We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable quiet oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Excellent rooms and service, a comfortable quiet oasis in Johannesburg.
Excellent rooms and service, a comfortable quiet oasis in Johannesburg.
Excellent rooms and service, a comfortable quiet oasis in Johannesburg.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

331 - 337 of 411 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2012

Excellent hotel, rooms and bathrooms are huge and offer gorgeous views of the garden and pool area. Felt like an oasis in the middle of the city. Service was fantastic, awesome staff. Nice decor. Perfect for a business or leisure trip. So easy to take the Guatrain to Sandton and then it is a 5 min complimentary transfer to the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirstyannp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Over the last several years, I have made a number of business trips to South Africa. The length of the stay has typically been 3 to 4 days. I have tried a number of hotels but my last three trips I have headed for Fairlawns.
The quality of the rooms is outstanding; the attention to detail is first rate and the focus on service is second to none.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Just arriving from the Congo, this was like being home!! It was so welcoming, comforting, luxurious, I wish we would of stayed longer. It was a stop over before traveling back home and we really decided next time to stay longer. The train from the airport works so well and you are there within a half hour from the airport. You totally miss all the traffic and stress of driving.
We had dinner and the food was excellent, and the service was great. The breakfast was also very good. We will be returning for sure!!

Room Tip: I have stayed twice at Fairlawns, and both room locations were great! Quiet, comfortable, and relax...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cassandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

A very secluded & private aread of Joburg in a secure setting, several acres of beautiful garden. Stunning building, only 30 rooms. Very large rooms & suites, probably twice the size of the average 5 star boutique hotel and recently and elegantly decorated. Restaurant & Bar: lovely outdoor terrace overlooking gardens. Great food & wine, friendly staff. Superb breakfasts. Spa needs to be booked ahead, very good therapists. One of the top properties in SA

Room Tip: all suites have a different design theme, e.g African, Chinese, Art Deco, Dalai Lama etc so feel fre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrFrankReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

What a beautiful hotel. It's like an oasis in the middle of a large city. The grounds are spectacular , the staff wonderful and the room was the lap of luxury. Would go back in a heart beat. The bathroom was luxurious to say the least.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laceyluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Came back here after a year. All staff remembered my last visit. Service us amazing, so is the facility. I cannot believe people would prefer a hotel in Sandton central over this property.

Will return in a month. The tranquility is all you need

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LorJaz2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandton
3.3 mi away
Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
2.2 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 47 in Sandton
1,005 reviews
2.3 mi away
AtholPlace Hotel & Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
1.8 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 47 in Sandton
1,417 reviews
2.4 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
#10 of 47 in Sandton
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: 1 Alma Road | (Off Bowling Avenue), Sandton 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#4 Business Hotel in Sandton
#4 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range: $285 - $633 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa is a unique and exclusive five-star sanctuary for today's business or leisure traveller. Conveniently situated in the Sandton suburb of Morningside Manor, major business hubs and shopping centers are a mere 4km away. The 40 luxurious suites are each individually decorated to the highest world standards with the Presidential Suite playing host to many local and international celebrities. Also on offer, is the popular Villa Residence (2 rooms, Lounge, Dining Room and private pool), perfect for families. A sought after conference centre, fully equipped gym, Balinese spa and superb a la carte restaurant complete the full range of guest services. In addition, the hotel offers complimentary transfers to the Sandton Shopping District. Airport transfers and transfers to other areas can be arranged at an additional cost. Golfers will not be disappointed as Fairlawns has an arrangement with the nearby Johannesburg Country Club, which offers two world-class golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairlawns Boutique Hotel And Spa
The Fairlawns Boutique Hotel Sandton
Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing