We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“a good stay for business travel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a good stay for business travel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The InterConti was great for a quick stay in Joburg. The room I had on the 12th floor was very large, the bed was supremely comfortable with crisp high quality sheets. As a business traveler, I appreciate ample power outlets (and ones that fit ZA, US, UK and EU plugs!) at the in room desk. Bathroom was large, great shower pressure. Ample hangers in the closet. The decor is neutral and crisp if a little dated - lots of heavy brown/ black marble.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmcgd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
As a business traveller, it's good to hear that we catered for all your needs during your short stay at the Towers. With best wishes, Josiah Montsho, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    196
    55
    22
    5
See reviews for
40
96
39
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

First impression upon arrival was WOW, look up and up and all you see is 28 floors but the design is what blows you away, Glass elevators take you up the floors enabling you to take in all the different elements of this hotel. We stayed in a Executive Club rooms which had aprivate check in area and once again the staff if Intercontinental did everything in their power to make our stay as enjoyable as possible.
Quick and efficient check in/out.
The room we had at first was amazing but came with a leaking toilet. management were quick to rectify and had us moved into another room and could not apologise enough. Even comped us dinner and drinks for the embarrassing issue.

The executive club rooms are great value, very spacious rooms, great flat screen tv, in excess of 70 channels, beautiful views of Johannesburg, free bottle of wine, turn down service,2 private lounges to relax in, complimentary breakfast in either the lounges or for a better choice go down to the Atrium restaurant on the ground floor, its still complimentary. In the afternoon free selection of drinks and nibbles are provided. Wi-Fi is provided in room, complimentary

Amazing pool and gym area. This hotel is in a great location, not far from the airport but far enough and close enough to the CBD.

The hotel is linked via a skywalk to Sandton City shopping centre which has an array of shops from hi end to the standard shops. Its a bit of a hike finding your way to the ectual shops the first time but once you get there its easier to find your way back. Good place to shop also.

Apparently the skywalk also takes you into a dining area full of various resturants but we did not find it, our driver told us as we were taken to the hotel.

The management of this hotel ensure all your needs are met and we were thankful for their quick actions to rectify our problem on the first night.

Yes we will return to this Hotel if we can get back to South Africa one day.

While we stayed here we went to Soweto and toured Mandela's house and the Museum showing the history of the uprising. Something I hadn't thought about much but pleased I learnt more.

We also went to a shooting range, great day out, we were taken to Gutheries shooting range and had a terrific time. We also used Josh's tours/transport, apparently they do all of the work for the Intercontinental in Johannesburg, as we were told it's not safe to catch public transport etc. The transport was like new, very pleasant driver pointing out facts etc as we were being driven around so highly recommend Josh's.

Room Tip: If its in your budget try the Club floor rooms. We started on 28th floor and finished on the 27th fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for your concise and positive feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to South Africa and more specifically to the Club Floor at the hotel. With best wishes for 2013, Josiah Montsho, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I needed to rest and shop a bit in a quiet and secure environment after some extremely busy weeks. The suite I was allocated was not only spacious but relaxing with the view of north of Johannesburg which at night is captivating.
The hotel is linked to the mall and right opposite to Mandela Square with a variety of restaurants. The lounges are well stocked and are ideal for rendez-vous with fellow guest.
Service is great and with room amenities nicely placed.

Will not hesitate to recommend the hotel for travelers wishing to shop and relax in Sandton.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Berry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
It's wonderful to hear that your weekendstay in Sandton was all that you expected and I do hope that I'll have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in 2013. Best wishes, Josiah Montsho, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff, uk
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The Intercontinental is located in the middle of Sandton and is walking distance to the main shopping mall and Mandela Square where there is a good selection of restaurants. Service at the hotel is always great and it has free wifi available for guests. The rooms are well appointed and the showers are some of the best I have used in a business hotel. The hotel restaurants is fine for the occasional meal and breakfast however bring a jacket/jumper with you as it does get very cold in the air conditioning especially near the big fish pond. The hotel gym is well appointed and there is a small outdoor pool and sun deck which is a pleasant place to relax. The hotel arranges pick-up from the airport by car although on my last trip it seemed a lot more money than usual. This is my favourite hotel in Sandton.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilko51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
I'm delighted to hear that you had a good stay and I look forward to welcoming you back to your "favourite hotel" in 2013. Best wishes, Josiah Montsho, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We booked this hotel for a night solely to be positioned in Sandton to do some shopping after 3 weeks of being on safari in Kenya and Tanzania and because we had 24hours before our flight home. It suited our purpose perfectly - it has a covered walkway to Sandton Shopping Centre and is only a few hundred metres away. We stayed on the club floor and the breakfast was great - not being a big breakfast eater i hate paying for the big buffet breakfasts in hotels when I only peck at a few things, so this facility was perfectly suited for me. If you want a big selection of breakfast fare though you would need to go down to the main restaurant. I liked the lounge in this hotel - whereas at other hotels the club lounges can become too overcrowded - this is small and intimate. The room was everything you would expect of an intercontinental. The bathroom is huge - with full bath and separate shower which was divine! The rain shower head and water flow is perfect. Great amenities by Molton Brown are provided and you also get sound from the TV/Stereo system in the bathroom. The room also had a Bose ipod sound dock which is a great feature to have - we just didn't get the time to use it. The staff are extremely pleasant and efficient. We booked transfer pickups both ways and they showed up on time. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milkythemouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay on our Club Floor from the breakfast, to the room and the staff and, of course, the nearby shopping! Best wishes for 2013 and I trust that I'll have the pleasure of welocming you back to the Towers again this year. Kind regards, Josiah Montsho, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Good Business hotel, this is a good business hotel with excellent connection with sandton towers and Mandela sqr. Service and breakfast was average though. The room are specious and they also provide shuttle services for near by places.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madhur_Sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Glad to hear that you had a good stay and I trust that I'll have the pleasure of welcoming you back in 2013. Josiah Montsho, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

First, the location was very convenient for Sandton. It is attached to the Sandton Convention Centre and across the street from Nelson Mandela Square mall. You can walk through the overhead sidewalks to the Sandton hotel, the adjacent mall, and eventually on to Mandela Square if desired. There are a number of restaurants in Mandela Square. The hotel is a short shuttle ride from the Gautrain station (airport express train). Call the hotel when you arrive and they will send the shuttle – they are just around the corner but it is a bit far if you have luggage. The staff is very friendly and very service oriented. They work very hard to see that your needs are met. My room was very clean, nicely appointed with a good sized corner desk and a comfortable bed. The desk chair did not maintain its height. My room had a Bose stereo which accepts an iPhone or iPod, but mine did not work. My favorite room feature is how the closet and bath are in a separate room. You can close the door and have complete privacy for changing, etc. It is spacious as well, with a separate shower, large tub, and sink. There is a dresser, which the top serves as a luggage rack and hanging rods above. There is also a tall in room safe. On either side of the sink there are shelves – a thoughtful feature often overlooked in most hotels. The toilet is in a separate closet in this closet/lavatory. The bed was very comfortable. When I arrived, my phone did not work properly, but it was repaired when I notified the staff. I also determined that the deadbolt did not fully engage. I could see that the door frame had been broken through at one time and the repair was not properly made. The maintenance staff did “fix” the problem with the deadbolt (by cutting out the middle bar on the latch plate), but the wood frame for the latch really needed replacing. I do not think it would have held all that well.

I only ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant. They really need a chef station to offer omelets, eggs, etc., as almost any other hotel around the world has this. The buffet food selection never changed. A much better recipe for the scrambled eggs on the buffet is desperately needed. If you did not get them when they first came out of the kitchen, they were not very good. The waffles looked good, but did not taste good. They had the consistency of a cake doughnut, but frankly tasted awful. A new recipe is needed there as well. I did not try the Asian selections. I mostly ate cereal and pastries (which also needed a better selection). I did have room service once. It was delivered promptly and the food was very good. I did notice that the tip I added to my room service bill was never charged to my room bill, so I hope the staff member still received their money.

Wifi was free for me. The front desk gave me vouchers for both my phone and laptop. An annoying feature is that whenever you accessed the network on the phone after it went to sleep, you had to re-enter the password. I just saved it in a note and did a copy/paste each time. However, the network worked reasonably well. I used the laundry a few times and the hanging clothes came back in a fabric like zippered hanging bag instead of the usual plastic. I took a few of these home (with their permission, of course) and find them useful as covers for suits.

Taxis around Johannesburg were very expensive. A trip to the Apartheid museum cost $70 USD round trip.

I would stay at the hotel again, as I thought the room layout, staff, and location were terrific. The hotel needs to do a better job on the breakfast, as it kept me from even thinking about having dinner there. They also need to pay more attention to maintenance of the rooms. I should not have to inventory everything that is not in order and then make maintenance calls. These deficiencies keep me from giving them a five out of five.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tulsaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and I do trust that I'll have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Towers in 2013, Josiah Montsho, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.2 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#2 of 48 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 stars 792 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#3 of 48 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 stars 666 reviews
0.1 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.1 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers

Property: InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
Address: Corner Maude & Fifth Streets, Sandton 2146, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sandton
#3 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers 5*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the safe hub of Sandton, Johannesburg with direct access to: shopping malls, Sandton Convention Centre, Food, Wine and excursions. Perfect for business of leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers Hotel Sandton
Intercontinental Johannesburg Sandton Hotel
Intercontinental Sandton
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing