We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always AMAZING!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Fairlawns is always such an experience for me. It's like a being a kid again in a magical secret garden. Everytime I stay there I get to experience a diffrent luxurious suite. The beds are so huge and fabulous i feel like a princess every night i go to bed. The service is always spectacular and the breakfast scrumbious. I highly recommend this hotel. Also the location is great as it's only 5 minutes from Sandton, which makes seeing clients a breeze in the morning.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernadette707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
There are newer reviews for Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 376 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2012

As an inbound tour operator into Africa we regularly host high end international travel agents on FAM trips to Southern Africa. Early December 2012 we (6 guests) were privileged to enjoy a one night stay at Fairlawns in their Chateaux Suites. The general consensus of opinion was that the indivdiually decorated rooms were all very spacious and the amenities of a high standard.

Drinks service on the patio was a little slow but this was made up for by an excellently prepared and presented dinner in the restaurant. Good selection of well priced wines to accompany a delicous meal in an elegant room - who could ask for more!

Everyone enjoyed their spa treatments and some even said it was the best massage they had ever had anywhere in the world so high praise to Christine and her team.

Fairlawns is the perfect place to relax and unwind in a beautifully landscaped garden environment either on the way to or after a safari experience.

Thank you to Anna & John Thacker and to Shaun Boyd for looking after us so well.

Room Tip: Upstairs in the Chateaux Suites overlooking the Gardens.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GiltedgeAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Excellent rooms and service, a comfortable quiet oasis in Johannesburg.
Excellent rooms and service, a comfortable quiet oasis in Johannesburg.
Excellent rooms and service, a comfortable quiet oasis in Johannesburg.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Excellent hotel, rooms and bathrooms are huge and offer gorgeous views of the garden and pool area. Felt like an oasis in the middle of the city. Service was fantastic, awesome staff. Nice decor. Perfect for a business or leisure trip. So easy to take the Guatrain to Sandton and then it is a 5 min complimentary transfer to the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirstyannp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Over the last several years, I have made a number of business trips to South Africa. The length of the stay has typically been 3 to 4 days. I have tried a number of hotels but my last three trips I have headed for Fairlawns.
The quality of the rooms is outstanding; the attention to detail is first rate and the focus on service is second to none.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Just arriving from the Congo, this was like being home!! It was so welcoming, comforting, luxurious, I wish we would of stayed longer. It was a stop over before traveling back home and we really decided next time to stay longer. The train from the airport works so well and you are there within a half hour from the airport. You totally miss all the traffic and stress of driving.
We had dinner and the food was excellent, and the service was great. The breakfast was also very good. We will be returning for sure!!

Room Tip: I have stayed twice at Fairlawns, and both room locations were great! Quiet, comfortable, and relax...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cassandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

A very secluded & private aread of Joburg in a secure setting, several acres of beautiful garden. Stunning building, only 30 rooms. Very large rooms & suites, probably twice the size of the average 5 star boutique hotel and recently and elegantly decorated. Restaurant & Bar: lovely outdoor terrace overlooking gardens. Great food & wine, friendly staff. Superb breakfasts. Spa needs to be booked ahead, very good therapists. One of the top properties in SA

Room Tip: all suites have a different design theme, e.g African, Chinese, Art Deco, Dalai Lama etc so feel fre...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrFrankReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandton
3.3 mi away
Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
6.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
2.3 mi away
AtholPlace Hotel & Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 46 in Sandton
965 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
2.3 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: 1 Alma Road | (Off Bowling Avenue), Sandton 2090, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#4 Business Hotel in Sandton
#5 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range: $249 - $512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa is a unique and exclusive five-star sanctuary for today's business or leisure traveller. Conveniently situated in the Sandton suburb of Morningside Manor, major business hubs and shopping centers are a mere 4km away. The 40 luxurious suites are each individually decorated to the highest world standards with the Presidential Suite playing host to many local and international celebrities. Also on offer, is the popular Villa Residence (2 rooms, Lounge, Dining Room and private pool), perfect for families. A sought after conference centre, fully equipped gym, Balinese spa and superb a la carte restaurant complete the full range of guest services. In addition, the hotel offers complimentary transfers to the Sandton Shopping District. Airport transfers and transfers to other areas can be arranged at an additional cost. Golfers will not be disappointed as Fairlawns has an arrangement with the nearby Johannesburg Country Club, which offers two world-class golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairlawns Boutique Hotel And Spa
The Fairlawns Boutique Hotel Sandton
Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing