We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Michelangelo Hotel
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed there with family on 2 occasions in late April and mid May. Although the hotel is a long way from the airport it is well worth the visit and stay. Rooms are clean, tidy and well appointed with great wifi access throughout the hotel we had 2 standard rooms and were very pleased with our selection and the beds were comfy too. Service was carried out with a smile and the staff showed they really liked their hotel and their country. Breakfast was plentiful and you could order what you wanted and have it supplied hot and tasty from the kitchen and cooked to your desire. The concierge Archie was really a great asset and fantastic at his job. You could call on him or his team to assist you in planning or booking excursions that would be ideal for you individual tastes. We did 2 tours and both were well worth it. For a great coffee or drink you could not go past Oscar who toiled hard to ensure your drinks were always fresh and topped up as required. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a great place to stay and remember you are just on Mandela square and close to the largest shopping centre in the Southern Hemisphere with shops to attract all. There is a supply of local restaurants around the square to cater for your culinary desires.
One of the best hotels we have stayed in.

Room Tip: We booked and wee situated on the 5 floor overlooking Mandela Square. Great views and very quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank review53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear review53
Thank you very much for your detailed review posted on Trip Advisor.
I am truly delighted your stay with us was a memorable one and it's always wonderful to hear that our staff, in particular, Archie and Oscar, made your time with us extra special.
My team and I look forward to sharing our genuine hospitality with you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (966)
There are newer reviews for Michelangelo Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

488 - 494 of 966 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2014

Great location, expectational service and very elaborate breakfast buffet!! Do ask on check-in for a non-smoking room though as they did not ask me when I checked in so I was automatically assigned a smoking room which was a disappointing experience-arriving at 2am did not help much as al I wanted was to sleep. When I returned a day later I made sure to ask for a non-smoking room and had a pleasurable experience with a view of the mall forecourt. I highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the forecourt and balcony.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear Angela J
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.
We are thrilled you had a memorable stay with us and enjoyed our breakfast and service. Apologies for being allocated a smoking room initially.
We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Been a few times on business, most recently just for coffee and a short business meeting.
Lovely hotel, very courteous staff, and useful that its connected to the mall so you can wander around the shops and restaurants without any concerns for security.

I usually stay here or the Radisson Blu Sandton when on business. The Radisson is more businesslike and modern, but if you want to leave the hotel and walk around this is much better. Also, if staying for a few days I'd choose the Michelangelo, for just one night I'd go for the Radissson.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mdp77361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear Mdp77361
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Top class in every regard. Perfect yet discreet service, Nothing left to chance. From the consierge through to the laundry staff, it was impeccable. Eight restaurants in Mandela square to choose from,

Room Tip: Upgrade to the larger rooms overlooking Mandela square
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brentcaswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear brentcaswell
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.
We appreciate your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

As you enter the road leading to the hotel, its a little disappointing, until you see the fountains just past the entrance. You are greeted with well dresses bell boys willing so serve. You enter on the ground floor and reception is on the 1st floor, different, but once you are in the reception and base upwards, the views that greet you well, they are unbelievable. A large indoor pool full of Koi fish and a beautiful bar area.
The rooms were nice, if not a little worn, but this did not hinder my stay, food in restaurant was great, a night service menu was also available from about 10pm onwards. There were lots of local food outlets to eat from which were great value for money, a lot of the rooms backed onto Nelson Mandela Square. The downside of the hotel was that, outside local prostitutes would stand, and there pimp would sit in the bar keeping a watchful eye on them.
The hotel came with all the normal things that a hotel of this quality would come with, sauna, steam room, indoor pool and pampering area, massage rooms etc. Would I go back to this hotel ? Yes

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N17LNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear N17LNE

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. It is wonderful to see that you thoroughly enjoyed our beautiful hotel and it's surroundings and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

After the extremely long flight from the USA, my husband and I checked into The Michelangelo and could not have been more comfortable! The room was spacious, luxurious, and overlooked Mandela Square. The staff was beyond accommodating to our every need. In fact, my husband wanted to "move in" and just stay there!

Room Tip: I loved our room overlooking Mandela Square!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WannaGoKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear WannaGoKY
Thank you for your Trip Advisor review. It's always a delight to hear that our staff exceeded your expectations and that your stay with us was comfortable.
We look forward to welcoming you back and feel free to move in!
Best Wishes
Roberto Rosa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

It's supposed to be one of the best hotels in town. It's ok. The location is very convenient, but it's in the middle of a commercial mall so not super nice. Rooms are ok, staff is extremely nice. Room service is not great and given all the great food in south africa it's a little bit disappointing. I would go back for business because it's convenient, but if it was for leisure I would pick something else.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QueshuaParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear johannabParis
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback and have noted your remarks about room service. We hope to have the opportunity to better serve you in the future and thank you for your comment about our staff.
Best Wishes
Roberto Rosa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.1 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 46 in Sandton
902 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 46 in Sandton
1,335 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michelangelo Hotel

Address: 135 West Street Nelson Mandela Square | Sandown, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#7 Business Hotel in Sandton
Price Range: $227 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Michelangelo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A member of the Leading Hotels of the World, The Michelangelo Hotel guarantees visitors a five-star stay whether spending the day to attend a conference, staying overnight or merely visiting for a breakfast, lunch or dinner meeting. The splendor of the hotel's Renaissance architecture in the heart of Sandton's business and leisure district, as well as the service excellence and world-class facilities on offer, sets The Michelangelo apart from its competitors. Built around a central atrium, guests enjoy the decadent use of space which gives the feeling of grandeur in an area where space is at a premium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michelangelo Hotel Johannesburg
Michelangelo Hotel Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing