We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Michelangelo Hotel
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2014

The hotel is perfectly situated for easy access to local stores and surrounding areas. The hotel staff are fantastic. The rooms are spacious and neat. The bathrooms are great. Having the shopping center accessible from inside the hotel, is a huge bonus. We looked out over Mandela Square from our room and it was entertaining when there were performers in the square.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dw1t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Dear dw1t
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.
Your positive comments motivate our team further to continue offering the best levels of service to all our valued guests.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (979)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

465 - 471 of 979 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

This was third stay at this great hotel
My wife looks to walk and shop in near by maul
I always get my shoes shined at entrance while awaiting my ride
Food and drinks here are superb as is service in this great complex
See you soon
Strongly suggest this great hotel

Stayed: October 2013
Thank DRHIND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Dear DRHIND
Thank you for your Trip Advisor review.
We are thrilled you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back for your 4th visit.
Regards
Roberto Rosa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014

I have stayed here for 3 nights on a business trip. The hotel is less than 5min-walk from Gautrain station Sandton which only takes about 15mins to get here from the airport. Both the hotel and staff were very nice, I had breakfast in the restaurant downstairs and was very happy with a wide range of breakfast options. The bar downstairs has a nice ambience with a fish pond right next to it. I have also used the Business Centre which was available 24h and hasn't required any passwords, there's also a printer available if needed. I'd recommend staying here on business as it can be a bit 'stuffy' if you're here with friends on a 'fun holiday'.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JustaPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Dear JustaPL
Thank you for your review posted on Trip Advisor.
We appreciate your feedback and look forward to warmly welcoming you back in the future.
Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I spent two nights here introducing my newest kiddo to his Johannesburg family. It is perfectly located for everyone to come to us to meet the bub. At first they put us in a room that was small and overlooking the taxi rank but we complained and then they moved us to a lovely room overlooking the square. the wonderful Bell boy, Patrick, went above and beyond to make our stay as comfortable as possible.

The hotel is really luxurious and the staff is fantastic, making our short JHB stay a really relaxing and easy one with our baby.

Room Tip: if you are not 100% happy with your room, ask for a better one. you won't get if you don't a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dallia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Dallia B
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted your stay was a memorable one and that Patrick in particular made your stay extra special.
We look forward to your next visit.
Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

I stayed here in March of this year and it was the best experience I have had in a hotel. As someone who has visited over 30 countries this means something to me. The staff was so accommodating and helpful. The ensured that we were comfortable and went above and beyond what was expected. I swear this is the last hotel in the world that still puts chocolate on your pillow. Even though breakfast was a buffet the staff served you. I have never been treated so well. Buto n top of that the location is spectacular. You are right at a great mall with lots of shopping ofr all people and as a plus sized girl I know how hard it is to find my size. I also think the price on this place was more than fair. People you have got to stay here

Room Tip: All of them seemed great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelergirl998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Travelergirl998
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.
It truly is wonderful to read your positive comments regarding your stay with us. As a guest who has stayed in over 30 hotels, your comments serve to further motivate our team to continue delivering service which meets and exceeds guests expectations and your review is a testament to this.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

I was lucky enough to stay here, as my partner was on business. Staff are all extremely friendly, well presented and helpful. Room was on the small side, but had everything we needed, with a nice balcony view of the city. Bathroom very nice. Common areas very clean, quiet and posh. Spa had a good selection of treatments, and is within the hotel. Hotel is located right inside Nelson Mandela's square, and in the Sandton city mall - both great places to visit. Plenty of places to eat around you, you certainly don't have to have a car to stay here! I hope to stay here again one day!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah14387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear sarah14387
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.
We are thrilled your stay was a memorable one and that you found our staff to be "extremely friendly, well presented and helpful"
We look forward to welcoming you and your husband back in the near future.
Best wishes
Roberto Rosa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

The Michelangelo Hotel in Santon is by far the best city hotel I ever stayed in. If I could I would gave them 7 stars. Their service and attention to detail is unbeatable. I found all staff extreamly friendly, helpfull and very well trained. The food is of outstanding quality. It is ideal for business meetings and is very well situated and just a 5 min walk from Stanton Gautrain station. If you can afford to stay there you will not be dissapointed!!!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Ratego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Hannes N
Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your kind comments and will be sure to share these with the entire Michelangelo Hotel team.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.1 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
0.2 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 46 in Sandton
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 46 in Sandton
1,354 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michelangelo Hotel

Address: 135 West Street Nelson Mandela Square | Sandown, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#7 Business Hotel in Sandton
Price Range: $207 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Michelangelo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A member of the Leading Hotels of the World, The Michelangelo Hotel guarantees visitors a five-star stay whether spending the day to attend a conference, staying overnight or merely visiting for a breakfast, lunch or dinner meeting. The splendor of the hotel's Renaissance architecture in the heart of Sandton's business and leisure district, as well as the service excellence and world-class facilities on offer, sets The Michelangelo apart from its competitors. Built around a central atrium, guests enjoy the decadent use of space which gives the feeling of grandeur in an area where space is at a premium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michelangelo Hotel Johannesburg
Michelangelo Hotel Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing