We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the hotel - service, facilities & location!!!”
Review of Sandton Sun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sandton Sun
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Moses Lake, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Loved the hotel - service, facilities & location!!!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was traveling alone on business and found this hotel to be perfect!! The staff is incredible - attentive, professional, and friendly. The room and bed were very comfortable. It was easy to work in my room, or take my things and sit on floor 6 to work in a common area with others. WiFi wasn't the best, however, I believe it was due to a carrier change. The location is perfect - especially for someone traveling alone. There are plenty of good restaurants on the property + the San Bar - deck - is the perfect place to go and relax with a book and a drink. The hotel is connected to Sandton City Mall, which has amazing shops & places to eat. You can also walk through the mall to get to Nelson Mandella Square to find more things to do & places to eat. The hotel also booked safe & reliable tours & cars for me during my stay. I cannot wait to travel back with my family!!! Be sure & take time to eat at Vilamoura - incredible food!!! I truly enjoyed this hotel & overall experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeronicaLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sandton Sun in the not too distant future.

On your next visit please do not miss our spectacular Sunset from the San Deck and the Sea Whisperer massage in the Spa is not to be missed.

Thank you again for staying with us and please also consider one of the many hotels which fall under the Tsogo Sun Group.

Warmest regards
Brett Davidge
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    255
    88
    22
    20
See reviews for
138
145
51
420
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The guest relations manager went out of her way to make this an Exceptional Experience! My husband and I celebrated our 9 year anniversary and spent a night of fine indulgence @ the Sandton Sun. We had the most amazing massages at the hotel spa; followed by a romantic turn down and bubble bath prepared by the staff; a platter of strawberries; chocolates & champagne and a delectable dinner at the Vilamoura Restaurant. All courses were exquisite and the service provided by the restaurant staff was exceptional. All in all an indulgent and exquisite experience! Attention to detail and Quality at its best!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daksha_Mahabeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sandton Sun in the not too distant future.

On your next visit please do not miss our spectacular Sunset from the San Deck and the Sea Whisperer massage in the Spa is not to be missed.

Thank you again for staying with us and please also consider one of the many hotels which fall under the Tsogo Sun Group.

Warmest regards
Brett Davidge
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterborough UK
Level Contributor
144 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Just checked in and very impressed by quality of the room, plenty of space, bath (so important after a long flight), robe, slippers etc.
Better value than the Fire and Ice where I usually stay. Just off to check out the spa

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank cjwlutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sandton Sun in the not too distant future.

On your next visit please do not miss our spectacular Sunset from the San Deck and the Sea Whisperer massage in the Spa is not to be missed.

Thank you again for staying with us and please also consider one of the many hotels which fall under the Tsogo Sun Group.

Warmest regards
Brett Davidge
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
82 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed at the Sandton Sun for 3 nights in December on a business trip. Very nice hotel and great location. Check in was a breeze and there is a tour desk to book any excursions and day trips.

Rooms were good and fairly modern. The hotel itself is very nice, breakfast was very good and the San Deck bar and restaurant is a great place to hang out, enjoy the views and have a few drinks. The hotel is connected to a mall with tons of stores and restaurants. Nelson Mandela square is only a few minutes away with great dining options as well.

Room Tip: There was lots of construction near the hotel at the time, so maybe inquire if you can get a room fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun and for taking the time to share your experience with other Travellers. We truly value your thoughts and will take great pleasure out of sharing this with our team.

If there was anything further, however small which could have enhanced your stay or would improve on your next stay please feel free to drop me a short e mail.

Thank you again for staying with us and please also consider our other properties within the Tsogo Sun Group.

Warm Regards
Brett Davidge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faridabad, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The hotel is just 10 minutes away by the GAUTRAIN from JO'BURG airport. The staff were very courteous and polite. The breakfast spread was very good with a personalised service. You can walk through the shopping malls from the hotel to reach Nelson Mandela square which is a happening place with lots of eateries. The only nuisance was the construction hapening just accross the road but the hotel cannot be blamed for that. Overall a nice experience and I do not agree to some reviews over here which says the hotel was pathetic. The South African cricket team was also staying in the hotel at the same time and that is proof enough.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rajesh v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun and for taking the time to share your experience with other Travellers. We truly value your thoughts and will take great pleasure out of sharing this with our team.

If there was anything further, however small which could have enhanced your stay or would improve on your next stay please feel free to drop me a short e mail.

Thank you again for staying with us and please also consider our other properties within the Tsogo Sun Group.

Warm Regards
Brett Davidge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
179 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Otherwise I would rate this hotel just average for this category. I got a free night due of my previous nights in other hotels of Southern Sun. I have to say thanks to the staff to arrange this free night for me, it was not easy just by email and some name changes, but it went well.

The architecture of the hotel is "old style". The restaurant and bar area looks newly renovated but due of the architecture you can hear the noise from this area in your room. The room and bathroom was spacious but a little bit "older". Everything was clean so nothing to complain.

The breakfast was really good with a wide selection of food, but the way how it is presented was confusing. Some of the food was provided as buffet others needed to be ordered (e.g. toast).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AufDerFlucht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun and for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers on Trip Advisor. Your views are of utmost importance to us and thank you for your positive comments about the hotel.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sandton Sun in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards
Brett Davidge
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potchefstroom, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The hotel is well situated for anyone visiting Sandton. Staff was friendly and helpful. You get the sense that the Hotel has lost some of its charm over the years. The rooms are well equipped yet no longer as appealing. The entrance hall is very impressive with the lifts facing into the entrance. Breakfast was not up to par. Oily croissants poor selection of cold meats and no service from breakfast staff. There are better 4 star hotels in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaacoS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun. Your comments are of vital importance to us and we utilise this to continually evaluate and improve on the service we offer.

I noticed that you did not find the hotel to a level which we would feel is appropriate and I would like to offer my sincere apologies for this. Rest assured this will be addressed and rectified with the teams concerned.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sandton Sun in the not to distant future.

Warmest regards

Brett Davidge
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.2 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#4 of 48 in Sandton
922 reviews
0.0 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
0.1 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#14 of 48 in Sandton
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandton Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Sun

Property: Sandton Sun
Address: Cnr Fifth & Alice Lane, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#2 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#9 Business Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandton Sun 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Johannesburg's business district and connected to the most luxurious shopping centre in the city, the hotel offers 5-star accommodation and a range of business and leisure facilities to all travellers, including state-of-the-art boardrooms, conference and banquet facilities. The menus at the award-winning restaurants are seasonal and sustainable while the outdoor deck offers breath-taking views of the city. Everything from a sundowner deck to a luxurious spa can be found under one roof, highlighting accessibility and connectivity ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandton Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandton Sun Hotel Sandton
Sun Hotel Sandton
Sandton Sun Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing