We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Sandton(Sandton)
$130
$118
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Sandton Sun(Sandton)
$290
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$260
$228
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$151
$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$161
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$359
$182
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Maslow(Sandton)
$162
$141
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$518
$493
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
$91
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveler rating
17
39
29
1
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
39
29
1
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarpe diemgrayston drivesandton cityeasy accessroom serviceswimming poolbusiness
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 94 reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2009

We had taken our office staff to J'burg for Christmas for 4 days. For a 3 star hotel it was great.

Check in was very slow (past midnight), and the lady was busy talking on the phone, so we had to hurry her up. There is no concierge service, so you need to haul your bags around.

The rooms are of a decent size, with a double bed (comfy with good pillows, blanket, and throw). There is a large work desk, safe that can fit a lap top, a single seater sofa with foot stool, and coffee table, tea and coffee making facilities, and a small cupboard. The room was very comfortable, had excellent air conditioning, and a TV with satellite television.

The bathroom had a good power shower, and separate bath. The towels were of good quality.

Breakfast was excellent with good service. Not pretentious at all. There was an egg station with hot food choices, fruits, cereal, pastries and breads, cold cuts and cheese. Juice, water, tea and coffee. It was a very good breakfast for a 3 star hotel. The hotel does serve some light meals, but has menus for various fast food and restaurants that deliver. You are welcome to use their breakfast room to eat food from outside, and they will supply you wit crockery and cutlery. This was a brilliant idea.

There is a pool, and mini gym, as well as some vending machines.

The only let down was the taxi service. It is operated by some foreigners, who have no real idea where they are going, are very expensive (more then 5 star hotels we had stayed in at Sandton), and very rude. After 2 days, we got the number for other operators, and called our own transport.

The hotel is 5 minutes drive from Sandton City shopping mall.

Overall an very good hotel, that was extremely comfortable, had good service and a great breakfast. I would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roadwarriorafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed August 17, 2009

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 21, 2009

I couldn't stay in my usual place on this trip to Johannesburg because of the confed cup but managed to get a room here. Even though I only checked in at 11.30 at night, the reservations staff were cheery and nothing was a problem. The rooms were modern and everything worked as it should. The price I think was around R 750 including breakfast which included a very good buffet and a really good cooked English breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HillcrestBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2009

We were here only 3days on or way to to another county. Our fist time in Jo'burg and we were so happy with this hotel. The rooms were really GREAT - they were very updated and comfortable. The staff was very helpful with any requests or questions. They assisted with arranging taxis at price level that we asked for, suggested when would be a better time to visit a particular place etc. Mostly business travelers were here, but that allowed for us to meet a range of diverse people.

You can walk up the street to a an upscale plaza that has shopping, restaurants, ATM's and supermarkets. If you walk a bit further you can go to Mandela square which is a Grand shopping& dining experience. Easy to find ( only one turn) so no need to waste time or money with a taxi.

The breakfast was great and the Shebeen restaurant next door had a good selection for dinner.

I implore you to take the time to go to the Origins Center, the Hector Pieterson Museum
(in Soweto) and The Apartheid Museum at a minimum. There are all sorts of tours for your taste - but these three places are affordable and meaningful to all. If we had more time and money we would have gone to the cultural center as well - heard that it is great because you get to see and learn more about what real life is like for ech type of tribe. If you've ever been or heard of the Polynesian Cultural Center in Hawaii - I imagine that it is as great.

Key Points:
*Very easy to get arpund by car - so I would suggest renting a car and get a map.
*We live in the US but we are Black Jamaican and this was a profound experience from a historical perspective. A city that less than 20 years ago was under Apartheid rule now hosting the World Cup under a democratic system led by a Black President.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kahawtho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2008

Right on the Grayston Drive commercial avenue, and about 10 mins drive Sandton commercial centre.

Has all the facilities but not what you'd call luxury. Has a small pool but this is principally a business traveller's hotel. Car or taxi essential.

Clean largish rooms, cheerful staff, good but not obtrusive security. 50 rand for an hour's WiFi bu you can switch it on and off.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank EnglishAssessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews