We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandton Sun

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandton Sun
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I hope it wasn't because I was a woman that I had nice treatments from the moment I stepped in till the moment I checked out. I loved it. My sleeping was wonderful. The hotel was generous with wi-fi, which is good. Go out for a walk early in the morning, see Gauteng in its quiet and beautiful mood. This rich-side of SA I should say is very nice. The hotel is connected to a mall that has almost everything you need, mostly branded.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psychedelicangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun and for taking the time to share your experience with other Travellers. We truly value your thoughts and will take great pleasure out of sharing this with our team.

If there was anything further, however small which could have enhanced your stay or would improve on your next stay please feel free to drop me a short e mail.

Thank you again for staying with us and please also consider our other properties within the Tsogo Sun Group.

Warm Regards
Brett Davidge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    210
    74
    19
    19
See reviews for
95
120
37
344
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, VA
Level Contributor
186 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This hotel was built when Sandton was really on its upswing. Alas, time is taking its toll. There is no longer a good view due to the rest of the area growing. Indeed, the construction noise of nearby skyscrapers starts very early on weekdays and Saturdays. Our room and service were good as expected (they arrived with an iron and to collect the bags in no time flat), but the corridors seem a bit dark these days. On the upsides, the location is great if you want to walk to anything you could possibly need for food and shopping. A car is not necessary, esp. if this is your layover spot while between flights at JNB. We did however rent a car (from the very nice people at Avis Guatrain station) to go visit some old haunts. The traffic has increased in Joburg exponentially and by the afternoon we were glad to ditch the car and go back to walking around from our base of operations at the Sun. As for the breakfast, I found it more than enough with good service, but having been spoiled at the Table Bay my partner says it was adequate. Overall, it was a welcome place to refresh and repack in between trips out to the bush and around the country.

Room Tip: i think the north side is where the construction is. i think that wing has numbers in the 20s and 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurie_B_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun and for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers on Trip Advisor. Your views are of utmost importance to us and thank you for your comments about the hotel.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sandton Sun in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards
Brett Davidge
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

The pros. Good location in a safe area with direct access from the main floor to the vast Sandton mall which in turn leads to Mandela Square. Both have plenty of restaurants, cafes etc.
The Gautrain - and this is a very easy train to use - station is within easy walking distance through safe roads although the hotel does have a shuttle.
Free wi fi.
The public areas are sumptuous and the rooms large and comfortable.
There is a decent sized rooftop pool with plenty of loungers and space.
The staff are very helpful and friendly.
The cons. The room furniture is dark wood. Somewhat dated and showing signs of wear and tear. My shower door would not close and the safe packed up after 24 hours.
There is a nice restaurant with good food, but it is very quiet most of the time. The prices there are full 5 star prices ; however you don't have to eat there given the other choices elsewhere.
Overall. This hotel has much going for it, but if you are looking for a slick modern hotel - and many will, of course, be impersonal- this may not be the one.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UKtravellersolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun and for taking the time to share your experience with other Travellers. We truly value your thoughts and will take great pleasure out of sharing this with our team.

If there was anything further, however small which could have enhanced your stay or would improve on your next stay please feel free to drop me a short e mail.

Thank you again for staying with us and please also consider our other properties within the Tsogo Sun Group.

Warm Regards
Brett Davidge
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
82 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I recently booked a suite at this hotel by redeeming some of my Sun Rands (Loyalty Programme) to spoil the wife and to go for some shopping at the Sandton mall. On arrival at 15:00 our room was not ready as they still had to clean the carpet. Whilst we were waiting in the lounge area on the 6th floor an elderly gentleman was lecturing the hotel or duty manager on how they can improve their service and offerings. Apparently he has been visiting year for nearly forty years and had a list of suggestions to improve service, food, etc. I thought that maybe he was just over sensitive as I always had good experiences at this hotel.

Received our room keys about a half hour later. I was very dissapointed with the room ..27. It is sort of corner/middle room on the floor. The room is definately not on the same standard as the other suites in the Hotel. Stayed in the hotel for business before and recently in a suite during September 2012 and it was a well appointed room. This room had a tired appearance. The walls were dirty, the door to the room and the door frame required paint or cleaning. The right hand side door to the fridge is broken. The TV cabinet has seen better days. Did not want to make to much of a fuss as the wife was looking forward to the outing and the shopping. We received a complimentary bottle wine in ice bucket. It was appreciated as it was very hot and the airconditioner was not turned on by the hotel staff.

Went for dinner at 19:30 in the San restaurant and we were surprised to find the restaurant empty. We were only two couples in the restaurant. Ordered from the a la carte menu. Octopus starter was very mediocre. My rack of lamb was overcooked and my wife's t-bone tough with a lot of fat. The service and attention we received from Macmillan made up for a very bad and overprized dinner. Previously had dinner in the restaurant on New Years eve 2011 and it was excellent with a huge buffet and great seafood.

When we returned to the room we found a huge cockroach in the bathroom. Air conditioner did not work properly. Fortunately we could open the bedroom window for some fresh air.

The continental section of the breakfast is good with fresh juices. Limited a la carte English breakfast menu. Two of the items on the menu were not available. The menu offered ostrich and salmon but it was not available. Surely the chef could have informed the waitress or the menu could have been updated? This is not acceptable for a 5 star? hotel.

The usual practice for this group is to welcome their director members with a letter, gift and a complimentary newspaper. We did receive wine and a fruit plate. Never received a welcome letter or the customary complimentary newspaper in the morning.

I wrote to the management afterwards about our experience and completed the hotels electronic evaluation but did not receive the courtesy of a response. When members redeem their loyalty rands that they should be entitled to the same type of room and service than when they pay for their rooms.

Room Tip: Rather choose the Intercontinental Hotel (sister hotel) across the road. Rooms are modern and the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank knowtel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for staying with us at Sandton Sun and for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers.

I appreciate you taking the time to discuss this in person with me and for the opportunity to restore your faith in Sandton Sun. I hope that we can continue a long and mutually beneficial relationship into the future.

Warmest regards

Brett Davidge

Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This hotel has traditional values of the 'customer is king' or in my case 'queen' ;) ! Every touch point at this hotel is prided on their excellent service and desire to ensure that customers are satisfied. Their attention to detail in terms of quality of food whether banqueting, dinner reservation or in-room dining is all of a superior standard.
The accommodation is 'roomy' and comfortable and lacking for nothing with your every whim being catered for by the friendliest and willing people.
While there are things that the hotel is challenged in the service more than makes up for anything that might be lacking !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yavi_Madurai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun and for taking the time to share your experience with other Travellers. We truly value your thoughts and will take great pleasure out of sharing this with our team.

If there was anything further, however small which could have enhanced your stay or would improve on your next stay please feel free to drop me a short e mail.

Thank you again for staying with us and please also consider our other properties within the Tsogo Sun Group.

Warm Regards
Brett Davidge
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Just returned home after spending 2 days at the sandton sun. Well kept hotel, helpful staff and clean rooms. Pool was small but well kept. Tred to use the spa facilities but it was full. Shopping mall attached on to hotel which led to Nelson Mandela square. Great places to eat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kinrosslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun and for taking the time to share your experience with other Travellers. We truly value your thoughts and will take great pleasure out of sharing this with our team.

If there was anything further, however small which could have enhanced your stay or would improve on your next stay please feel free to drop me a short e mail.

Thank you again for staying with us and please also consider our other properties within the Tsogo Sun Group.

Warm Regards
Brett Davidge
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The Sandton sun hotel is in an excellent side of Johannesburg with lots of shopping and dining out. The hotel staffs are very attentive to guests needs and they usually go beyond the ordinary to make the experience memorable. I stayed in the hotel on a business trip and found it to be a pleasant experience.

One minor thing which is not really an issue is the bed turn down process. When the room is cleaned in the morning the cleaner always place a 'do not disturb' sign outside my door but another staff comes in the evening for bed turn down but proceed to leave a note that they were unable to come into my room because i had a 'do not disturb' sign on my door and advise that I call when I’m available. I think they could have avoided this double trip to my room by not placing the ‘do not disturb’ sign after cleaning in the morning!

Overall an excellent hotel and will recommend for Business and perhaps leisure as it is close to the Sandton sun & Nelson Mandela shopping mall.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun and for taking the time to share your experience with other Travellers. We truly value your thoughts and will take great pleasure out of sharing this with our team.

If there was anything further, however small which could have enhanced your stay or would improve on your next stay please feel free to drop me a short e mail.

Thank you again for staying with us and please also consider our other properties within the Tsogo Sun Group.

Warm Regards
Brett Davidge
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.2 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#2 of 48 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 stars 792 reviews
0.1 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandton Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Sun

Property: Sandton Sun
Address: Cnr Fifth & Alice Lane, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#9 Business Hotel in Sandton
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandton Sun 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Johannesburg's business district and connected to the most luxurious shopping centre in the city, the hotel offers 5-star accommodation and a range of business and leisure facilities to all travellers, including state-of-the-art boardrooms, conference and banquet facilities. The menus at the award-winning restaurants are seasonal and sustainable while the outdoor deck offers breath-taking views of the city. Everything from a sundowner deck to a luxurious spa can be found under one roof, highlighting accessibility and connectivity ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Sandton Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandton Sun Hotel Sandton
Sun Hotel Sandton
Sandton Sun Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing