We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice hotel, great location but pricey. ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers to your Saves list
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Maude & Fifth Streets, Sandton 2146, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Harare
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel, great location but pricey. ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

We travelled to Johannesburg during the Easter weekend 2014. We travel frequently to the Sandton area and normally stay in this hotel or in the next door Sandton Sun. The Intercontinental is conveniently adjourned to the upmarket mall Sandton city and Nelson Mandela square. The hotel ticks all the boxes for a five star. However one complaint is that although the hotel was not that busy, there was no Easter Special or special rates. It is fairly pricey considering that it looked to be quiet. However I highly recommend this hotel and will definitely be back.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RinxZim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and your comment concerning special rates over Easter has been noted. However, despite this I am pleased that you enjoyed your weekend stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    185
    52
    21
    5
See reviews for
39
90
36
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shelburne Falls, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
119 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This Intercon gives you what you'd expect from the brand - nicely appointed rooms with plenty of space, an attentive and friendly staff, etc. The club area was a bit disappointing though compared to other hotels within the brand that I've stayed at. Good location, with plenty of good restaurant and bar options within a 5 minute walk.
Concierge staff was outstanding. Helped me line up activities, asked what types of things I was interested in, and then made suggestions based on the type of travel I like.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank solarchem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to list your comments and I am sorry to hear that our Club Floor was disappointing compared with other hotels within the brand. However, I am delighted that the Concierge staff gave you great service, as it is something that our staff takes pride in and we greatly value your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for one night with my partner. It's just up the street from where we live but we just wanted to get away. I liked the room we were in and the bathroom too but it wasn't amazing. We ordered room service and I can't say I enjoyed the food. The breakfast buffet was average. Overall I might choose a different hotel in the area for this type of experience.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank prettybird17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you had a less than pleasant experience with room service, the food in general and the breakfast buffet and regret that this impacted on your stay, as we have just launched new menus in the hotel. However, I do trust that I will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again for a more than "ok" experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Had a car arranged via the hotel, driver was waiting when I got to the arrivals hall, cost around £45, well worth it especially considering early morning arrival. Quick and efficient check in despite arriving early on a Sunday. Room was excellent, quiet, comfortable, clean and included a dvd player, a coffee machine and an ipod dock...superb. Bed was first rate, shower was excellent. All staff were very polite, friendly and helpful. I stayed 6 nights and can't fault anything. Food was very good and not overpriced. Also arranged a car via hotel for return trip to airport, which was there right on time. All in all an excellent stay. Thanks to all at the hotel and well done

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for the review of our hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you received good service, as it something our staff takes great pride in, so we greatly value your feedback. I do trust that I will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The Intercontinental Sandton is an excellent choice for those visiting Johannesburg. This hotel is located in the best tourist area of Johannesburg and I highly recommend this property. The hotel is right across the road from Nelson Mandela Square which provides numerous shopping and dining choices.
The rooms I viewed were clean, well kept and what you would expect from this calibre of hotel. My room was superb. The bed was very comfortable and the bedding appeared to be virtually new. The rooms are all equipped with Nespresso machines and a variety of coffees for the coffee junkies out there.
The gym is large and above average. It is equipped with many cardio and weight machines. The pool is located outside and near the gym.
I utilized the restaurant for breakfast each day and found the food to be excellent.
Overall I found the staff at this property, from check in to check out, to be top notch. Hotel staff and management deserve credit for their professionalism and for running a very well organized hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for your great feedback. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back again in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The lobby appeared very busy when I arrived but I was quickly helped to register and was in my room in no time. My room is well appointed and comfortable and I had a very good first night sleep, which was a pleasant surprise after flying for 18hrs.

All the staff I have encountered are very friendly and helpful and I would look forward to a return visit, given the chance.

I did a little walk-about and had fun discovering Nelson Mandela Square and the Sandton City shopping centre. All very conveniently located close to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterD11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to supply us with feedback and I am pleased that you had a good stay. However, I do look forward to welcoming you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

After recent stays at more modest venues in Tana River, Kenya, this was an absolute treat. Notwithstanding the relativity, this is an excellent hotel in every aspect.
Location, fine and creative food, luxurious rooms, friendly and attentive staff and, the most powerful shower I've come across, perhaps they only comparable parallel with some parts of the Tana River.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tanzastat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. However, I do trust that I will have the pleasure of meeting you on your next visit?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.2 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 48 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 stars 749 reviews
0.1 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 48 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 stars 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Maslow
The Maslow
#5 of 48 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 stars 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers

Property: InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
Address: Corner Maude & Fifth Streets, Sandton 2146, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sandton
#3 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers 5*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the safe hub of Sandton, Johannesburg with direct access to: shopping malls, Sandton Convention Centre, Food, Wine and excursions. Perfect for business of leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, IHG, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers Hotel Sandton
Intercontinental Johannesburg Sandton Hotel
Intercontinental Sandton
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing