We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacking the wow factor.”
Review of Sandton Sun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sandton Sun
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lacking the wow factor.”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here overnight during a business trip.I would recommend the hotel for its central location to most of Sandton CBD and its location on top of a shopping mall,which makes it very convenient for some last minute shopping.Our room on the 12th floor overlooked a building site and the bathroom was straight out of the 70's.We did however have a wonderful bed and we slept soundly.After a very late night it was fortunate that we were awake at 9am when the staff knocked on the door as they wanted to make up the room already.We also experienced problems at check-out and were directed to another floor as their printer was malfunctioning.We were also charged R40.00 for parking overnight in the hotel parking garage.I would have imagined parking to be included in the room rate at a luxury hotel.In summary I would say that while the accommodation was functional,it was certainly not memorable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sandton Sun in the not too distant future.

On your next visit please do not miss our spectacular Sunset from the San Deck and the Sea Whisperer massage in the Spa is not to be missed.

Thank you again for staying with us and please also consider one of the many hotels which fall under the Tsogo Sun Group.

Warmest regards
Brett Davidge
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    255
    88
    22
    20
See reviews for
138
145
51
420
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is a hotel within a shopping mall but you won't realize until you venture outside. To access the mall, you alight at 6th floor and your world opens up. The rooms are spacious and service is excellent. It's a hotel I can visit again and agaim.

Helpful?
Thank engige
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brett D, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sandton Sun in the not too distant future.

On your next visit please do not miss our spectacular Sunset from the San Deck and the Sea Whisperer massage in the Spa is not to be missed.

Thank you again for staying with us and please also consider one of the many hotels which fall under the Tsogo Sun Group.

Warmest regards
Brett Davidge
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

The queen size beds were two doubles put together. It was very uncomfortable and I'd rather have two smaller beds. The rooms are a very nice size, with big safe, small refrigerator and nice bathroom. Nice outdoor patio with good vibe at nice. The drawback: slowest bar/food service ever. Even when there were more staff than patrons breakfast took forever! If you're in a hurry grab coffee at the stand!
Connected to mall and Mandela square for lots of places to eat. Two grocery stores in the mall for quick snacks.

It was nice but specify what kind of bed you want!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wazzuangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Trip Adviser Reviewer

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun and for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers on Trip Advisor. Your views are of utmost importance to us and thank you for your positive comments about the hotel.

I appreciate your comments with regards to our beds as well as the service you received during breakfast. I will ensure that this is addressed and that the restaurant is also made aware of your comments.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sandton Sun in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards

Brett Davidge
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

As someone who was at the actual opening of the Sandton Sun, well over 30 years ago, I am proud to say that the hotel has matured like a very good bottle of South African wine.

There are few hotels in the world that can compete with the warm and friendly service in a fine environment that mixes business with pleasure right in the heart of South Africa's financial hub.

The entire staff are fantastic and very professional.

Everyone of my staff members and associates were extremely happy.

As mentioned time and time again, the ladies on the 6th floor business lounge are exceptional and all deserve only the highest commendations for their courtesy, manners, professionalism and friendliness even when under extreme pressure.

We all look forward to our next visit.

MK ISC

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKISC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sandton Sun in the not too distant future.

On your next visit please do not miss our spectacular Sunset from the San Deck and the Sea Whisperer massage in the Spa is not to be missed.

Thank you again for staying with us and please also consider one of the many hotels which fall under the Tsogo Sun Group.

Warmest regards
Brett Davidge
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

stayed here on business for a conference at the convention center. GREAT hotel. awesome service. the breakfast is a bit average however everything makes up for it. connected to the shopping center and convention center with skywalk. if you book here it is only a couple of blocks from the sandton gautrain station. you can walk it! the spa is ok prices but a spa bath is only a bath so dont book a spa bath treatment as it is published.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ritchie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sandton Sun in the not too distant future.

On your next visit please do not miss our spectacular Sunset from the San Deck and the Sea Whisperer massage in the Spa is not to be missed.

Thank you again for staying with us and please also consider one of the many hotels which fall under the Tsogo Sun Group.

Warmest regards
Brett Davidge
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The hotel was elegantly furnished, and the rooms were full of amenities - including a coffee capsule machine. Drinks in the mini bar were complimentary.
Breakfast was wonderful with freshly blended juices for you to mix - beetroot, ginger, cucumber, celery and carrot, in addition to the usual orange, apple etc.
WiFi was free!
The hotel is linked directly to the shopping mall which is great!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonyeoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sandton Sun in the not too distant future.

On your next visit please do not miss our spectacular Sunset from the San Deck and the Sea Whisperer massage in the Spa is not to be missed.

Thank you again for staying with us and please also consider one of the many hotels which fall under the Tsogo Sun Group.

Warmest regards
Brett Davidge
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moses Lake, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was traveling alone on business and found this hotel to be perfect!! The staff is incredible - attentive, professional, and friendly. The room and bed were very comfortable. It was easy to work in my room, or take my things and sit on floor 6 to work in a common area with others. WiFi wasn't the best, however, I believe it was due to a carrier change. The location is perfect - especially for someone traveling alone. There are plenty of good restaurants on the property + the San Bar - deck - is the perfect place to go and relax with a book and a drink. The hotel is connected to Sandton City Mall, which has amazing shops & places to eat. You can also walk through the mall to get to Nelson Mandella Square to find more things to do & places to eat. The hotel also booked safe & reliable tours & cars for me during my stay. I cannot wait to travel back with my family!!! Be sure & take time to eat at Vilamoura - incredible food!!! I truly enjoyed this hotel & overall experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeronicaLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sandton Sun in the not too distant future.

On your next visit please do not miss our spectacular Sunset from the San Deck and the Sea Whisperer massage in the Spa is not to be missed.

Thank you again for staying with us and please also consider one of the many hotels which fall under the Tsogo Sun Group.

Warmest regards
Brett Davidge
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.2 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#4 of 48 in Sandton
922 reviews
0.0 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
0.1 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#14 of 48 in Sandton
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandton Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Sun

Property: Sandton Sun
Address: Cnr Fifth & Alice Lane, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#9 Business Hotel in Sandton
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandton Sun 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Johannesburg's business district and connected to the most luxurious shopping centre in the city, the hotel offers 5-star accommodation and a range of business and leisure facilities to all travellers, including state-of-the-art boardrooms, conference and banquet facilities. The menus at the award-winning restaurants are seasonal and sustainable while the outdoor deck offers breath-taking views of the city. Everything from a sundowner deck to a luxurious spa can be found under one roof, highlighting accessibility and connectivity ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandton Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandton Sun Hotel Sandton
Sun Hotel Sandton
Sandton Sun Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing