We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, well appointed modern hotel”
Review of The Maslow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Maslow
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
The Cotswolds
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location, well appointed modern hotel”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

One night transit stop in JNB, and we booked the Maslow, very last minute.
It's a reasonably new hotel, and perfectly situated in Sandton. It is mainly set up for the business traveller, but you have all that you need... Bar, restaurant, swimming pool and wifi..
Modern decor, clean and tidy with well thought out bathrooms... A chair in front of a mirror with a hair dryer - simple I know, but surprising how many hotels don't do it....

Beds are comfy, and the wifi is quick and works pretty much anywhere you try it in the hotel.. Even by the pool..

Service is acceptable, nothing over the top, but friendly..

We had bar snacks, which were tasty... But the service was a tiny bit slow.

Not the cheapest spot, but has all you pretty much need for a short stay over..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clareyb999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita M, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Maslow hotel. The team is happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We are continuously working on improving our service and appreciate your comment on the bar service. We can assure you of a much faster service at your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Anita Munetsi
Customer Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    300
    74
    23
    16
See reviews for
69
178
35
415
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Excellent hotel and service, really friendly and helpful staff. Being in the industry myself in Cape Town we were attending a wedding and choose this hotel and were pleasantly surprised. It was our fist time staying here and it was very easy getting from the airport with the Gautrain and the courtesy transfer to and from the hotel. Breakfast was great and the variety was great with fresh food choices. Cleanliness is great and even though the hotel only opened in January all the finishes were good and everything is well maintained. Will recommend this to any traveler looking for accommodation in Sandton.

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe double room on the 5th floor which was great. The bar does get busy with local...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ihcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita M, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We greatly appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back to the Maslow on your next visit.

Kind regards
Anita Munetsi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Hi - I have stayed in the Maslow a few times. This is a great Hotel, with fantastic staff. I like the modern rooms and the free wi-fi internet.

HOWEVER, the kitchen needs help. I ordered a well-done burger for room service. It arrived on the rare side of medium. I phoned room service and the lady was very friendly and confirmed that she noted my request for the burger to be well done. She confirmed she passed that message on to the kitchen. In any case, they brought me another burger half an hour later. Guess what? The same as the first burger - on the rare side of medium - a long way from well done. I asked that the chef phone me - He was kind and apologetic and offered me something else.... I declined - I wanted a burger. Eventually - exactly 2 hours after I placed my first order I got a delicious well done burger. BUT - in a 4-star hotel you would expect this to be perfect the first time!!

Another kitchen story... maybe not a big deal to many people, BUT if the hotel offers a space on the room service breakfast menu for a specific time for breakfast to be delivered to your room (in addition to the normal time-slot offerings) then you would expect them to keep to the selected specified time... No, my breakfast turned up exactly 20 minutes early.

So - a great hotel - but the kitchen could be their downfall. A big-name executive chef does not always help if he is not hands-on and cannot sort out the simple things.....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Johann_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita M, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

We thank you for taking your time to give us feedback on TripAdvisor, we would like to let you know that we do take this feedback seriously. I have gone through the feedback with the kitchen team here at the Maslow and I can assure you that we have addressed your concerns. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Anita Munetsi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We were moved to the Maslow by the DaVinci Hotel when we needed to extend our stay in Johannesburg but the DaVinci was fully booked. The style of the two hotels is quite similar. A black and white / black and silver theme. The room at the Maslow was smaller than the DaVinci, but it was less expensive too. The set up of the bathroom had some matters of form over function (one of our pet peeves in modern or trendy hotels) ie, no place to put your hand towel near the sink. The towel rack was inside the shower stall. That said, the shower itself was wonderful. One of the biggest rainheads we have ever used.
The breakfast was good and we were very impressed when they found us some gluten free bread for my husband who is wheat intolerant. The staff were friendly and the manager was particularly excited about his hotel. We had a chat with him one evening and then found a gift from him later in our room.
After staying at the DaVinci with its incredibly convenient location connected to Sandton Square and Sandton city, the Maslow was certainly less convenient, but they try hard to make up for it with a free shuttle service between the hotel and the shopping centre.
The lounge areas on the main floor are spacious and well laid out. this was a plus over the DaVinci. Also, we had a small lunch one day in the restaurant and had the beet salad. We both were very pleasantly surprised with the quality and presentation of the food. The dish was definitely Paris restaurant quality (and we go to Paris frequently).
Overall, a very pleasant experience, if not as convenient as the DaVinci.

Room Tip: We were in room 221. It overlooked the bar and the lovely pool. There was some minimal bar noise but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oneworld19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita M, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

We are pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us. Thank you for your valuable review, we have noted your comment regarding the bathroom. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Maslow in the near future.

Kind regards
Anita Munetsi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fujairah, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

we were there for 03 nights on first week of sep. for BB basis. good rooms.break fast is great and good service as well.had few hiccups with wake up calls for 02 mornings.but overall enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCPRASAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita M, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the positive feedback. You are always welcome back at the Maslow.

Kind regards
Anita Munetsi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I always debate between in Sandton for convenience or elsewhere for style and finally there is someplace that is both! Room was lovely - but what really sets the Maslow apart is the bar, dining room, lounge area. The bar is a great place to meet friends, people watch, enjoy sundowners, etc. The area for breakfast is bright, lovely and a nice breakfast. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anneel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita M, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your valuable review on TripAdvisor. It is great to see that we managed to live up to your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Anita Munetsi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
2 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2013

That is a very good place to stay in Johannesburg area.
Luxury all over the place. It was very clean, Maslow is highly recommended for business trip because there are a lot of conference rooms and so on, the food was very good
but staff was not that kind.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBlocher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita M, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

We are pleased to hear that you had an excellent stay with us and thank you for your great review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Maslow.

Kind regards
Anita Munetsi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.2 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#14 of 48 in Sandton
1,287 reviews
0.7 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 48 in Sandton
933 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 48 in Sandton
865 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maslow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maslow

Property: The Maslow
Address: Corner Grayston Drive & Rivonia Road, Sandton 2031, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Maslow 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maslow is the ultimate new business hotel in Sandton providing an environment where individuals can reach their full potential by having the facilities, technology and intelligence in place to facilitate business. Situated in the heart of Sandton's business district, home to top investment banks, financial institutions, the Gautrain station and the Johannesburg Stock Exchange, The Maslow offers some of the best corporate facilities in Sandton, including complimentary high speed internet access throughout the hotel, 13 meeting rooms, conference centre with multi-divisible ballroom and auditorium, techno gym and an Africology Spa. The Maslow hotel offers a complimentary scheduled return transfer service every 30 minutes to the Gautrain Station and Sandton City. Guests may also make use of the Maslow's private chauffeur service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Maslow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Maslow Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing