We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great convenient location”
Review of Sandton Sun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandton Sun
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Durban
Level Contributor
153 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great convenient location”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Very impressed with Sandton Sun. Convenient location in the Impressive Sandton Shopping Centre. Overseas business colleagues very impressed with location and Hotel although built decades ago still has maintained its standards. Great place to stay near the Gauteng Train service to Airport.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shmsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Good Evening Shmsy - Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to post a comment for us on Trip Advisor - really appreciated. Yes, the Sandton Sun is the grand old lady of the Sandton area - and proud of it. Thank you for your positive feedback - much appreciated and I hope it won't be too long before we see you again. Keep well, Kind Regards Andrew Davidson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    254
    86
    21
    20
See reviews for
137
143
49
415
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Stayed here for 7 nights and very impressed by the location and staff. The staff is very polite, very helpful, and you will find so many staff near the reception area to help you with your luggage, get in and out of the car or get you a glass of water/champagne/juice while checking in.
Breakfast - It is a very good spread of continental breakfast. Hot breakfast is very good too. Sunday breakfast is a buffet including the hot breakfast.
Room - we stayed in1702 and it has a very big window overlooking Jo Burg. It can be a little noisy due to traffic, but the room has AirCon so you hardly ever need to open the window.
Location - 40 mins drive from airport, and is interconnected with the Nelson Mandela Shopping Mall and Square. Very safe and secure location in central JoBurg.
Will definitely recommend it to friends and will surely stay there again!

Room Tip: go as higher as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheikha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
Good Evening Shik06,
Thank you for taking the time to put something on Trip Advisor for us - much appreciated. I am even more glad to see that you had a great time with us. Lets hope it won't be too long before your next visit. Keep well and kind regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2012

What a hotel!

My wife and I stayed at this hotel as a stopover on our honeymoon and it was strongly recommended by the people at her work, as they are predominantly South Africans. We caught the rail into Sandton and walked to the Hotel, through the shopping centre, a 2 minute walk, very convenient for the wife to do some shopping!

The hotel itself is kept to the highest standard and the service is fantastic. The food for breakfast was unbelievable!

And then to top it off.......I left my wedding ring in the bathroom and did not realise until I got to the airport. I called the otel and told them and they said that they would send security up to have a look. I was a little concerned about losing my wedding ring in South Africa and did not hol too much hope. But within ten minutes, I was called by th manager Willian to be told that they had found it and not to worry as it is in his posession and he will ensure that I get it back. And he did, they had my address details and couriered back home to me and I know have it back.

Thank-you so much to William and the staff for amazing service at a brilliant hotel.

Would HIGHLY recommend this hotel.

Rick - Melbourne

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Good Evening Rick,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your experiences at our lovely hotel on Trip Adivsor - Appreciated. I was really worried about getting your ring back to you - as jewerly in the post does not always reach its destination. But in your case it did - great news. I hope we will see you for lots of up comming anniversaries. Keep well - Kind Regards - Andrew Davidson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
152 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Right from the concierge to room service everything is fantastic about the hotel. I have stayed here twice and it has always been a pleasure. It is right next to the Nelson Mandela Square (in fact a corridor leads into the mall). The restaurant has a limited menu but whatever they make is very good.

Room Tip: Away from elevators - check-ins happen quite late and movement throughout the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shangs39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Dear Shangs39,
Thank you for taking the time to post something on Trip Advisor - regarding your recent stay with us - much appreciated. Great to hear that you had a good time we look forward to welcoming you again. Its raining curently and it looks like Winter is showing its head. Keep well and see you soon again, Kind Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
152 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Right from the concierge to room service everything is fantastic about the hotel. I have stayed here twice and it has always been a pleasure. It is right next to the Nelson Mandela Square (in fact a corridor leads into the mall). The restaurant has a limited menu but whatever they make is very good.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shangs39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel on several occasions and enjoyed every stay.

MY TOP TIP: As with all international travel my advice is, once you have reached your hotel room, prop your door open with you bags/case and search the room to make sure it's empty (while the door is still open) and up to standard before you take your stuff in and close the door. Crime is rife in South Africa so all precautions should be taken even in a hotel of this quality. Look under beds, in wardrobes, behind doors and shower curtains. A 5min check can prevent crime.

The rooms and beds are very comfortable, the rooms have TV's, DVD players, drinks facilities, big en-suite bathrooms with a free standing shower AND a bath, air conditioning, lots of hotel products and neutral decor.

The views outside aren't pretty as you are right in the centre of the CBD here in Jo'burg but the hotel more then makes up for this.

I have had several treatments in the spa which isn't the cheapest but they offer a quality service and my pedicure was lovely!

The hotel has direct access to the mall with lots of shops both designer and high street, lots of bars/restaurants in Nelson Mandela Square but if you need to keep cost down you can grab sarnies from the mall.

I booked several trips through the reception staff in the hotel, they arranged private quality taxi's for a visit the Lion Park and gave good advice on what times to attend. We visited very early in the morning & I got to spend and hour with Lion cubs before the crowds arrived.

I would stay at this hotel again, it's also within short walks to other great restaurants I like the Bull Run and The Butchers Shop.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Good Evening Kate, Thank you so much for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor - really appreciated. With regards to your security comment - Yes, you are in the Sandton CBD, but we are similar to many other top class cities around the world. The hotel itself takes security very seriously and we have officers posted around the hotel in various locations. Access to the floors can only be obtained if you are a resident, and we have an extensive CCTV system to see exactly who is comming and going. Thank you for your positive feedback regarding the facilities - we regard ourselves as an "all under one roof" offering. You don't need a car or bus when you stay with us - as there is so much to do at the Hotel, shopping centre and Nelson Mandela square. Even getting to the airport is easy by using our complimentary shuttle to the guatrain (2 blocks away) and then board the train to the international airport. Keep well and I hope we will see you soon again. Kind Regards, Andrew Davidson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Great service, Good food, Sheff Garth very very good, Work on more tender beef (kobe).
Will visit again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 556woodview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear 556Woodview
Thank you very much for your feedback - appreciated. I will pass the message onto Chef Garth - appreciated. Keep well and looking forward to your next visit.
Kind Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.2 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#4 of 48 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
0.0 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
0.1 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#14 of 48 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandton Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Sun

Property: Sandton Sun
Address: Cnr Fifth & Alice Lane, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#9 Business Hotel in Sandton
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandton Sun 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Johannesburg's business district and connected to the most luxurious shopping centre in the city, the hotel offers 5-star accommodation and a range of business and leisure facilities to all travellers, including state-of-the-art boardrooms, conference and banquet facilities. The menus at the award-winning restaurants are seasonal and sustainable while the outdoor deck offers breath-taking views of the city. Everything from a sundowner deck to a luxurious spa can be found under one roof, highlighting accessibility and connectivity ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandton Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandton Sun Hotel Sandton
Sun Hotel Sandton
Sandton Sun Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing