We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business orientated but a little on the tired side” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandton Sun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandton Sun
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Business orientated but a little on the tired side”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Good location, an easy walk to Mandela Square. Helpful and friendly staff. Good selection in the cold buffet for breakfast Anything hot has to be ordered from the menu.
Air conditioning was reasonably quiet and efficient. The bed wasn't as comfortable as I'd have liked, two singles dragged together and although it had a single large mattress you could still feel the ridge down the middle. Probably I was a bit unlucky there. The room was reasonably large and comfortable, although it did feel a little tired. Always nice to have complimentary tea and coffee. The wi-fi was a bit flakey at times but that was complimentary too so not so bad. All in all a reasonable, if possibly overpriced, business hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doob123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun in the heart of Gauteng. We pride ourselves in being the "Pulse" of Sandton and our San Deck as you have found is a perfect place to enjoy the vibrancy of the area.

I do apologise that you found the hotel not to the standards one would expect, we are in the process of planning a refurbishment of these areas which I trust will address your concerns.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers on Trip Advisor and we look forward to seeing you returning to us in the not too distant future. Please also consider our other properties within the Tsogo Sun Group.

Warmest Regards
Brett Davidge
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    242
    85
    21
    19
See reviews for
123
140
45
391
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed here a number of times in 2010 and 2011 when working as a flight attendant. It's a nice hotel with an excellent outdoor bar/sitting area on a large terrace. Great place to watch the setting Sun. Nice pool and spa. Prices aren't too bad...the Canadian dollar goes further in Sth Africa. Attention to detail fairly good, though occasionally I found some of the decor abit scuffed and one room I had needed to have it's door fixed as it wasn't closing properly. They were very good one day when I checked out by notifying me that I had left my laptop in my room! VERY thankful for their attention to detail about this. I picked it up before leaving. The hotel is attached to a large shopping mall full of many shops, including a number of high-end options and a number of restaurants. As it always the case in Sth Africa be careful with taking money out of the ATM's located in the mall. Check there are no card readers attached to them and that no one is watching you. A colleague had money taken out of his account after he'd got some cash out. There is security watching the ATM machines but there are still thefts. The area the hotel is located in is fairly safe and it's walking distance from a couple of really good restaurants. The Bull Run being one of them (see my review on this). It's also located right by Nelson Mandela Square which you can reach by walking through the shopping mall.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank STPU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun and for taking the time to share your experience with other Travellers. We truly value your thoughts and will take great pleasure out of sharing this with our team.

If there was anything further, however small which could have enhanced your stay or would improve on your next stay please feel free to drop me a short e mail.

Thank you again for staying with us and please also consider our other properties within the Tsogo Sun Group.

Warm Regards
Brett Davidge
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here overnight during a business trip.I would recommend the hotel for its central location to most of Sandton CBD and its location on top of a shopping mall,which makes it very convenient for some last minute shopping.Our room on the 12th floor overlooked a building site and the bathroom was straight out of the 70's.We did however have a wonderful bed and we slept soundly.After a very late night it was fortunate that we were awake at 9am when the staff knocked on the door as they wanted to make up the room already.We also experienced problems at check-out and were directed to another floor as their printer was malfunctioning.We were also charged R40.00 for parking overnight in the hotel parking garage.I would have imagined parking to be included in the room rate at a luxury hotel.In summary I would say that while the accommodation was functional,it was certainly not memorable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sandton Sun in the not too distant future.

On your next visit please do not miss our spectacular Sunset from the San Deck and the Sea Whisperer massage in the Spa is not to be missed.

Thank you again for staying with us and please also consider one of the many hotels which fall under the Tsogo Sun Group.

Warmest regards
Brett Davidge
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is a hotel within a shopping mall but you won't realize until you venture outside. To access the mall, you alight at 6th floor and your world opens up. The rooms are spacious and service is excellent. It's a hotel I can visit again and agaim.

Helpful?
Thank engige
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brett D, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sandton Sun in the not too distant future.

On your next visit please do not miss our spectacular Sunset from the San Deck and the Sea Whisperer massage in the Spa is not to be missed.

Thank you again for staying with us and please also consider one of the many hotels which fall under the Tsogo Sun Group.

Warmest regards
Brett Davidge
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

The queen size beds were two doubles put together. It was very uncomfortable and I'd rather have two smaller beds. The rooms are a very nice size, with big safe, small refrigerator and nice bathroom. Nice outdoor patio with good vibe at nice. The drawback: slowest bar/food service ever. Even when there were more staff than patrons breakfast took forever! If you're in a hurry grab coffee at the stand!
Connected to mall and Mandela square for lots of places to eat. Two grocery stores in the mall for quick snacks.

It was nice but specify what kind of bed you want!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wazzuangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Trip Adviser Reviewer

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun and for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers on Trip Advisor. Your views are of utmost importance to us and thank you for your positive comments about the hotel.

I appreciate your comments with regards to our beds as well as the service you received during breakfast. I will ensure that this is addressed and that the restaurant is also made aware of your comments.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sandton Sun in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards

Brett Davidge
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

As someone who was at the actual opening of the Sandton Sun, well over 30 years ago, I am proud to say that the hotel has matured like a very good bottle of South African wine.

There are few hotels in the world that can compete with the warm and friendly service in a fine environment that mixes business with pleasure right in the heart of South Africa's financial hub.

The entire staff are fantastic and very professional.

Everyone of my staff members and associates were extremely happy.

As mentioned time and time again, the ladies on the 6th floor business lounge are exceptional and all deserve only the highest commendations for their courtesy, manners, professionalism and friendliness even when under extreme pressure.

We all look forward to our next visit.

MK ISC

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MKISC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sandton Sun in the not too distant future.

On your next visit please do not miss our spectacular Sunset from the San Deck and the Sea Whisperer massage in the Spa is not to be missed.

Thank you again for staying with us and please also consider one of the many hotels which fall under the Tsogo Sun Group.

Warmest regards
Brett Davidge
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

stayed here on business for a conference at the convention center. GREAT hotel. awesome service. the breakfast is a bit average however everything makes up for it. connected to the shopping center and convention center with skywalk. if you book here it is only a couple of blocks from the sandton gautrain station. you can walk it! the spa is ok prices but a spa bath is only a bath so dont book a spa bath treatment as it is published.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ritchie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sandton Sun in the not too distant future.

On your next visit please do not miss our spectacular Sunset from the San Deck and the Sea Whisperer massage in the Spa is not to be missed.

Thank you again for staying with us and please also consider one of the many hotels which fall under the Tsogo Sun Group.

Warmest regards
Brett Davidge
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.2 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 49 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
0.2 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 49 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandton Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Sun

Property: Sandton Sun
Address: Cnr Fifth & Alice Lane, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#9 Business Hotel in Sandton
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandton Sun 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Johannesburg's business district and connected to the most luxurious shopping centre in the city, the hotel offers 5-star accommodation and a range of business and leisure facilities to all travellers, including state-of-the-art boardrooms, conference and banquet facilities. The menus at the award-winning restaurants are seasonal and sustainable while the outdoor deck offers breath-taking views of the city. Everything from a sundowner deck to a luxurious spa can be found under one roof, highlighting accessibility and connectivity ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sandton Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandton Sun Hotel Sandton
Sun Hotel Sandton
Sandton Sun Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing