We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #16 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town SA
2 reviews
“A great place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This is the best place to stay when in JHB!
Wow! What an experience true luxury and the service is the best ever.
It is an experience you should not miss and the event we did there was out of this world!
Nothing was too much trouble and they went out of their way to get everything I needed.
Don’t miss the fabulous place to stay.
I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran1602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    50
    12
    8
    12
See reviews for
26
112
15
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I stayed at the Fairlawns in November 2012 and it has been an absolute pleasure.

“Melissa” was very helpful via email with all booking requests and changes that I had to make. The pick-up from the airport worked out fine. Once we got to the hotel around noon our rooms were already available which was great after flying for 12 hours.

The rooms / suites are very large in size, very clean and have a nice style.

The hotel is more like a safe haven within the city not just a hotel. The tropical garden, breakfast outdoors overlooking the pool, the very(!) large gym, the in- and outdoor SPA and the excellent cuisine – I probably had one of the best steaks ever in their restaurant – what more can you ask for?

During the day there is always a driver at hand that takes you to the nearest locations e.g. Nelson Mandela Square..

All staff is very helpful and friendly. One night we returned from a Safari and on the way back I heard on the radio that there is an interesting concert that same night.. The guy at the reception managed to organize us premium tickets within an hour..and of course a driver. Taking us there and picking us up.

Especially after a long business day I couldn't wait to get back to the “island” and escape all the hustle and bustle of the city.

I stayed at the hotel for 3 days of business and extend for 2 more days to relax. It was very good. I will be back soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patrick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Spent 3 months here in 2001 while on a work project, this place is like paradise ... I especially loved dinner at the hotel after a long day at work. Very safe and conveniently located near Sandton business district. Regards to Anna and John!
Alberto

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TALENTINO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Potosi, Mexico
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Everything within the hotel is worth it!
The service is awesome. I recommend the spa. They have pick up and drop off service to the airport.
Highly recommended. If you like to travel and feel like your home this is the place you want to stay at!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Fairlawns is always such an experience for me. It's like a being a kid again in a magical secret garden. Everytime I stay there I get to experience a diffrent luxurious suite. The beds are so huge and fabulous i feel like a princess every night i go to bed. The service is always spectacular and the breakfast scrumbious. I highly recommend this hotel. Also the location is great as it's only 5 minutes from Sandton, which makes seeing clients a breeze in the morning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

As an inbound tour operator into Africa we regularly host high end international travel agents on FAM trips to Southern Africa. Early December 2012 we (6 guests) were privileged to enjoy a one night stay at Fairlawns in their Chateaux Suites. The general consensus of opinion was that the indivdiually decorated rooms were all very spacious and the amenities of a high standard.

Drinks service on the patio was a little slow but this was made up for by an excellently prepared and presented dinner in the restaurant. Good selection of well priced wines to accompany a delicous meal in an elegant room - who could ask for more!

Everyone enjoyed their spa treatments and some even said it was the best massage they had ever had anywhere in the world so high praise to Christine and her team.

Fairlawns is the perfect place to relax and unwind in a beautifully landscaped garden environment either on the way to or after a safari experience.

Thank you to Anna & John Thacker and to Shaun Boyd for looking after us so well.

Room Tip: Upstairs in the Chateaux Suites overlooking the Gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GiltedgeAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Excellent rooms and service, a comfortable quiet oasis in Johannesburg.
Excellent rooms and service, a comfortable quiet oasis in Johannesburg.
Excellent rooms and service, a comfortable quiet oasis in Johannesburg.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank c l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandton
6.0 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 73 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 stars 562 reviews
3.3 mi away
Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
2.2 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 48 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 stars 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
AtholPlace Hotel & Villa
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
1.7 mi away
The Maslow
The Maslow
#5 of 48 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 stars 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: 1 Alma Road | (Off Bowling Avenue), Sandton 2052, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#4 Business Hotel in Sandton
#5 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa is a unique and exclusive five-star sanctuary for today's business or leisure traveller. Conveniently situated in the Sandton suburb of Morningside Manor, major business hubs and shopping centers are a mere 4km away. The 40 luxurious suites are each individually decorated to the highest world standards with the Presidential Suite playing host to many local and international celebrities. Also on offer, is the popular Villa Residence (2 rooms, Lounge, Dining Room and private pool), perfect for families. A sought after conference centre, fully equipped gym, Balinese spa and superb a la carte restaurant complete the full range of guest services. In addition, the hotel offers complimentary transfers to the Sandton Shopping District. Airport transfers and transfers to other areas can be arranged at an additional cost. Golfers will not be disappointed as Fairlawns has an arrangement with the nearby Johannesburg Country Club, which offers two world-class golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairlawns Boutique Hotel And Spa
The Fairlawns Boutique Hotel Sandton
Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing