We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Michelangelo Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Sandton Sun(Sandton)
$242
$218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$99
$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$126
Protea Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$542
$517
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Sandton(Sandton)
$125
$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$138
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$207
$159
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$212
$155
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$148
$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$207
$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,037)
Filter reviews
1,037 results
Traveler rating
627
270
89
27
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
627
270
89
27
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnelson mandela squareleading hotels of the worldpiccolo mondoshopping mallhead conciergeindoor poolbeautiful hotelhigh teadirect accessluxury hotelrooms are spaciouscape townhotel restaurantsandton citytop classbusiness triplong flight
Filter
Updating list...
602 - 607 of 1,037 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Situated conveniently in the middle of the Sandton area- central to all businesses, Gautrain, shopping malls and restaurants. The "in" place to be! I stayed at the Michelangelo for 2 nights from Cape Town and the attention to detail, rooms and staff were amazing! We had high tea on the Sunday which was such a treat with tables full of cakes, eats and savories - we even had a chocolate fountain!! This is truly a world class hotel with world class service. Especially the exceptionally friendly and attentive staff! Thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Daniela A
Thank you for your wonderful review posted on Trip Advisor.
We appreciate your feedback and are thrilled you enjoyed our High Tea and your stay with us. Our position is indeed very convenient with everything on your doorstep.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Wow, what a change! The atmosphere in the hotel is completely changed. People are smiling, friendly, helpful and seem genuinely interested in providing a pleasant experience for guests. The food was good, room service professional and the food tasty, well presented and hot. Eric in the restaurant did such a great job at presenting the menu and taking care of me. Newman’s knowledge of wine is very good and his description of the Sauvignon Blanc I drank with my meal was spot on. The Sea Bass was good although the garnish a little messy (told Rob).

I asked for an iron in my room. It was there in under 10 minutes. The turn-down was perfect on both evenings and the young lady who did the job very pleasant. The room was comfortable, the pillows perfect, but the airconditioner was noisy - not condusive for a restful sleep.

I asked concierge to bubble wrap a framed certificate for me. Victor did it with a smile and then didn’t want me to pay for it. Great service!

Room Tip: Higher floors allow the french doors to be opened on hot evenings without the disturbance of the noise from the square
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 974barryr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Barry R
Thank you for your detailed review posted on Trip Advisor.
Your comments are highly appreciated and are testament to our continued committment to service excellence. Your comments will be shared with the entire team and specifically with Newman and Eric who left a lasting impression upon you.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Michelangelo Hotel.
Kind Regards
Roberto Rosa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Top Notch hotel. Room and breakfast were very good. Location is fine: on top of a shopping mall that surrounds Nelson Mandela square the square has lots of restaurants with outdoor seating. We can recommend the Thai one. The only downside is that Sandton is like an island, quite far from anything we wanted to see.
Notable is some of the best concierges we've ever encountered. We dealt with Tony and Archie. They recommended tours, guides, restaurants and car services.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SurfJogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear SurfJogger
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your kind comments about our Concierge department and are glad you were well taken care of.
We look forward to your next visit to our beautiful Leading Hotel of the World.
Best Wishes
Roberto Rosa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Old style charm, unbeatable location and focus on customer service and well being. A true 5 star experience. I was upgraded on arrival to a lovely room, helpful and courteous staff. Restaurant food was world class. Superb breakfast. The only negative is the lack of UK and US tv channels and the smell of food sometimes in 1st floor rooms.

Room Tip: High floor and ask for a deluxe room
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ratagiyadub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Ratagiyadub
Thank you for your review posted on Trip Advisor. It's fantastic to see you had a true 5 star experience with us and in particular that you noticed our committment to service excellence. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I return JNB and stayed 2 separate days there. On my arrival I don't know there is pick up service so I walk to the hotel from the nearby train station, which took about 10 minutes. Then I left for Sabi Sand and on return I used their free transport. Only one thing to note is the pick up and drop off points from the train station are not the same. Pick-up is on the street while drop-off is inside the train station carpark. Staff at reception are good as usual and they remember me staying there 2 months ago. Got a room with a view to the Nelson Mandela Square, awesome.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STNF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear STNF
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and that our Reception team remembered you from your previous stay. We look forward to your return and to once again sharing our genuine hospitality with you.
Best Wishes
Roberto Rosa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews