We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT CHOICE FOR JOHANNESBURG STOPOVER”
Review of The Maslow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Maslow
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Maslow Hotel is situated in an excellent position in Sandton - very easy to access from OR Tambo airport via Gautrain. Walking distance to Sandton City which has fantastic shopping and dining facilities.
The Maslow is very modern & funky but with an intimate feel. Rooms are very tasteful, roomy, & beds very comfortable.
Fantastic Breakfast.......suitable for business and leisure travellers.
I will definitely return here.....

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johan S, General Manager at The Maslow, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for the positive feedback and recommendations, we are delighted to learn that The Maslow team delivered on your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Maslow in the very near future
Kind Regards
Johan and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (901)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

732 - 738 of 901 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

outstanding hotel........a bit away from the convention centre but has regular shuttles......its brand new and has some amazing rooms, a brilliant bar and breakfast area, pools , it feels like a resort in the heart of the city..........absolutely perfect place to stay away from the buzz and yet in the heart and amidst all greenery

Room Tip: superb rooms and please take your partner along to a hotel like this on your work trips
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AjayChhabria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melany_vaughan, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2015

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and had the chance to soak in the Maslow scenery. We hope that you come to relax again with us soon.

Kind Regards,
Melany Vaughan,
Customer Relations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The Maslow well named as it is all about attenting to your needs at every level.
I have only good things to say about this hotel. I spend 50% of my time in hotels and this is one of those where the service excellence is about the best it could be.
My bias is a 5 week stay that has just got better and better and if you give them feedback you get a solution. I want this place to succeed as it means I'll have a home from home every time I return to J'Burg.
I did give very direct feedback on day one (before they knew how long I was going to extend my stay) they could have claimed the issues were to do with being a brand new establishment but that was reason to do things better not to use as an excuse.

Here's what to look out for:

It's a very new hotel and now they have their rhythm the care and concern to put anything right by Johan, the GM and Yash his Hotel Manager are beyond even my pedantic expectations.
And Yes, you do get to know everyones name after 5 weeks so I'll tell you who to look out for.

The Concierge desk is a MUST to stop at, Lizelle and Lyn and their team greet you on arrival and smooth the passage of your day and no request is too much to ask. All their team are reactive and eager to support you.
I was even able to ask them to help me out when I had left to fly to Port Elizabeth, Lyn kept in touch until my issue was resolved. Lyn's smile alone is worth returning to the desk multiple times for.

Chef Dallas's restaurant is so welcoming and even made me a "take out" Bobotie (?) for dinner at friends house. The menu is exciting, the Ribs are a delicious. Crayfish Benedict for breakfast and Cheese Choux Buns for bar snacks. Get a table outside if you can or watch them at work from the bar.

I have extended my stay as the Maslow my creature comforts are taken care of (the heirachy of needs in case you haven't figured this out) Camien in the restaurant has my Chai tea ready every morning as soon as I walk in.
The selection of bread and pastries is bewildering, the Quiche with quivering custard cooked to perfection is a must, as good as any in France, but three to choose from everyday. I ask for Emanuel to serve me but in truth they all are so keen to help.
The bar setting is more resort hotel than Sandton City, the pool is lovely and the buzz is cool and hip, it reminds me of The Gansevoort in Meatpacking, New York. George and his bar staff are always find you a seat, attentive and the guys can make Dry Martini superbly.

We ran a series of events back to back for 5 weeks and Patrick in F&B and Alana in Conferencing seems to anticipate our needs before we do reacting to any requst with a positive let's make this happen approach.

The bed rooms are well thought out (get a balcony and a suite if you can) but they are such a good size and well equipped it won't really matter.

Shuttle service to Sandton City and Nelson Mandela Square and they are there when they say they will be.

Somethings could happen quicker and I am never slow to complain but that just makes it better for all of us if we demand perfection.

Room Tip: The bed rooms are well thought out (get a balcony and a suite if you can) but they are such a good s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johan S, General Manager at The Maslow, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for making the time to write about your experience at The Maslow, and thank you for your detailed review. The Maslow team is working hard to deliver on our well defined customer value proposition and constructive feedback and recognition motivates the team to no end, your comments are much appreciated. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Maslow in the very near future.
Kind regards
Johan and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed here within 2 weeks of it opening, wonderful experience & a very cool hotel.

PROs
1. superb features (check-in lounge a great idea)
2. helpful & charming stuff
3. great poolside verandah (sunbeds actually fitted-in pool!)
4. stylish rooms.
5. Excellent location, walking distance of Sandton city, Nelson Mandela square etc.

CONs - non obvious

SUGGESTIONS - bacon should be readily available for breakfast (rather than having to ask for it). However, as is typical of the wonderful service, they brought a plateful to our table!

Room Tip: Try to stay close to lifts (it's a big hotel with many rooms)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johan S, General Manager at The Maslow, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at The Maslow Hotel and for the positive feedback. I will share your comments with the entire team who will be delighted to learn that we met your expectations. I am looking forward to welcoming you back to The Maslow Hotel in the very near future
Regards
Johan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

staying in this notel was such a dreamtime for me ! the people inside were extremely kind and helpful. The hotel staff was always at our disposal. Rooms are quite spacious and always clean.a safe box is availble inthere. The breakfast is very various and rich along with an outstanding view on the pool and the grass. The Laguna bar is also an interesting place to relax and chat with friends and people. The hotel is very well located. 10 mn from Nelson Mandela Square and 5 mn from different malls and shopping centers.

Highly Recommended !

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charaf K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melany_vaughan, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2015

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of the Maslow. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time here with us, and found the staff friendly as well as helpful, and that you enjoyed your meals in Lacuna Bistro.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Melany Vaughan,
Customer Relations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Met a client for a drink a snack at the Maslow this week.

Decor is great and the outdoor lounge/bar is fantastic. Nice and fancy and revamped. Very relaxing and vibey.

Unfortunately the service was disastrous and the food even worse than the service.

For R55.00 I ordered what was described as a mozzarella sandwich. It took over an hour to arrive and what arrived was a rock hard toasted roll with a few tony pieces of cheese and a few strands of sun-dried tomato. We complained and they took another 30 minutes to return another rock hard sandwhich. This time with a bit of relish and a lettuce leaf. Of all the hotels I have stayed at or visited, this was the worst hotel sandwich I have ever had. It definitely did not satisfy my hierarchy of needs. Maslow would have been disappointed.

The service was also pretty disastrous which was surprising for a hotel catering for Joburg's business elite.

If this is an example of the food and service at Maslow, visitors should be warned!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Nathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johan S, General Manager at The Maslow, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Lacuna. I have discussed your comments with Chef Dallas who takes all feedback very seriously and we have addressed the matters raised. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Maslow and to restore your faith in Lacuna restaurant.
Kind regards
Johan and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Hotel is very new and they are still working out some minor kinks. The rooms are nice, with a modern feel and are very clean. The service is excellent and the people were very nice throughout. They offer free driving service, which is great and the wifi is free. The concierge, Lynn was wonderful and was extremely helpful and knowledgeable. Is in a good location, close to everything in Sandton. Went swimming in the pool, which was also quite nice. Highly recommended--thanks!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doberman32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melany_vaughan, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2015

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review of the Maslow. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here, and found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We are glad you had the time to enjoy the pool, and relax while on your trip.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Melany Vaughan,
Customer Relations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 47 in Sandton
1,428 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.7 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.6 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 47 in Sandton
1,012 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maslow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maslow

Address: Corner Grayston Drive & Rivonia Road, Sandton 2031, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range: $138 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Maslow 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maslow is the ultimate new business hotel in Sandton providing an environment where individuals can reach their full potential by having the facilities, technology and intelligence in place to facilitate business. Situated in the heart of Sandton's business district, home to top investment banks, financial institutions, the Gautrain station and the Johannesburg Stock Exchange, The Maslow offers some of the best corporate facilities in Sandton, including complimentary high speed internet access throughout the hotel, 13 meeting rooms, conference centre with multi-divisible ballroom and auditorium, techno gym and an Africology Spa. The Maslow hotel offers a complimentary scheduled return transfer service every 30 minutes to the Gautrain Station and Sandton City. Guests may also make use of the Maslow's private chauffeur service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Maslow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Maslow Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing