We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“What a wonderful place !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Maslow

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Maslow
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Constantine, Constantine, Algeria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a wonderful place !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

staying in this notel was such a dreamtime for me ! the people inside were extremely kind and helpful. The hotel staff was always at our disposal. Rooms are quite spacious and always clean.a safe box is availble inthere. The breakfast is very various and rich along with an outstanding view on the pool and the grass. The Laguna bar is also an interesting place to relax and chat with friends and people. The hotel is very well located. 10 mn from Nelson Mandela Square and 5 mn from different malls and shopping centers.

Highly Recommended !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charaf K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melany_vaughan, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this review, January 29, 2015
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of the Maslow. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time here with us, and found the staff friendly as well as helpful, and that you enjoyed your meals in Lacuna Bistro.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Melany Vaughan,
Customer Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    219
    56
    20
    10
See reviews for
52
136
29
330
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
174 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Met a client for a drink a snack at the Maslow this week.

Decor is great and the outdoor lounge/bar is fantastic. Nice and fancy and revamped. Very relaxing and vibey.

Unfortunately the service was disastrous and the food even worse than the service.

For R55.00 I ordered what was described as a mozzarella sandwich. It took over an hour to arrive and what arrived was a rock hard toasted roll with a few tony pieces of cheese and a few strands of sun-dried tomato. We complained and they took another 30 minutes to return another rock hard sandwhich. This time with a bit of relish and a lettuce leaf. Of all the hotels I have stayed at or visited, this was the worst hotel sandwich I have ever had. It definitely did not satisfy my hierarchy of needs. Maslow would have been disappointed.

The service was also pretty disastrous which was surprising for a hotel catering for Joburg's business elite.

If this is an example of the food and service at Maslow, visitors should be warned!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NATO-SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johan S, General Manager at The Maslow, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Lacuna. I have discussed your comments with Chef Dallas who takes all feedback very seriously and we have addressed the matters raised. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Maslow and to restore your faith in Lacuna restaurant.
Kind regards
Johan and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington D.C.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Hotel is very new and they are still working out some minor kinks. The rooms are nice, with a modern feel and are very clean. The service is excellent and the people were very nice throughout. They offer free driving service, which is great and the wifi is free. The concierge, Lynn was wonderful and was extremely helpful and knowledgeable. Is in a good location, close to everything in Sandton. Went swimming in the pool, which was also quite nice. Highly recommended--thanks!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doberman32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melany_vaughan, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this review, January 29, 2015
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review of the Maslow. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here, and found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We are glad you had the time to enjoy the pool, and relax while on your trip.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Melany Vaughan,
Customer Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The new Sun International hotel holds a lot of promise. It changes the landscape of what a hotel should be offering to business clients. The garden, bar and restaurant reflects the best there is of a City Hotel. Truly an oasis in the center of Sandton. It will not be long before there will only be standing room on a Friday afternoon! The tour-de-force however is the seminar rooms. The hotel now has the best small conference/seminar space in the country... by far!

The innovative early arrival lounge is a great addition.

The menu is innovative and the deserts must be the best in the country. It is a MUST. Once the settling in pains are gone it will be an excellent dining experience. The rooms are for Business people. Functional and focused without not too many frills.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The-taste-bud-101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melany_vaughan, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this review, January 30, 2015
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are thrilled that you found the hotel suitably catering for business guests. We do currently have awards for small conference venues and pride ourselves on our offering. Our bar is very busy, especially on Fridays, so come and enjoy a sun downer after work soon.


Kind Regards,
Melany Vaughan,
Customer Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed at the Maslow from the 17th to the 24th March. The hotel is brand new and looks very stylish. They have really gone for a modern look and feel - it has lots of open space and is pretty cool to be honest!
Staff were very helpful and provided excellent service - of note would be George the bar manager, Lynne guest service manager, Lizelle (?) head concierge and Yash the hotel manager.
there were some slight teething problems with my colleagues room - but nothing that would have spoilt the stay.
I was in room 429 - very nice suite with a living area and separate bedroom. Both rooms had flat screen TVs with a great choice of channels. The bed was very comfortable. My only gripe would be hat as the bar was below me you could hear the music playing there - and they didnt turn it off until the very early hours - i had to call to ask for it to be turned down one morning at 3.30am.
Overall this hotel has great potential.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crookedtongues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melany_vaughan, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this review, January 30, 2015
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your Maslow experience with us. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We have since change the music level and times in the bar. We are pleased that you received friendly service throughout, and hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Melany Vaughan,
Customer Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Zambia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This new Hotel is simply excellent in the heart of Sandton! The ambiance is great the rooms world class and surely anyone who steps in will fall in love with the property. I recommend it strongly. Sun international keep it up.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kafula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melany_vaughan, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this review, January 30, 2015
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your love-filled review of the Maslow. We are always pleased to hear what our guests think of the hotel, and our offerings.
We hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Melany Vaughan,
Customer Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The old Southern Sun Grayston hotel has been smartly refurbished and restyled as the Maslow Hotel. Looks fantastic and the pool deck and terrace will be great in summer. Unfortunately the service was slow, the first few wines selected were not available and the food did not live up to the promise of the well priced and varied menu. The bread served before the meal was hard - however a further plate was served later with fresh bread. I suspect that these are opening glitches of a new restaurant - hope so, as we would like to return.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PeterAucamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melany_vaughan, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this review, January 30, 2015
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review of the Maslow. We value guest feedback, as we can only learn and grow from it. We hope to welcome you back soon, so that you may see the changes that have taken place since opening.

Kind Regards,
Melany Vaughan,
Customer Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.5 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 48 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 stars 756 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
0.6 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maslow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maslow

Property: The Maslow
Address: Corner Grayston Drive & Rivonia Road, Sandton 2031, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Maslow 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maslow is the ultimate new business hotel in Sandton providing an environment where individuals can reach their full potential by having the facilities, technology and intelligence in place to facilitate business. Situated in the heart of Sandton's business district, home to top investment banks, financial institutions, the Gautrain station and the Johannesburg Stock Exchange, The Maslow offers some of the best corporate facilities in Sandton, including complimentary high speed internet access throughout the hotel, 13 meeting rooms, conference centre with multi-divisible ballroom and auditorium, techno gym and an Africology Spa. The Maslow hotel offers a complimentary scheduled return transfer service every 30 minutes to the Gautrain Station and Sandton City. Guests may also make use of the Maslow's private chauffeur service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Maslow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Maslow Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing