We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel
The rooms are magnificent, I stayed in room 1 which has its own Terrace near to the pool area.
The resteraunt is first class and the staff can't do enough for guests.
A barbecue was held on one of our nights stay by the pool that proved a great hit.
Give this one a try if you get chance.

Stayed: March 2013
Thank ColinSomers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
There are newer reviews for Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 376 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

I have been to a Castle in Scotland, beautiful Hotel in Singapore, The Lake Districts of the UK, Spain, France, Mauritous The Drakensberg, Hermanus, etc, etc and nowwhere, have we ever had such luxurious Rooms , with all the bells and whistles, underfloor heating, luxury bathrooms, welcome tray, Bar Fridge, welcoming fruit basket, complete Tea/Coffee self service etc, and the height of luuxory is to sink into the gorgeous Down duvets and percale sheets and bed linen! Staff are firendly and cheerful, decor out of this world!, unique and inspiring. The Dining room with its wonderful lighting and "smooth" background music, allows you to "Float" in the beauty and elegance, and reminds me of the "Age of Elegance" I love it!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadeleineD579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

If comfort, style and luxury are what you're expecting in a hotel, then Fairlawns is just the place for you. Situated close to Sandton City, this magnificent home away from home is set in lush and picturesque gardens. The accommodations are spacious and beautifully decorated. The restaurant superb and the staff always on hand to assist. An added boon is having the convenience of a vehicle and driver should you require the service. Definitely a hotel I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

At our request Fairlawns staff made a dinner reservation for us at a restaurant at the Sandton shopping center and arranged for their driver to transport us there and pick us up when finished. The hostess at the restaurant called the hotel for us when we were ready to be picked up and hotel front desk staff told her the driver would pick us up where he dropped us off in approx 15 minutes. We waited nearly 40 minutes - in pouring rain and iightning - but still no driver appeared. We walked back to the restaurant and the hostess kindly called the hotel again. This time my husband talked to the reception staff. She said the driver had "issues" but was now on his way to pick us up. My husband asked if we should just take a taxi but she said no and again repeated the driver was already on his way. We waited another 30 minutes. No driver. Still raining and lightning. We walked to a near by hotel and they arranged a car to take us back to the Fairlawn. When we pulled up we saw the hotel van parked out in front. The woman at reception could clearly see it there from her desk. She acted surprised when we walked in and said she didn't know the driver still hadn't come to get us. She apologized but offered no explanation as to why we were left stranded. 5 star service? I think not.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShaunBoyd1, Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Although no excuse, we were let down badly by an outsourced transfer company. However, as the guest did mention, our FOM did apologise profusely, and she was geniunely surprised as she had been told that the driver had left. One of our vehicles was indeed parked in the front, but the reason we had outsourced the transfer, is that our Hotel driver was on another transfer in the other vehicle. The FOM would therefore not have thought anything out of the ordinary if she had seen the vehicle parked. The outsourced company use their own vehicles. She offered no explanation at the time, as she needed to investigate what had in fact happened, as she was as taken aback as the Guest. This is indeed unfortunate, but not intended, and not the norm. The matter has been raised with the outsourced company. As the Guests had already had dinner, they decided to go to the bar and have some coffees, and appeared to have accepted the FOM's apology at the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We just spent two nights at the Fairlawns at the end of a three week trip to South Africa and Botswana. The grounds are green and lush, the room was spacious and comfortable, and the staff was fantastic. We ate in the restaurant on several occasions and found the food very good. They have van and driver to take their guest places, which we found helpful. We had some trouble with an ATM nearby and a lost debit card, and the manager of the hotel jumped right in to help us solve our problem.

A great experience all around!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We used the conferencing and banqueting facilities. Without a doubt they are top notch from the decor down to the equipment provided. The food was beautifully presented and quite a gastronomical experience. The staff are incredibly attentive, right down to carry your bags and engaging in pleasantries. The GM stepped in and escorted me to my car and carried my bags. To add to this experience the surrounding gardens and pool area is an open invitation into paradise. Peaceful, tranquil and a beautiful meander through nature.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

When you find the perfect hotel the dilemma his high between sharing the info with friends or just keep it to yourself. I choose to share it with you.
Everything is perfect to make it your favorite hotel in Johannesburg either for business or leisure.
It is in an oasis of green just minutes away from Sandton city. Every aspect of the hotel was to my taste, and I can be very choosy. Even the very victorian style is light enough to feel at ease all the time.
I stayed at the Fairlawns twice for a total of 6 nights and could enjoy 2 different rooms in separate buildings; brilliant in both cases.
It is good to retreat from the buzz of the city and feel like at home.
Wifi and high speed internet access are provided; great.

Service is excellent and courteous.
Definitely will go there next time.

Room Tip: Any room will be perfect
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandton
3.3 mi away
Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
6.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
2.3 mi away
AtholPlace Hotel & Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 46 in Sandton
966 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
2.3 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: 1 Alma Road | (Off Bowling Avenue), Sandton 2090, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#4 Business Hotel in Sandton
#5 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range: $248 - $507 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa is a unique and exclusive five-star sanctuary for today's business or leisure traveller. Conveniently situated in the Sandton suburb of Morningside Manor, major business hubs and shopping centers are a mere 4km away. The 40 luxurious suites are each individually decorated to the highest world standards with the Presidential Suite playing host to many local and international celebrities. Also on offer, is the popular Villa Residence (2 rooms, Lounge, Dining Room and private pool), perfect for families. A sought after conference centre, fully equipped gym, Balinese spa and superb a la carte restaurant complete the full range of guest services. In addition, the hotel offers complimentary transfers to the Sandton Shopping District. Airport transfers and transfers to other areas can be arranged at an additional cost. Golfers will not be disappointed as Fairlawns has an arrangement with the nearby Johannesburg Country Club, which offers two world-class golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairlawns Boutique Hotel And Spa
The Fairlawns Boutique Hotel Sandton
Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing