We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Maslow
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I enjoyed this hotel and the buffet breakfast. The room card is required to use the elevator and power up your room. The hotel is in a good and safe location with nice views of the city. The hotel was recently gone through a renovation and the room I stayed in had a few issues. The sink drain did not function properly, the shower door was not formed properly and leaked water on the floor and the rooms were a bit small. I am sure that in time they would correct these issues. The room did have a very large TV and many channels. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edwin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johan S, General Manager at The Maslow, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconveniences caused by the maintenance issues in the room. These are being addressed and I am sorry that they were not done so prior to you arriving. I am glad that you will give us a chance to redeem ourselves to leave you with a better impression of the Maslow on your next visit, and I look forward to welcoming you back personally.
Warm regards,
Yash Jithoo I Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (879)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

690 - 696 of 879 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed at the Maslow in February from the for four nights, the design of the hotel and rooms were amazing , we had a brief initial unpleasant encounter with one of the receptionists upon check-in however the GM came through and thereafter everything was nothing short of amazing.We loved their breakfast spread and presentation of food even from their Room Service department was wonderful loads of kudos to the Food and Beverage team. I especially enjoyed the fact that there was free wifi and there were plugs everywhere even in the lounges and this made our work much easier. The staff was very gracious,friendly and kind , challenges were swiftly addressed. Though i did not get to use their Spa it had a beautiful serene ambiance and the ladies there were very informative. There also had a complimentary shuttle that went back and forth to sandton mall and the gautrain. Wonderful stay will definetly stay there again.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 425 , everything was immaculate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nelsy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johan S, General Manager at The Maslow, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Valued Guest, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the feedback. We have managed to settle down into routines since your visit in February and staff have become much more confident and knowledgeable now that we have been trading for almost 5 months. We will always do our best to keep our staff guest centric and keep on trying to improve every day. I have shared your feedback with the team and we are truly appreciative. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Warm Regards,
Yash Jithoo I Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed with our family in the Maslow Hotel end of April (27th) .
The design is amazing, the rooms are fabulous, same as the different lounges and restaurant areas and the (heated!) outdoor pool.
Breakfast is outstanding with all sorts of muffins, scones, bread and savory pies.
The beautifull Africology Spa received a reward last week "World Luxury Spa Award 2013"
Staff was very friendly.
Unfortunately the gentleman at the reception that checked us in must have been rather new as it took him 30 mins to check us in. After an 11 hour flight with a very late arrival at the hotel, this was a bit of a disappointment. And I hope the hotel sign on the road will be up soon (I know the approval might take long) we just could not find the hotel when we arrived late a night.
Over all very very good, we enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: Take a morning dip in the heated swimming pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johan S, General Manager at The Maslow, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for your honest feedback and constructive comments regarding your stay. I am sorry that your check in was not efficient and this will be addressed. Our signage is under construction and should be finished shortly, but I thank you for letting me know of your experience. We grow from strength to strength every day and promise you an even better experience on your next visit, where I hope to welcome you personally. Warm Regards,
Yash Jithoo I Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This modern newly refurbished contemporary hotel in the heart of Sandton is a safe haven home away from home. Nothing is too much effort for any of the very attentive well groomed, warm friendly and loving staff. Everyone has a smile and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are spacious with all modern coffee machines, most comfortable beds, pillows etc. The Mazlow has a beautiful Lacuna Bar with cocktails and tapas and birds tweeting in the trees- which is so relaxing baring in mind one cannot hear the traffic passing by. We had the fortunate experience of being transported to and from functions in and around Johanessburg and all in total luxury and as I was with my family felt at all times safe and secure.
I am so excited that Sun International have waved their magic wand on this very central hotel and can highly recommend staying here. An added bonus the Africology Spa which is highly rated.
This hotel looks after all ones needs in the hierarchy of Mazlow and I can highly recommend that you will have an awesome stay.
A great experience - nothing is too much trouble.
Enjoy and have a happy stay. Thanks very much to Yash and his team xxx

Room Tip: We had an interleading room which was so spacious for my whole family
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbieCollinsMcleod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johan S, General Manager at The Maslow, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Valued Guest, words cannot express our gratitude to you for taking the time to pen such a comprehensive review. Thank you so much. We do our best to always exceed guest expectations and I am glad that you and your family enjoyed our Maslow Hospitality. You will always have and home here and we keenly await your next stay with us.
Warm Regards,
Yash Jithoo I Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

What a great experience! The hotel was beautiful and modern. The food at the restaurant and for our conference was amazing. The customer service was super efficient. The phone in my room had some issues, but the front desk sent someone from IT immediately. I would definitely stay here again. The gym looked nice though I never used it but walked right on past it to the spa for an amazing pedicure. Would definitely recommend this from conferences and come back here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ankazobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johan S, Manager at The Maslow, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Valued Guest, we are humbled by review and the team and I thank you graciously. We really do try and promote a culture of efficiency and I am glad that we met your expectations. Please do not hesitate to contact us should we be able to assist you in the future, you are always welcome back at The Maslow.
Warm Regards,
Yash Jithoo I Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I had the most wonderful experience at the Maslow, not only are the new rooms chic clean and modern.... This Hotel deserves excellent ratings because of the staff. From Lebo who was always willing to shuttle me around to Dumikazi (and Lebo) who assisted me in finding a lost file. Carmine and Sifiso and the team at dinner, so incredibly professional and friendly. I really was sad to leave just because it felt like I had made new friends! Thanks to everyone for making my trip away from home a truly comfortable one. Good luck for the future you will certainly see me again!!! Hazel x

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johan S, Manager at The Maslow, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Valued Guest, thank you very much for your kind review. I am glad that our staff made you feel comfortable and at home here at the Maslow. We greatly appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back to the Maslow on your next visit.
Warm Regards,
Yash Jithoo I Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed here for a week. The rooms were spacious, and had everything a person could need. The bathrooms were large and comfortable. I was surprised at how few satellite/cable channels there were, and the internet ('Always On') was very irritating in how difficult it was to get it to work. It should be called 'Always Off'. The staff were the best thing about the hotel - lovely, warm friendly, couldn’t do enough to make guests happy. The other lovely thing about the hotel was the gardens and pool - lovely spaces. The hotel could do with getting more comfortable lounge furniture in the bar area. Double-glazed windows might also be a good idea, as the constant drone of traffic spoiled the ambiance of the rooms. I was very happy with the shuttle service, anywhere within 5km of the hotel, free of charge, any time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dion_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThistleGM, Manager at The Maslow, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and comments on Tripadvisor. Your frustrations regarding the wi-fi connectivity and stability have been noted and I have escalated this matter for a better solution. Thank you for the encouraging comments about our staff – I have shared this with them and they are extremely grateful. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Warm regards,
Yash Jithoo I Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 47 in Sandton
1,388 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.7 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
#11 of 47 in Sandton
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.6 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 47 in Sandton
998 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maslow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maslow

Address: Corner Grayston Drive & Rivonia Road, Sandton 2031, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range: $114 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Maslow 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maslow is the ultimate new business hotel in Sandton providing an environment where individuals can reach their full potential by having the facilities, technology and intelligence in place to facilitate business. Situated in the heart of Sandton's business district, home to top investment banks, financial institutions, the Gautrain station and the Johannesburg Stock Exchange, The Maslow offers some of the best corporate facilities in Sandton, including complimentary high speed internet access throughout the hotel, 13 meeting rooms, conference centre with multi-divisible ballroom and auditorium, techno gym and an Africology Spa. The Maslow hotel offers a complimentary scheduled return transfer service every 30 minutes to the Gautrain Station and Sandton City. Guests may also make use of the Maslow's private chauffeur service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Maslow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Maslow Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing