We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Velentines Nightmare Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Michelangelo Towers
Ranked #24 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Velentines Nightmare Hotel!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2011

What a horrible, terrible, dirty, ugly, old, greedy hotel! And if you think that is bad - their service is worse!

*Uninformed reception - prepaid and then she wanted to charge me, I had to tell her how their system works and that they have online capability to take pre-payment
*Pre-requested Champagne in room, asked receptionist whether all was set when we checked in... she said "it should be" - needless to say it wasn't! I had to ask them to please bring it up... so much for the Valentines surprize element.
*I travel 69 nights away per annum and have yet to pay so much for so little, over R3,000 per night for a small, old, stinky hotel room - fit for anyone who simply doesn't know any better
* You also have to pay for Parking at Sandton city - you need change for it. I receive validated parking tickets where I shop, but not where I stay - crazy actually... then get told by another reception person upon checking out that they as staff has to pay as well - like that makes any difference to the situation.
* Be prepared to pay over R100 for a 1.5l of water
* I had to phone them again the day of check-out as they ended up charging me twice for accommodation, although this was discussed upon check-in

Get this, I received an automated survey via email 1 week later - I completed a feedback form by hand at the hotel!!!!! Not that I received any feedback from their useless staff and General manager, they ruined my Valentines & it cost me an arm and a leg for them to do so… I tried to leave a guestbook comment for them on their direct site, but I understand completely why they would deactivate the hyperlink to result in an error… all their guests would leave horrible messages for them – clever to leave only 2 comments from “happy” guests!

This hotel is a disgrace to their industry and a disgrace to South Africa!

I will continue to stay at the Radisson from now on when residing in a hotel group in SA - Legacy sucks on so many levels!

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MelissaStorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrien, Guest Relations Manager at Michelangelo Towers, responded to this review, February 25, 2011
Dear Ms. Melissa Storey,

It is with regret that we received your review on tripadvisor after you experience at one of our Legacy Properties. We have notified the General Manager at the Michelangelo Hotel.

Please note that your review was posted on the Michelangelo Towers which is a different property from where you stayed on the 13th of February 2011.

We appreciate your feedback and I can assure you that the issues will be dealt with.

Yours sincerely,

Andrien Boshard
Guest Relations Manager
Michelangelo Towers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    18
    9
    7
    6
See reviews for
15
14
11
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
zurich
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2011

I stayed there for almost a week. The concierge staff are very friendly and helpful. The suite was excellent and spacious. Breakfast was good but buffet often lack items such as milk and bread. The outdoor swimming pool could be very nice, if cleaned and with appropriate towels; the ones i got after signing were very small and old. Swimming pool needs improvement as looked like nobody was taking care!
I would recommend this hotel, particularly if you are in Jbg for a weekend, you are in a nice shopping center with a great Indian restaurant.

Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank samluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrien, Guest Relations Manager at Michelangelo Towers, responded to this review, February 18, 2011
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to rate us on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at the Michelangelo Towers.

We appreciate your feedback as it assists us with understanding our guest’s needs and thus allowing us to improve and maintain our service offerings and standards.

We trust your stay with us was memorable and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Michelangelo Towers in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Andrien Boshard
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2010

Hotel provided peace, tranquility and comfort after hectic few days on Safari. Grand modern design. I had good responses from reception, baggage handling and concierge. Only used hotel restaurant for very good breakfasts as there was good choice of restaurants in adjacent Sandton Mall. Suite room was great and had everything you need.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoleLamiere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrien, Guest Relations Manager at Michelangelo Towers, responded to this review, February 18, 2011
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to rate us on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at the Michelangelo Towers.

We appreciate your feedback as it assists us with understanding our guest’s needs and thus allowing us to improve and maintain our service offerings and standards.

We trust your stay with us was memorable and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Michelangelo Towers in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Andrien Boshard
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

The best everrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr i can go over and over and over again
out oof shain

Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank LizbethN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrien, Guest Relations Manager at Michelangelo Towers, responded to this review, February 18, 2011
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to rate us on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at the Michelangelo Towers.

We appreciate your feedback as it assists us with understanding our guest’s needs and thus allowing us to improve and maintain our service offerings and standards.

We trust your stay with us was memorable and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Michelangelo Towers in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Andrien Boshard
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thuwal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2010

A wonderful hotel, in a great location. concierge was a most helpful and gracious gentleman with lots of good recommendations. Lovely ambience.
A bit pricy - esp since breakfast was not included in the $600+ per night.
The bed sheets could be upgraded

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginapia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrien, Guest Relations Manager at Michelangelo Towers, responded to this review, February 18, 2011
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to rate us on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at the Michelangelo Towers.

We appreciate your feedback as it assists us with understanding our guest’s needs and thus allowing us to improve and maintain our service offerings and standards.

We trust your stay with us was memorable and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Michelangelo Towers in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Andrien Boshard
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2009

Quite an expensive Hotel. Paid 366 USD (Corporate rate for my company). The hotel is nice. The room was quite large and the bathroom was fantastic. The breakfast was included in the rate. The breakfast is quite sparse though.

The hotel is situated in Nelson Mandela Square which has the greatest steak restaurant in Jo Burg (and the steaks in South Africa are really good). There is a fair amount of shopping available in Mandela square (and other restaurants too). This is a good thing esp if you dont have access to your own transport. The security risks in Joburg are no laughing matter, so you can keep yourself busy without putting yourself at serious risk by stepping out of the compound.

Reception was quite slow at check in but fast at check out. Small fitness centre (actually a bot crappy)

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SidSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2008

The Michelangelo is, to say the least, over-rated and over-hyped. The rooms are basic, the service below par for the class and definitely does not represent value for money.

One day the hot water ran out in many rooms (I was staying there with my colleagues and we all had a nasty experience taking cold showers during the winter)

There is also non-uniform enforcement of dining attire in the formal dining restaurant. We raised this issue with the management and they seemed incapable of resolving it.

The package we booked contained free 1hr internet per day but the receptionists were cheeky and did not alert us of this - we ended up finding out by coincidence, after having paid for the connection.

However, on the brighter side, the minibar is well stocked :-)

  • Liked — Nothing much
  • Disliked — Dated furniture, small twin-beds instead of a King-Size bed, Old dome TV with a cabinet (how archaic), irregular supply of daily newspapers, etc
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NairobiKeTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.1 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#4 of 47 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
0.1 mi away
Raphael Penthouse Suites
Raphael Penthouse Suites
#33 of 47 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.1 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
0.1 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#3 of 47 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michelangelo Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michelangelo Towers

Property: Michelangelo Towers
Address: 8 Maude Street | Sandton Central, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#20 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Michelangelo Towers 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Michelangelo Towers rises a majestic 146 meters above the Sandton skyline and is the tallest building in Sandton, third tallest building in Johannesburg and fifth tallest commercial structure in South Africa.This luxurious and spacious accommodation in Sandton is ideal for both the corporate traveler and leisure seeker. Classically inspired through the use of conventional arches, sandstone finishes and mouldings. Contemporary modern details including stainless steel and glass balustrades and aluminum framed sliding, folding and stacking doors and windows.The elegant rooms boast panoramic views over the Magaliesburg and Gauteng skyline.The Michelangelo Towers is ideally situated within easy reach of the Sandton Convention Centre and the Johannesburg Stock Exchange, making it the ideal venue for high powered business executives.The Michelangelo Towers comprises of 194 luxury apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Michelangelo Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michelangelo Towers Hotel Sandton
Michelangelo Hotel Johannesburg
Michelangelo Towers Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing