We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, travelled alone they made me feel very welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Exactly what a boutique hotel should be. Rooms fantastic

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IPRS-CEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

362 - 368 of 411 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2011

Don't know what to say as it was all so great and no bad points. Rooms great and well kept, furnished to a very high standard. The hotel and grounds were also well kept and of a very high standard. The Spa was excellent and definitely worth a try with wonderfully peaceful surroundings to enjoy, but the steam room needs "warming up" so warn them if you want to use it. The food available is also of a high standard and the restaurant has lovely views over the garden. But best of all were the staff who were all very friendly and helpful on all levels. A must visit if in the city!

Room Tip: All rooms good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanette1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Planned as a couple’s escape - booking the Winter Warmer package at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa will definitely go down as one of my best 2011-decisions.

The hotel masters understated chic, with a sense of opulence balanced by a feel for the practical. Upon our arrival we were met by efficient staff who - after the simple requirements of signature and car registration number - immediately took care of our every need.

Being shown up to one of their newer suites in what they refer to as their Grande Chateau – (apparently also completely Green in design) truly surpassed all expectations my boyfriend and myself might have had. It’s 5-star luxury without the stuffy touches you find at similar resorts. Each suite is individually decorated, and if ours was anything to go by I look forward to future visits to experience more of the gorgeous décor. The very spacious suite is carefully dedicated to reflect its inspiration, but executed with so much taste that it never looks garish or becomes over the top. The gorgeous en-suite bathroom is yet another example of opulence balanced by practically - the use of space and light is perfect. The Grande Chateau building is in itself an experience, with subtle touches to make your stay all the more pleasant. Outside your suite you can take time out to savour the view from the balcony while enjoying quality coffee and fresh shortbread that is left for guests.

Out by the pool the unassuming yet competent staff, serve a lunch menu and cocktails. I was very pleased to find that one of my favourites – the classic dry Vodka martini was expertly prepared.

The spa treatment was another example of true relaxation. After a steam session we were shown to a beautifully spacious and lavish Balinese-styled treatment room where two very professional therapists took great care of us.

Dinner was another highlight – the dining room is beautifully decorated. Another distinguishing feature was the menu, well-planned and beautifully presented, but importantly not overpriced for a meal of its nature. The wine list is also something Fairlawns can be proud of. It’s definitely the work of careful planning, making it a delight for any wine enthusiast, and once again well-priced – often a rarity with other 5-star boutique resorts

Later when we returned to our room we found that staff had already attended to the turndown and tidy-up of our room for the evening. A lovely touch was the dark-chocolate enrobed nougat slabs left on the pillows. Then, as if the evening needed any more decadence, our buzzer rang and a waiter came in to present us in with our chocolate fondue for the evening. Dipping strawberries and mellow into hot chocolate was definitely the perfect way to end the perfect night.

Waking up in our suite completed our escape from the humdrum nature of the weekly grind and the breakfast just confirmed it. The hotel was busier - and with the doors now open with the sun and first Spring breezes coming in, there was a different air to the restaurant. Breakfast was lovely; the only down-note was that it marked that our stay at Fairlawns was coming to an end.

Fairlawns Boutique Hotel not only met, but also exceeded my expectations - something that doesn’t happen often. All I can say is that I’m already looking forward to our next stay: the summer weekend escape.

Room Tip: Due to us only experiencing the Manhattan suite of the Grande Chateau, I cannot offer an informed op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luxe77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

I was treated recently to a surprise birthday weekend stayover at the Fairlawns hotel, and before this visit I didn't know much about except of its existence. Now it's difficult to believe that the entire Johannesburg isn't already raving about it, it was such a fantastic weekend in a beautiful place.

We arrived at the understated entrance gate, and left the city behind. We were personally greeted at the car by a professional and friendly hotel employee, who looked to be a manager of sorts. He immediately wished me a happy birthday, which was a great touch. I was a bit stunned into silence by luxurious reception we received, we were personally attended to by four people in reception, and were offered face towels and drinks while we were booking in. This was very indicative of the exceptional level of service we would receive over the next 24 hours.

We had a suite in the Grand Chateaux. Each suite has its own theme, and we got the Shanghai Suite. It was decadently decorated, I couldn't stop marvelling at the individual pieces in the room, a sure sign of a labour of love on someone's part.

Very quickly a deep sense of relaxation kicked in. The 24 hours we spend there felt like three days. We spend our time in the immaculate gardens (at the end of winter, even), next to the pool, and getting a massage treatment from the spa. We received attentive service everywhere, even for little things like setting up the free wifi in the room or the charming coffee service in the Chateaux.

I've never had high expectations for hotel food, but found the true exception here. The food was perfectly prepared, and the dinner menu offered lots of choices that somehow remained well priced while being absolutely 5 star, which was unexpected. If I have anything to do with it, we will return on a morning in the near future to have that breakfast buffet again, it was pretty spectacular. We could see other people thought so as well, there was a lot of drop-in visitors just for that while we were there.

I can't recommend this hotel highly enough for a weekend getaway or a couples retreat. What a fantastic memory.

Room Tip: I only saw the Shanghai Room, and recommend it highly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

The 1st 3 nights of our vacation in Africa were spent at The Fairlawns just outside of Johannesburg. We arrived early evening. Our room, a premier suite #13, was beautiful. After dinner when we returned to our room, the staff lit the fire in the living room of our suite, and we sat sipping sherry.. Since it is winter there and the temperature was a nippy 7 degrees C, this felt wonderful.
We spent one full day on an exceptional tour with Robin Binckes (Spear of the Nation) at the Apartheid Museum, Alexandra Township and Constitution Court. Each moment of our time at The Fairlawns was spent in complete relaxation, as we wanted to store up energy for our time in Zimbabwe and Botswana. One highlight was our getting neck/back/shoulder massages there, a welcome relief after the 18-hour flight. My massage assistant, Nonto, was excellent - unbelievable but my neck and shoulder pain, a long-time issue, was gone and, now that we are back home, i still feel great.
One night we dined at a nearby African restaurant, Lekgotla. We ordered well, and loved our food. Hotel staff kindly drove us there and back.
The staff at The Fairlawns are amazing. Lindiwe, the Maitre D, was a consummate professional. Our dinner table had red and pink flower petals scattered on it to mark our June anniversary. We were fortunate to meet and dine with the owners of this wonderful small hotel, Anna and John Thacker, and to talk with them about their exceptional staff and customer service. Each room has been individually decorated by Anna, and Danette took us on a tour of some of the rooms.
My husband and I decided this hotel is perfect as a place for anyone to stay both arriving in Jo'burg and before you leave, especially if you are spending time on safari in between.

Room Tip: Ask for Suite 13 - close to all, & private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

I recently decided to treat myself as I wanted to escape for a few precious hours. Various friends and business colleagues suggested I visit the Fairlawns boutique Hotel & Spa. Upon my arrival I was pleasantly surprised and slightly embarrassed that I had not been introduced to this immaculate establishment earlier - a real gem in the Sandton area.

I was warmly welcomed and shown to the Balinese themed Spa where I received my Aroma oil full body massage (R700). The treatment lasted for about an hour after which I settled on the terrace for something to eat whilst overlooking the preciously kept gardens. My light Smoked Salmon Terrine (R60) starter was soon followed by a fuller bodied Chicken Curry Panang (R120) accompanied by a glass of their house wine Boschendal Blanc de Noir (R33/glass) which the server suggested I try with the curry.

The therapy this experience provided was well worth the money spent and it excites me knowing this tranquil escape from the city bustle is actually nestled right in the midst of it all.

I will most certainly be visiting again.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
Thank WellRested22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Email to Fairlawns with no response:

Hi xxx,

Not sure if you're the correct person to speak to about my review on High tea at the Fairlawns on Friday but here goes…

The high tea was sadly highly disappointing.

Even though the atmosphere and classical music lived up to a warm ambiance, the food was totally sub standard.

The only thing I can not critique were the sandwiches (even though my hubby felt that they were a little dry)
Scones tasted nice but was also terribly dry - same for the cupcakes.
The macaroons, eclairs, lamingtons & shortbread biscuits were shocking - honestly I would be surprised if this was made by a chef - it tasted like it was bought from the local Spar. However if it was made by a chef, please get rid of him/her.

I felt embarrassed by the sub standard quality of the food served as I was the host of this event with my family.

I've been to many high tea services locally & internationally and this was the most disappointing experience I've had, more so because Fairlawns is known to be a 5 star boutique hotel.

I would like to recommend these places and feel that Fairlawns should try them out. I believe that after being here, Fairlawns would have a better idea & improve their high tea service.

Annica's Deli, Michelangelo Towers (R 160.00 p/p)
The Saxon Hotel (R 190.00 p/p)
Mount Nelson Hotel Cpt ( R 165 p/p)
The One & Only Cpt ( R 180.00 p/p)

These Hotels really live up to a 5 star service, quality of food and ambiance.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mergs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandton
3.3 mi away
Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
2.2 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 47 in Sandton
1,005 reviews
2.3 mi away
AtholPlace Hotel & Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
1.8 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 47 in Sandton
1,418 reviews
2.4 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: 1 Alma Road | (Off Bowling Avenue), Sandton 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#4 Business Hotel in Sandton
#4 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range: $286 - $633 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa is a unique and exclusive five-star sanctuary for today's business or leisure traveller. Conveniently situated in the Sandton suburb of Morningside Manor, major business hubs and shopping centers are a mere 4km away. The 40 luxurious suites are each individually decorated to the highest world standards with the Presidential Suite playing host to many local and international celebrities. Also on offer, is the popular Villa Residence (2 rooms, Lounge, Dining Room and private pool), perfect for families. A sought after conference centre, fully equipped gym, Balinese spa and superb a la carte restaurant complete the full range of guest services. In addition, the hotel offers complimentary transfers to the Sandton Shopping District. Airport transfers and transfers to other areas can be arranged at an additional cost. Golfers will not be disappointed as Fairlawns has an arrangement with the nearby Johannesburg Country Club, which offers two world-class golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairlawns Boutique Hotel And Spa
The Fairlawns Boutique Hotel Sandton
Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing