We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Johannesburg”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Michelangelo Hotel
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Johannesburg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

Top class in every regard. Perfect yet discreet service, Nothing left to chance. From the consierge through to the laundry staff, it was impeccable. Eight restaurants in Mandela square to choose from,

Room Tip: Upgrade to the larger rooms overlooking Mandela square
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brentcaswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear brentcaswell
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.
We appreciate your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    226
    85
    27
    20
See reviews for
97
269
60
348
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

As you enter the road leading to the hotel, its a little disappointing, until you see the fountains just past the entrance. You are greeted with well dresses bell boys willing so serve. You enter on the ground floor and reception is on the 1st floor, different, but once you are in the reception and base upwards, the views that greet you well, they are unbelievable. A large indoor pool full of Koi fish and a beautiful bar area.
The rooms were nice, if not a little worn, but this did not hinder my stay, food in restaurant was great, a night service menu was also available from about 10pm onwards. There were lots of local food outlets to eat from which were great value for money, a lot of the rooms backed onto Nelson Mandela Square. The downside of the hotel was that, outside local prostitutes would stand, and there pimp would sit in the bar keeping a watchful eye on them.
The hotel came with all the normal things that a hotel of this quality would come with, sauna, steam room, indoor pool and pampering area, massage rooms etc. Would I go back to this hotel ? Yes

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N17LNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear N17LNE

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. It is wonderful to see that you thoroughly enjoyed our beautiful hotel and it's surroundings and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

After the extremely long flight from the USA, my husband and I checked into The Michelangelo and could not have been more comfortable! The room was spacious, luxurious, and overlooked Mandela Square. The staff was beyond accommodating to our every need. In fact, my husband wanted to "move in" and just stay there!

Room Tip: I loved our room overlooking Mandela Square!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WannaGoKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear WannaGoKY
Thank you for your Trip Advisor review. It's always a delight to hear that our staff exceeded your expectations and that your stay with us was comfortable.
We look forward to welcoming you back and feel free to move in!
Best Wishes
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
123 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

It's supposed to be one of the best hotels in town. It's ok. The location is very convenient, but it's in the middle of a commercial mall so not super nice. Rooms are ok, staff is extremely nice. Room service is not great and given all the great food in south africa it's a little bit disappointing. I would go back for business because it's convenient, but if it was for leisure I would pick something else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QueshuaParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear johannabParis
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback and have noted your remarks about room service. We hope to have the opportunity to better serve you in the future and thank you for your comment about our staff.
Best Wishes
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

This is a nice hotel property that is centrally located in the Sandton area. It is connected to a large shopping mall for extra convenience. The rooms are very nice, and the breakfast buffet is fantastic! we stayed only one night, but enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DnGDXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear DnGDXB
Thank you for your review posted on Trip Advisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your short stay as well as our breakfast.
We hope to welcome you back, next time, for a longer stay!
Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pangbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

have used this hotel a few times after a long flight, always comfortable, with very friendly and welcoming staff.
The restaurant has a very good menu and this time .executive chef Rob Creaser has been sourcing new cheeses from small dairies with very good results,well worth a try.
Shopping is close and good!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Pat H
Thank you for your review posted on Trip Advisor.
It is wonderful to hear that you found our staff to be very friendly and welcoming and that you enjoyed our artisan cheese selection.
Looking forward to welcoming you back.
Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

My wife and I recently spent the first night of our honeymoon at the Michelangelo Hotel. One has expectations from a 5 star Hotel and this were not just met, but exceeded! A few areas to highlight - The friendliness of all hotel staff, room size, spaciousness and quality of bed linen. The amazing food from room service, a personal note from Roberto Rosa (Hotel General Manager). A personal welcome by name at breakfast and one of the best hotels breakfasts ever experienced.
Congratulations and thanks to the Michelangelo Hotel for making it a such a memorable experience!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markkeating17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Markkeating17
Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. My team and I are delighted your experience was a memorable one and that we managed to exceed your expectations.
Best Wishes
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#3 of 47 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
0.1 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.1 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 47 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michelangelo Hotel

Property: Michelangelo Hotel
Address: Nelson Mandela Square 135 West Street | Sandown, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#7 Business Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Michelangelo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A member of the Leading Hotels of the World, The Michelangelo Hotel guarantees visitors a five-star stay whether spending the day to attend a conference, staying overnight or merely visiting for a breakfast, lunch or dinner meeting. The splendor of the hotel's Renaissance architecture in the heart of Sandton's business and leisure district, as well as the service excellence and world-class facilities on offer, sets The Michelangelo apart from its competitors. Built around a central atrium, guests enjoy the decadent use of space which gives the feeling of grandeur in an area where space is at a premium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michelangelo Hotel Johannesburg
Michelangelo Hotel Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing