We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW WOW WOW!!!!”
Review of The Maslow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Maslow
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“WOW WOW WOW!!!!”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

WOW WOW WOW!!! I have no other way to express what a phenomenal weekend my wife and I had at The Maslow this past weekend to celebrate our third wedding anniversary! From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty, with a notable team member of yours, Lynn the Executive Suites Manageress waiting to greet us, with such a warm and genuine welcome!! She really is an asset to your hotel, nothing was too much effort!!

Of course when we got to our room, which was a suite, we were blown way!! The chilled bottle of sparkling wine, delicious cake with "Happy Anniversary" piped in chocolate on it and rose petals everywhere was an incredibly personal and welcome touch, attention to detail is most evident and a priority at The Maslow! The quality of the room, the fittings,fabrics etc are of the highest quality and is evident wherever you look.

We both had an amazing experience a the Aricology Spa with massages that rate amongst the best we have had!

We had a wonderful dinner in the restaurant with the wine pairing for each meal, a really innovative and delicious way in which to dine.

My wife and I had the time of our lives, which we will remember forever!

Thank you again soo much to you and your team for this unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita M, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

We are honoured to have shared your special occasion with you, we are thrilled to hear that we made your stay memorable. Lynn is indeed a great asset to our team. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your suite and the amenities to celebrate your special day. The Africology spa is definitely one of the best in the country. The team is happy that we met all your expectations and we will always strive to do better on your next visit.

Kind regards
Anita Munetsi
Customer Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    300
    74
    23
    16
See reviews for
69
178
35
415
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Centurion, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

The Maslow Hotel is one of the hidden gems amongst the more notorious Sandton City skyscrapers opulent hotels. The Maslow is 1.2km from Sandton City Gautrain station and the Nelson Mandela Square. Hotel grounds are massive and visited conerence centre with comfortable chairs, spaced appropriately forvdelegates to move about as compared to other hotels that accommodate business and conference events. We had access to opulent boardrooms overlooking the gardens with a view! The refreshments and lunches were excellent,different dietary requirements accomodated. The Concierge desk is VERY professional and i did not have to walk or use the Gautrain bus service as the shuttle service was available around the clock! I did not pre-book shuttle service but everytime i phoned from the station,my request was immediately honoured. The Maslow treatsvall its business or holiday guests as "Royals",for me personally client service is top notch and would recommend the Maslow for its proximity,service and hospitality. Maslow is my 1st port of call in Sandton!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Koki80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita M, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

We are humbled by your great review on Trip Advisor. It is great to see that we managed to live up to your expectations. I have shared your review with the concierge team and they are delighted to have played a part in your experience at the Maslow. The gardens and boardrooms are definitely the best in Sandton. We are pleased to hear that you found the food to be excellent. Our guests are definitely treated like royalty at the Maslow. Our team looks forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Anita Munetsi
Customer Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bruno, California
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

This hotel was booked for us as part of the Friendly Planet tour. When we arrived our rooms weren't ready yet. They put us into a room - and then called us within the hour saying they would have to move us (as they didn't have the room available for our two night stay?). So okay - but then they didn't come up immediately to do so. We finally called and said we were tired from our international flight and if they were going to move us - they needed to do that now. Finally got to our room. The hotel itself is very pretty - the food was good. Would have been helpful if they told us if we wanted to have dinner that night we needed to book early. When we went down to dinner we were told that they were booked solid. So we had room service. The shuttle to the mall was helpful for the next day. The rooms are nice - the shower is not private so that might bother some people.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claudia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita M, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

We are thankful for your feedback as we can only learn from this and improve on the service we offer you as one of our valued guests. The Maslow team would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused by the delay at check in. We are pleased to hear that you found the food and rooms up to standard. We hope you will give us an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Anita Munetsi
Customer Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

I would never usually write a review before I checked out but I cannot fault this hotel.

It is an art-deco style design and is really luxurious. The food is incredible. The staff are wonderful. It really is faultless.

And if you stay here, I definitely recommend reading the spa treatment menu in the room, just for comedy value.

And maybe get a facial that can "eliminate feelings of sadness, rejection or fear."

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassie_JW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita M, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your comments on the hotel’s décor and style. The staff is delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you found everything perfect. On your next stay with us, please do try the spa, it comes highly recommended. The Maslow team looks forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Anita Munetsi
Customer Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We were part of a group who when arrived at the hotel some of our rooms were not ready which was disappointing as we wanted to get out and about as we were staying only one night. Suitcases were brought up to our rooms promptly by very polite and friendly porters.Rooms were modern and very comfortable with the bathroom only separated from the room by glass partitions.
Breakfast enjoyable with large variety of food hot and cold to please even discerning guests.
Bus shuttle every 30 minutes to and from the hotel to Nelson Mandela Square where you will find a large mall with lots of restaurants.
Did not have time to enjoy the amenities of the hotel however we did enjoy our short stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BishopDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita M, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Your review of our hotel is very complimentary; it's appreciated by all of us at the Maslow. We would like to apologise for the delay in the rooms being ready. We are pleased to hear that you found our porters polite and friendly, the rooms comfortable and enjoyed the large selection of food at breakfast. We do hope you can stay a bit longer on your next visit.

Kind regards
Anita Munetsi
Customer Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We recently spend one night in the Maslow Hotel in Sandton as part of a group attending a function in the area. The room is a bit small, but if you sleep one night it does not really matter. The bathroom is spacious with all amenities needed.
We had lunch in the hotel upon arrival and ordered from a set menu. The food was absolutely delicious and several people complemented the chef. Breakfast the next morning was just as delicious.
We did not have time to visit the spa and since it was raining could not really spend time at the pool area, although it also looks quite nice.
I would definitely recommend this hotel for a business trip, or if wanting to spend a few days in the area.

Room Tip: Just a few minutes walk from Sandton City. Ask for a room with a queen/king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pampoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita M, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your excellent review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We will always strive to make our guests’ stay memorable. Your loyalty is highly valued and appreciated. We will look forward to our next opportunity to serve you should your travels bring you back our way soon.

Kind regards
Anita Munetsi
Customer Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Stayed here for two days as part of a Friendly Planet tour of South Africa. Biggest pros were the restaurant. Many good hot and cold food options at breakfast. Had a tasty burger at lunch and a prefix Valentines day dinner and everything was done well. They offer a shuttle service to a nearby mall. They arranged a private driver to go to to Lion Park 45 minutes away (750 rand each way).

The negatives was the noise outside of the hotel on Friday evening from the parking lot. The room was on the smallish side and the shower faces the sleeping area and does not have privacy.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sethness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita M, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for choosing the Maslow hotel and for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed the food as well as the shuttle service and the visit to the Lion Park . We would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused by the noise from the parking lot. I do hope you will allow us the occasion to restore your confidence in our hotel and trust you will find an improvement upon your next stay.

Kind regards
Anita Munetsi
Customer Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.2 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#14 of 48 in Sandton
1,286 reviews
0.7 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 48 in Sandton
933 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 48 in Sandton
863 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maslow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maslow

Property: The Maslow
Address: Corner Grayston Drive & Rivonia Road, Sandton 2031, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Maslow 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maslow is the ultimate new business hotel in Sandton providing an environment where individuals can reach their full potential by having the facilities, technology and intelligence in place to facilitate business. Situated in the heart of Sandton's business district, home to top investment banks, financial institutions, the Gautrain station and the Johannesburg Stock Exchange, The Maslow offers some of the best corporate facilities in Sandton, including complimentary high speed internet access throughout the hotel, 13 meeting rooms, conference centre with multi-divisible ballroom and auditorium, techno gym and an Africology Spa. The Maslow hotel offers a complimentary scheduled return transfer service every 30 minutes to the Gautrain Station and Sandton City. Guests may also make use of the Maslow's private chauffeur service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Maslow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Maslow Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing