We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
A delightful entertainment hub.

An artificial Italian village from the outside, but a buzzing entertainment complex inside.Good... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
GerrieSmitRSA
,
Cape Town
A night out

Went to see monte casino to show my husband what South Africa has to offer. (Hes never been to... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
C5804LOterrim
,
South Africa
via mobile
Read all 1,661 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Sandton
from $103.23
More Info
from $49.33
More Info
Reviews (1,661)
Filter reviews
1,661 results
Traveler rating
857
608
144
28
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
857
608
144
28
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews monte casino bird park italian village live shows slot machines something for everyone great entertainment whole family las vegas under one roof safe parking lots of restaurants ten pin bowling fine dining comedy club great place to visit food court
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,661 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2019 via mobile

Loads to do for the entire family, loads of restaurants options and entertainment for all ages. 4 hotel options means something for everyones budget

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank W9896ZJkellyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2019

Monte Casino stands above the rest when it comes to casino experiences. Not only is the theme stunning, but the shops, restaurants and entertainment offered apart from the actual casino adds such variety to the place.

There are many top class restaurants, that offer something for everyone. The theaters are immaculate and they always have interesting shows booked.

There is a huge arcade arena for your kids to play, as well as a stunning bookstore, which puts your average book stores to absolute shame.

Outside the casino you can spend the day walking through the beautiful Bird Gardens, where you can go watch a bird show and learn some more about the birds involved in the show. There are many exotic birds, and each enclosure has more information about the animals that reside there. If you've never seen a Lemur or a Toucan in person, you'll definitely want to visit this attraction.

If you're just looking for some entertainment for the day, this is a good place to visit.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank AnneArchy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2019

We did not have our actual passports, so we were not able to gamble. We walked around and enjoyed the scenery and enjoyed some ice cream

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Dawana21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2019

the best place in the North - it has everyting, theatres, cinemas, food, shops street entertainment......

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Fuller1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2019

6 Things I really like about Monte Casino-
Our family really enjoyed the day. It is kitsch and cool and worth a visit- super fun!
1 It transports you, it is fantasy, it's an escape from politics, crime, the economy- the everyday worries that South Africans face.
2 Musical Theatre at Monte Casino- We enjoyed lunch and went on to see Chicago. Polished perfection. A wonderful showcase for our abundant local talent and the excitement of seeing a musical theatre star from abroad added to the experience.
3 There is something for everyone. You do not have to be a gambler to be entertained.
4 Immaculate- it is really sparkling clean. The public restrooms are pristine despite how many people go in and out of them.
5 Food- Casa Bella -questo ristorante è divino ( one must praise them in Italian even if you have to copy and paste, because you aren't)- really Bellissimo-order the pizza.
6 Cherry on top- you buy your parking ticket upon entry and it is only R10.00. That was a pleasant shock- I expected that it would be way more. Recommended for locals and visitors from abroad.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews