We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great experience... every time”

Remo's Maximilliano
Ranked #62 of 210 Restaurants in Sandton
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A great experience... every time”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Attentive staff, great food, amazingly different ambiance and puddings to die for, make this a good choice for an evening out. With friends, family, or just for coffee, it's been a great experience on -very occasion. I can even recommend the bakery. Well baked with stone ground flour, each type of bread I've tried has been good, if a little doughy.

Only downside? It's a little pricey, but worth it for guaranteed, good food.

Helpful?
Thank LindaJoburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    37
    15
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
146 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Very new, trendy and noisey”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We had a table for ten for Sunday lunch - you had to literally scream to be heard and the waiters were rushed off their feet. That said, decor different, airy, light interesting - Menu usual Italian fare - food, OK, although presentation rustic to say the least - service under the circumstances, being the new kid on the block, they are coping well.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hirene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fresh approach and quite special”
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

In my ultimate quest to find a new, reasonable restaurant on my side of town, (within crawling distance from Kyalami), I decided to give Remo's in the new Waterfall Corner Center. WOW. What an experience. Ecclectic and chic. While I couldn't quite put my finger on the decor theme (somewhere between a man cave and parisian restaurant in the Italian side of New York), it was fantastic. Interesting artefacts and memorabilia deck the walls. I can only describe it as an Imaginarium.
The restaurant, if the get the lighting right is perfect sized. Not soo big or small. The long bar is hooded by clear windows above where the operational bakery is in full mix.
The young chefs move around the floor, talking to clients and showing their quirky enthusiasm for the offering. It's a fresh take on other establishments where the head chef is kept in the back somewhere, away from the clients.. which often is a good thing.. I've met some chefs..
The menu is original. The food is surprising and we'll prepared with fine selects of streak and meat.
I ordered the "Mamba fillet" which was a triumph in itself.
The offering of microbrew and imported beers is nothing to be sneezed at. But keep an eye on the pricing.
Remo's is a gem and I look forward to making it my local..

Helpful?
2 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Simply Stunning”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is a new Restaurant in the recently completed Shopping Centre in Waterfall Estate. The Décor is 50's Classic, comfortable ambience and the courteous Service great! The Food was absolutely delicious and we can highly recommend this. We shall be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Devker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midrand, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“little Italy”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

The decor makes you feel like you are in a small town in Italy.
The food, albeit a bit pricey is absolutely fantastic, their pizza is out of this world!
The staff are very friendly and the service is excellent.
I highly recommend this place, especially if you want something different from all the other restaurants in Midrand.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Tranter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Remo's Maximilliano also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Midrand, Greater Johannesburg
 
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Midrand, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Remo's Maximilliano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing