We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some issues”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sandton Sun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandton Sun
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
295 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Some issues”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as my employer chooses this hotel. Was allocated room 2007. This side if the hotel suffers with noise from an adjacent building project. Whilst this would affect some one sleeping 10pm til 8am , I had just had a long night shift and needed to sleep during the day. This noise can also be heard at the pool area as previous poster states.
We ate in the hotel both nights with mixed results. First night was great. Sexing night , there was a function going on in the hotel. The outside pool area and dining area were closed off to hotel guests. We were offered a view of the outside instead. Hardly a compromise. Half of the outside area could have been released to hotel guests, but the hotel chose not to do this. Poor effort. A lot of staff buzzing about , but getting any real service was a struggle. My partner asked for the roasted tart appetizer and the turkey main course. Both were unavailable. Again disappointing. This hotel is in a great place , adjacent to a mall and has functional rooms. I wouldn't rush back if I was paying for the room myself. This hotel needs to raise its game

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ianbeale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun and for sharing your feedback with us. We truly value all comments and utilise them in the ongoing improvement of the product and services we offer.

I was disappointed that you were disturbed by noise from a nearby construction site during your visit. Whilst we have little control over this we are in constant communication with the construction company to minimise any affect this would have on our guests. Please accept my sincere apologies for this none the less and I hope you will afford us the opportunity to rectify your impressions of the hotel and our facilities in the future.

We are constantly looking for ways in which we can improve so if there is anything further, however small which you feel could have improved on your time here or would perhaps enhance a future visit, please feel free to let me know.

Thank you again for staying with us and please feel free to contact me directly on your next visit so I can personally oversee any future visits to Sandton Sun.

Warmest regards

Brett Davidge
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    250
    86
    21
    20
See reviews for
133
142
47
405
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
White River, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

My wife and I spent two nights in this hotel in an executive room on the 20 th floor. Ok, the view was not that great, but that is no fault of the hotel. The valet parking was wonderful. The park your car and fetch it when you require it. Reception, on checking in and out, was friendly and efficient. The room is large and comfortable. The only thing that I would fault, is that there are no rails in the bathroom on which you hang your towels. You seem simply to hang them over the bath. Breakfasts are very good and a large variety of food to choose from. The location of the hotel to the shopping centre is of course wonderful - attached!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ockert4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun and for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers on Trip Advisor. Your views are of utmost importance to us and thank you for your positive comments about the hotel.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sandton Sun in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards
Brett Davidge
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Nice business hotel. Clean, spacious rooms, in my case with a view to the terrace bar. Good breakfast buffet and well-functioning wifi. Pretty good fitness room, too. The hotel is very close to the Sandton shopping area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeppeKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun in the heart of Gauteng. We pride ourselves in being the "Pulse" of Sandton and our San Deck as you have found is a perfect place to enjoy the vibrancy of the area.

It is a pity you were not able to enjoy a treatment in the Spa and on your next visit I would personally recommend our Sea Whisperer Massage.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers on Trip Advisor and we look forward to seeing you returning to us in the not too distant future. Please also consider our other properties within the Tsogo Sun Group.

Warmest Regards

Brett Davidge
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreham-by-sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

I stayed here for four nights in December. The staff were welcoming and helpful and the room was of high quality, comfortable and spacious. Proximity to local services is also great, shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sandton Sun in the not too distant future.

On your next visit please do not miss our spectacular Sunset from the San Deck and the Sea Whisperer massage in the Spa is not to be missed.

Thank you again for staying with us and please also consider one of the many hotels which fall under the Tsogo Sun Group.

Warmest regards
Brett Davidge
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

loved the fact that the hotel leads into Sandton city mall and the Sandton exhibition centre making it easy and efficient to carry out business and leisure activities without the need of hopping into a taxi
very accommodating staff whom even allowed for non beef and pork options to be served at breakfast outside of the normal menu during my breakfast meetings and stay.

only complaint is that that hotel rooms are in serious need of a facelift and update but overall experience was great and convenient.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicohlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun and for taking the time to share your experience with other Travellers. We truly value your thoughts and will take great pleasure out of sharing this with our team.

If there was anything further, however small which could have enhanced your stay or would improve on your next stay please feel free to drop me a short e mail.

Thank you again for staying with us and please also consider our other properties within the Tsogo Sun Group.

Warm Regards
Brett Davidge
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

I liked the room and the breakfast is great. What I like most is that the hotel is at a shopping mall which has all the facilities one would want. The reception by hotel staff is very good. I would definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank alickem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun and for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers on Trip Advisor. Your views are of utmost importance to us and thank you for your positive comments about the hotel.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sandton Sun in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards
Brett Davidge
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

This is on paper a lovely hotel in a prime location. The rooms are great and the facilities are what you'd expect of this level of hotel.

The reality is that this hotel is staffed by untrained staff who are there in numbers but avoid providing a service and engaging with the customers. There might be a dozen staff behind the bar but getting someone to serve you is a mission. Heaven forbid you want a post dinner drink, they do everything to close the bar at 11:15pm then make your order from room service at the bar at twice the price! Why are we paying for this level of hotel with such poor service!

There is a building site across the road that wakes you up at 8am. The pool area is lovely is you are deaf!

Bring your ear plus, expect and early night and don't expect a lie in.

Come on guys, sort out the bar, I know the building works are nothing to do with you!

Unhappy!

Jim

Room Tip: Take ear plugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jjamesw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun recently and for sharing your experience with us. I was most disappointed that you found the service to be below the standards expected and please accept my personal apologies for this. I have already addressed this with the team in terms of the care and attention they pay to our customers.

We are constantly looking for ways in which we can improve on the product and service we offer. If there is anything further, however small which you feel could have enhanced on your time here or you would like to see included on a future visit, please just drop me a short note.

Thank you again for staying with us and please feel free to contact me directly on your next visit so I can personally oversee any future visits to Sandton Sun.

Warmest Regards

Brett Davidge
Resident Manager
brett.davidge@tsogosun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.2 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#4 of 47 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
0.0 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
0.1 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 47 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandton Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Sun

Property: Sandton Sun
Address: Cnr Fifth & Alice Lane, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#9 Business Hotel in Sandton
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandton Sun 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Johannesburg's business district and connected to the most luxurious shopping centre in the city, the hotel offers 5-star accommodation and a range of business and leisure facilities to all travellers, including state-of-the-art boardrooms, conference and banquet facilities. The menus at the award-winning restaurants are seasonal and sustainable while the outdoor deck offers breath-taking views of the city. Everything from a sundowner deck to a luxurious spa can be found under one roof, highlighting accessibility and connectivity ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, South African Hotels, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandton Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandton Sun Hotel Sandton
Sun Hotel Sandton
Sandton Sun Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing