We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
Nearby Hotels
$269
$228
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$285
$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandton Sun(Sandton)
$247
$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$221
$152
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$133
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Sandton(Sandton)
$125
$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$549
$526
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$131
$125
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$222
$178
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (670)
Filter reviews
670 results
Traveler rating
321
246
69
26
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
321
246
69
26
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub flooratrium restaurantsky bridgenelson mandela squarenespresso machine in the roomgreat hotelconvention centerhotel gymroom servicerooms are largeseparate showerupgraded to a suitesandton sunmini barrestaurants and shopsthe general managerhotel staff
Filter
Updating list...
464 - 469 of 670 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is one of the best hotels I have stayed at. From the moment that you drive up to the front of the hotel, the doorman is there to assist you out of the car, the bell boys are there to handle the luggage and the driver is there to park your car for you in their parking. We have stayed at this hotel before and loved it and this time was no different, except we were also members of the Priority Club which entitled us to a quick hotel check in on a higher floor. This club also allowed us to an exclusive breakfast room on a higher floor which was quieter and more intimate and we also enjoyed free cocktails and snacks there in the evenings before we crossed by a walkway to Sandton shopping centre and Mandela square where there are many restaurants for you to choose from. The Gautrain which runs from Johannesburg airport to Sandton area is just around the corner from the hotel and with prior arrangements, they will also collect you from the train station. The staff were ALL extremely friendly and went out of thier way to help us which made our stay even more special.

Room Tip: The only specifications we make for rooms are for a King bed non smoking. All the rooms we have stayed in have been quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANNE K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

I am delighted that the staff really looked after you and that you had a good stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Josiah Montsho, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The intercontinental at Sandton is one of my favourite places to stay in Johannesburg. Good, well appointed rooms and most importantly, a great bunch of people.
The front desk, the restaurant staff and especially the concierge - Vinny and Otto, are all extremely friendly, good humoured and helpful. I had a smash & grab incident driving back from downtown Johannesburg and the hotel staff called the police and dealt with everything on my behalf.
The vegetarian choices on the menu are slim, but the chefs are happy to whip up a special on request. Nothing was ever too much trouble for them. Sandton city is just a short walk away with a plethora of restaurants, so a good meal was never a problem.
The lounge and bar is a great place to unwind in the evenings and I met quite a few surprise celebrities here, including the South African cricket team.
I look forward to staying with them again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MiiTMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

I am delighted that you had a great stay and my sincere thanks for your positive feedback. I trust that I will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Towers again in the not too distant future. KInd regards, Josiah Montsho, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I love staying at Intercontinental and Sandton....both for its location and rooms. While all hotels are expensive in Jberg, for me this is the better of all of them. Rooms are nicely appointed and service is great. Very easy connection to Sandton Mall. Also good for getting on to freeway in mornings.

If you have to choose at Sandton, select the Intercon. Much nicer than Sandton Sun even after its renovation.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAWSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

I am delighted that your stay at the InterContinental Sandton Towers was good and that you received great service during your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Towers again in the not too distant future and in the meantime, I send best wishes, Josiah Montsho, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed here for about ten nights in September and was quite impressed.

My impressions:

Rooms are of a high standard.
Meals including room service meals are great and reasonably priced.
The gym is very good with plenty of equipment which is well maintained.
Staff were generally on their game providing good service.
Free Internet which was of a good speed.

No real problems throughout my stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kosta100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thank you for your positive feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Towers again, kind regards, Josiah Montsho, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My wife and I went there on the last night of our 3 week honeymoon in South Africa. We did the usual trick of making sure to tell everyone that we were on honeymoon and most hotels and restaurants, usually put in an extra effort for us. However the InterCon in Sandton topped them all. Seriously, it was very unexpected but really appreciated. The Head of Guest Relations herself came up to our room to see that we had settled in and even brought flowers to my wife. After we returned from dinner later that night, our room was adorned with flowers, chocolates and champagne. The whole team, really made sure our wonderful time in South Africa, ended on a very high note.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crunch37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

My team and I are overjoyed that your honeymoon stay at the Towers was special and send every good wish for your future life together, Josiah Montsho, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews