hotel, however two years ago the falstaff was recommended and I have now stayed there on five different occasions.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frankhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FaircityQuatermain, Front Office Manager at Faircity Falstaff Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear frankhawk,

Thank you so much for your kind review of our property, we are thrilled to hear that you are one of our regular guests and that you enjoy staying with us! We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Jane Patterson on behalf of Faircity Falstaff Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeerust
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

We stayed over one night before we took our flight out to the Seychelles. The Staff was great, friendly and helpfull. Before hand I organised roses and bubbly for the room. This was all done by the Falstaff without question. Room service was helpfull and very punctual. Free WI-Fi in the room was also a bonus.
awesome way to start the honeymoon or just to stay over!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane P, Front Office Manager at Faircity Falstaff Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear AndreM,

Thank you so much for your kind review. I trust that you had a wonderful Honeymoon!
I am very pleased that we helped you get your married life off to a good start and I hope that
for your anniversary one year you will come and stay with us again!

Kindest regards
Jane Patterson On behalf of Faircity Falstaff Management!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

my sister and i stayed here after traveling on the Shongololo Express. our room was very comfortable, and the food and staff were wonderful. the location was very convenient, and we evjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanadaFlashpackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane P, Front Office Manager at Faircity Falstaff Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear CanadaFlashpackers,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Faircity Falstaff on Tripadvisor! I am very pleased that your room and food were to your liking, should you ever be "flashpacking"in Johannesburg again I hope you will come and visit us!

Warm regards
Jane Patterson on behalf of Faircity Falstaff Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.1 mi away
Faircity Quatermain Hotel
Faircity Quatermain Hotel
#17 of 49 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
1.5 mi away
Park Inn Sandton
Park Inn Sandton
#27 of 49 in Sandton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
2.3 mi away
CedarWoods of Sandton
CedarWoods of Sandton
#18 of 49 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Garden Court Morningside Sandton
0.9 mi away
Town Lodge Sandton-Grayston Drive
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Sandton
Courtyard Hotel Sandton
#21 of 49 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faircity Falstaff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faircity Falstaff Hotel

Property: Faircity Falstaff Hotel
Address: 223 Rivonia Road | Morningside, Sandton, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sandton
#5 Business Hotel in Sandton
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Faircity Falstaff Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lush gardens, this hotel offers air-conditioned rooms with a flat-screen satellite TV. It features an outdoor pool and a restaurant with a terrace. Free Wi-Fi is available on site. A minibar and an iron are in Faircity’s spacious rooms. Each comes with a private bathroom with a hairdryer. Wooden furniture and white linens are part of the modern classic décor. Breakfast is served daily in the restaurant. Room service, including breakfast, is also available. Guests can relax with a drink by the fireplace in the lounge or on the terrace. Sandton City is just 2 km from Faircity Falstaff Hotel. The O.R. Tambo International Airport is 27 km away, and a shuttle can be arranged on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Faircity Falstaff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falstaff Hotel Johannesburg
Faircity Falstaff Hotel Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing