We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Bliss!”
Review of The Maslow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Maslow
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wedding Bliss!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

In over 30 years of international business travel, we have to say that the Maslow Hotel is the best hotel we have stayed at. The standard rooms are very well appointed and the executive suites are more like luxury apartments than hotel rooms. The service is first class - from the time you arrive at the front door to check-in, to being shown to your room, and including the dining and bar experiences. Room service and the special touches of complimentary wine and snacks on arrival on our private balcony was special.

What sets the Maslow apart from all other hotels is the sincerity of its staff - we felt like royalty during our stay. All the staff knew our names and the purpose of our visit which made the experience especially enjoyable. They went out of their way to make our stay memorable. The Maslow is a 7 star experience!

Here's where the review shows what an incredible team the Maslow employs. We arrived from Australia for the wedding of our daughter. Due to last minute changes, my wife and I needed to move the wedding and reception 600km to Johannesburg.

We called the Maslow only 8 days prior to the event. In 2 and a half days, with only telephone calls and emails, the Maslow had organised accommodation for ourselves, international guests, my daughter, and then the bride and groom in a honeymoon suite. The Maslow organised a stunning private reception area, a special 'to order' menu for the wedding party, and their pastry chef prepared a beautiful two tier wedding cake that could have graced the cover of Bride Magazine.

The Maslow organised luxury wedding cars fully trimmed with ribbons and balloons. They also recommended top notch make-up and hair artists and florist. They even organised limousine pick-up and drop-off at O.R. Tambo Airport.

The gardens and pool at the Maslow were picture perfect. The Maslow staff organised access to the grounds for wedding photos. The shoot was amazing and the professional photographer loved the setting.

The private dining room boasted a stunning verandah that opened onto the gardens. The Maslow set out candles and flame heaters to create the perfect mood. The food was magnificent as was the service by the wait staff.

We were told by the bride and groom that when they arrived at their suite there was champagne on ice and a beautiful array of appetisers awaiting them. As a special touch, the Maslow staff had delicately strewn rose petals at the entrance way and throughout the suite.

We found especially touching that when our daughter left the hotel for the church, the staff came out and offering her a traditional wedding blessing by ululating (trilling of voices) as she walked to the car. At this point we knew that the Maslow staff felt more like family to us than just a first class hotel.

Not wishing to ruin a beautiful story with money, but some reading this will wonder at the cost. All I can say is that the entire cost was 25% of a typical wedding in Australia. Even with the favourable exchange rate, we found that the Maslow pricing was modest compared to the level of service and facilities that were offered. The value for money is the best we have ever experienced.

This is a truly amazing hotel. Whether an overnight stay transiting through Johannesburg, a visit to Johannesburg, or an amazing function with no notice pre-planning, in our opinion there is no better hotel than the Maslow. As we said previously, the factor that makes the Maslow stand out is the sincerity and friendliness of their staff. It's like no other hotel we have ever stayed at. The Maslow comes with our highest recommendation and our deep and sincere thanks for making our daughter's wedding a very special day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita M, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, we are deeply touched by your review. It was a great honour for us to be part of such a memorable occasion. Please do let us know when next you plan to travel to South Africa and we will be delighted to arrange your accomodation for you at the Maslow. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Kind regards
Anita Munetsi
Customer Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    300
    74
    23
    16
See reviews for
69
178
35
415
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Thank you to everyone at The Maslow! I can definitely recommend the hotel for corporate events! Everyone ensured that our evening was a huge success :) From the GM to the events co-ordinator, thanks. The evening went by without any problems. This shows thatthe staff were prepared for my event. The food was of exexceptional quality - thanks to the Chef!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizma1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita M, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, thank you for your positive comments regarding the Maslow hotel. We are pleased to hear that we met your expectations in making your event a success. We appreciate your business and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Maslow soon.

Kind regards
Anita Munetsi
Customer Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I spent 7 nights at The Maslow whilst in JoBurg for a business trip. Usually i stay a little closer to the convention centre, but this was a new hotel so i thought i'd give it a try.

The hotel has been refurbished to a excellent standard, the finishing and attention to detail are as good as you would find in any 5 star hotel.

The staff were friendly, service was swift and professional. I read previous reviews about average service levels, but i'm pleased to say i couldn't fault the staff on my stay.

The ONLY thing i would pick the hotel up on is the somewhat limited choice of meals available in their room service menu. That said, the meals that were on offer were of a good standard.

The rooms have plenty of power sockets and also offer connectivity to the TV. The internet ran smoothly and without any issues. Importantly for me, the gym was well equipped.

I recommend this hotel for anyone stopping in Johannesburg.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita M, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, thank you for writing such a comprehensive review on the Maslow hotel. We do our best to always exceed guest expectations and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our Maslow Hospitality. I am pleased to inform you that we will be introducing new, more extensive menus as of next week. We hope to see you back at the Maslow in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Anita Munetsi
Customer Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHB
2 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had the pleasure of spending a night in a junior suite at The Maslow Hotel. The room itself is beautifully finished, modern, new, spacious and spotless. The evening turndown, gown and chocolate is luxurious. The location is perfect, close to all nightlife and restaurants. The staff were friendly, welcoming and the service was very professional. Breakfast was a treat, all told, I loved my stay and will be back to try out the spa (after having had a guided tour of the facility)- I cannot wait! Thanks for a wonderful evening and keep up the good work.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita M, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, thank you for your excellent review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We will always strive to make our guests’ stay memorable. The Maslow team looks forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Anita Munetsi
Customer Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2013

To The Maslow Staff

I would just like to thank all management and staff at the Maslow for Out of this WORLD service and friendliness. What a pleasure spending a weekend with you guys, you made me and my four girlfriends feel like we where royalty - from reception to the cleaners to the floor staff, all the way up to management - Thank you and KEEP IT UP GUYS. So for all the ladies out there, feeling weary and drawn - trust me, The Maslow is the place to recuperate.

Room Tip: "Corner suites are large and sunny"
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita M, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, we are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay and thank you for your feedback. We strive to treat all our guests like royalty and we are pleased to hear that we did just that. The Maslow team looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Anita Munetsi
Customer Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The recently opened Maslow Hotel is absolutely magnificent to the eye however the service is beyond appalling. It is sad that a hotel with such potential is being ruined by staff who either have not be trained or simply do not care. I have not stayed in the hotel but have visited it on several occassions with friends. On the last visit we literally had to beg to be served at the almost empty bar / lounge and when we were eventually served, we had to check on our order at least three times. When the coffee eventually arrived after 45 minutes it was cold and awful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita M, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, thank you for your feedback, we do appreciate it. I am sorry to hear that the service was not up to standard, we have since addressed your concerns and we can assure you that you will get excellent service on your next visit.

Kind regards
Anita Munetsi
Customer Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2013

What a pleasant surprise. All staff members were very professional, friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The food was delicious and the rooms very neat. A stay that will always be remembered. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Corner suites are more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cara v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita M, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, thank you for your review, your comments are appreciated. I have shared your feedback with the Maslow team, we are pleased that we were able to make your stay memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Anita Munetsi
Customer Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.2 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#14 of 48 in Sandton
1,287 reviews
0.7 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 48 in Sandton
933 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 48 in Sandton
866 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maslow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maslow

Property: The Maslow
Address: Corner Grayston Drive & Rivonia Road, Sandton 2031, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Maslow 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maslow is the ultimate new business hotel in Sandton providing an environment where individuals can reach their full potential by having the facilities, technology and intelligence in place to facilitate business. Situated in the heart of Sandton's business district, home to top investment banks, financial institutions, the Gautrain station and the Johannesburg Stock Exchange, The Maslow offers some of the best corporate facilities in Sandton, including complimentary high speed internet access throughout the hotel, 13 meeting rooms, conference centre with multi-divisible ballroom and auditorium, techno gym and an Africology Spa. The Maslow hotel offers a complimentary scheduled return transfer service every 30 minutes to the Gautrain Station and Sandton City. Guests may also make use of the Maslow's private chauffeur service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Maslow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Maslow Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing