We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2014

The place, the staff, the facilities and the food were all what you'd expect from a hotel of this standing. You can see a lot of effort is put in to help you get what you pay for. We have absolutely no complaints.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ScottyBoyCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Kewley1, Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Fairlawns Boutique Hotel, Sandton and taking time to share your experience on Tripadvisor

Your feedback is of utmost importance to us, as it allows us to recognize and reward the excellence and improve our standards where required. Thank you kindly for recognizing our efforts to make our guests stay at Fairlawns as memorable and as comfortable as possible. We strive for more in order to remain a unique, exclusive up-market sanctuary for both Corporate and Leisure travelers.

Once again, thank you for taking time to communicate with us. Should you require additional information or would like to query anything further, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Mr. Michael Kewley
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

247 - 253 of 398 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2014

i think Fairlawns is genuinely a cut above the rest! the service was excellent, the hotel itself and the grounds are truely beautiful, the bed and the linen made sleeping a pleasure, and the food exquisite! I would come back in a heart beat!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 481cindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Kewley1, Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Fairlawns Boutique Hotel, Sandton and taking time to share your experience on Tripadvisor

Your feedback is of utmost importance to us, as it allows us to recognize and reward the excellence and improve our standards where required. Your kind comments with regards to our gardens and Service is appreciated, and will be conveyed to all staff. We strive for more in order to remain a unique, exclusive up-market sanctuary for both Corporate and Leisure travelers.

Once again, thank you for taking time to communicate with us. Should you require additional information or would like to query anything further, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

The location is quiet and remote, and the grounds are beautiful. However, our overall impression was of stiff formality, rather than friendly welcome. Apparently, all the rooms are different: our room in the new building was huge, the bed, bath towels and bath amenities were outstanding, but the room layout was an awkwardly long plan with the television screen located uncomfortably far from the bed. Clothing storage space was limited in relation to the enormous room, and there was no convenient place for luggage. If you stay here, make sure you are shown how to operate the room lighting controls. They are not intuitively obvious, and caused us some fumbling in the dark. We had a very good dinner with excellent wine by the glass in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Armchairtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Kewley1, Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Fairlawns Boutique Hotel, Sandton and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor

Your feedback is of utmost importance to us, as it allows us to recognize and reward the excellence and improve our standards where required. We strive for more in order to remain a unique, exclusive up-market sanctuary for both Corporate and Leisure travelers, and will therefore ensure that all departments are fully aware of your overall impression.

We are thrilled to hear that you found our well groomed grounds to be beautiful, and that you enjoyed your dinner experience with us.

Fairlawns Boutique Hotel Management and staff look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mr Michael Kewley
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

My Expedia booking for a suite was not found on arrival, the check in manager was not that friendly. The promised refund never happened either, even thought I had several to and fro interactions with the reservations manager. Other than that, the hotel and the food were fabulous. The staff are great, the gardens are wonderful, the Spa treatment was excellent.

Room Tip: Not sure, hotel seemed quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sasha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Kewley1, Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review following your stay with us at Fairlwans.

It is wonderful to hear that you found the Meals and Hotel to be fabulous. We strive for excellence, and appreciate your comments with regards to your reservation and arrival experience which will be addressed with the relevant staff.

I am pleased to confirm that the refund was done by our Reservations Department on the 27th of May. May we kindly request receipt confirmation, or alternatively contact: Marlene Muller at the Hotel who will gladly send the refund confirmation details to you.

Fairlawns Boutique Hotel Management and Staff look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Mr. Michael Kewley
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

This Hotel is a cut above any Hotel you will ever stay in. Blended in with the old and new it truly is a pleasure to spend time here. The service is above Hotel standards and food to cover everybody's needs.

Room Tip: We had a one bedroom unit, but they all looked they gave the same out look.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 49Graeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Kewley1, Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Fairlawns Boutique Hotel, Sandton and taking time to respond on Tripadvisor

Your feedback is of utmost importance to us, as it allows us to recognize and reward the excellence and improve our standards where required. We were thrilled to read your wonderful comments, and to learn that our Service Standards were met.

We always strive for more in order to remain a unique, exclusive up-market sanctuary for both Corporate and Leisure travelers.

Mr. Michael Kewley
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Stayed at this hotel on recommendation of a colleague. It is actually closer to our office than the hotel we originally booked. The accomodations and service is outstanding. The food is wonderful. In fact we left at the end of the week saying we would just like to " move in" to the Fairlawns. Everything at the hotel in top of the line. We were very comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tucker4279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Kewley1, Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Fairlawns Boutique Hotel, Sandton and taking time to respond on Tripadvisor

Your feedback is of utmost importance to us, as it allows us to recognize and reward the excellence and improve our standards where required.

We were thrilled to hear that you found our Hotel to be so comfortable, and that you enjoyed all the meals. We always strive for more in order to remain a unique, exclusive up-market sanctuary for both Corporate and Leisure travelers.

Mr. Michael Kewley
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Excellent hotel all around: great food, wonderful staff, fantastic massage, and convenient location to Sandton. I'll go back! I used for business meetings, but I would definitely recommend for leisure travel as well.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Kewley1, Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Fairlawns Boutique Hotel, Sandton and taking time to respond on Tripadvisor

Your feedback is of utmost importance to us, as it allows us to recognize and reward the excellence and improve our standards where required. We are also thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the food and SPA Treatment. We strive for more in order to remain a unique, exclusive up-market sanctuary for both Corporate and Leisure travelers.

Once again, thank you for taking time to communicate with us. Should you require additional information or would like to query anything further, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Mr Michael Kewley
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandton
3.3 mi away
Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
6.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
2.4 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 46 in Sandton
1,372 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
2.3 mi away
AtholPlace Hotel & Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: 1 Alma Road | (Off Bowling Avenue), Sandton 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#4 Business Hotel in Sandton
#4 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range: $231 - $524 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa is a unique and exclusive five-star sanctuary for today's business or leisure traveller. Conveniently situated in the Sandton suburb of Morningside Manor, major business hubs and shopping centers are a mere 4km away. The 40 luxurious suites are each individually decorated to the highest world standards with the Presidential Suite playing host to many local and international celebrities. Also on offer, is the popular Villa Residence (2 rooms, Lounge, Dining Room and private pool), perfect for families. A sought after conference centre, fully equipped gym, Balinese spa and superb a la carte restaurant complete the full range of guest services. In addition, the hotel offers complimentary transfers to the Sandton Shopping District. Airport transfers and transfers to other areas can be arranged at an additional cost. Golfers will not be disappointed as Fairlawns has an arrangement with the nearby Johannesburg Country Club, which offers two world-class golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairlawns Boutique Hotel And Spa
The Fairlawns Boutique Hotel Sandton
Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing