We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beatiful hotel in safe area”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Michelangelo Hotel
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
203 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Beatiful hotel in safe area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Gorgeous hotel, adjacent to the very large, modern, upscale Nelson Mandela mall. Many, many international gourmet restaurants adjoin (we went to the Portuguese one that adjoins, on the advice of a local friend and loved it). Don't venture out in the (or any Joburg) neighborhood, especially at night.
We only stayed 1 night and thought it was a rather long drive from the airport to there for that short stay. But once there we were very happy that it was arranged due to its safe location and nearby things to see (in the mall, which had several African art/souvenir shops as well as the standard fare of malls) and places to dine. Also, the drive there allowed us an overview of the city, including Soweto as a drive-by and hearing from the driver about life in the city vs where his wife and family lives in a village (many work away from their families in S Africa in order to be able to have money to survive).
Our room was average size, not overly large for 2 people. An odd bathroom setup with glass doors that seemed to interfere with the space inside when in use. Need to keep valuables locked even in this nice hotel, according to management.
In our 2 weeks in S Africa, their brunch was by far the top one of many great brunches. The buffet included anything imaginable as well as any gourmet coffees you could think up to order. All while overlooking the Nelson Mandela square with white linen tablecloths, etc.

Room Tip: Request to be on the side of the hotel that overlooks N. Mandela square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear D B
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your detailed review on Trip Advisor.
It's wonderful to hear that of all the brunches during your 2 week trip, ours was the best! I would also like to suggest that you use the Gautrain from the airport to Sandton on your next visit. The trip takes only 15 minutes which is most convenient and it would be our pleasure to transfer you from the Sandton station to our hotel.
We hope to see you again soon and are happy you experienced our vibrant city and wonderful hotel.
Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    226
    85
    27
    20
See reviews for
97
269
60
348
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose CA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Nice hotel attached to a high end shopping mall. Made dinner and errands quite easy. Beautiful room, friendly staff. Very nice buffet breakfast.
It does seem to be away from anything other than the mall, though so plan for transportatation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisambuchanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Lisambuchanan
Thank you for your great review on Trip Advisor. We are happy that you enjoyed our breakfast and room layout. Johannesburg is an expansive city however Sandton is very much the financial hub and engine room of the city and you will therefore find everything you need in this area.
We hope to welcome you back again soon and look forward to your next visit to our beautiful city and country.
Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirton in Lindsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Lovely hotel, in the city of Santon, connected to the mall and Nelson Mandela square, rooms are super, and the food is excellent, however the staff are what make this hotel, so helpful, and friendly, could'nt do enough for for you, I could have stayed longer, it was so relaxing.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking Nelson Mandela square
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Derek S
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted your stay with us was a memorable one and that in particular you found our staff to be helpful and friendly.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stayed at the Michelangelo for a week in mid September and felt that every intereaction with the staff was positive, starting with the duty manager the day before I checked in, through the lady that collected my pressing when an iron couldn't be found to the hospitality desk that assisted me in booking another Legacy property over a holiday weekend, and all the everyday staff contacts, the service at the Michelangelo was great! Well done!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear James H
We appreciate your kind comments and thank you for your Trip Advisor review. Your comments further motivate the entire team to constantly strive for the best possible levels of service to all our valuable guests.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

The Michelangelo surpassed our expectations in all categories. Every member of staff is extremely courteous and nothing is too much trouble. My husband and I stayed for 2 nights in Sandton to do a bit of shopping and rest after a busy schedule of travel. Priority for us was location and the Michelangelo delivered this well and truly. We were able to catch the Gautrain from OR Tambo Airport then it was only a short 5 minute walk to the hotel. Shopping was right on our door step and restaurants are plentiful around the Nelson Mandela Square which the hotel faces. No need for taxis at any time for us and the hotel feels very safe and secure. The pleasant surprises for us were- the generous size of the room which included a small sunken sitting room adjoining the bedroom, wi-fi in the room and bar/restaurant, very pleasant and luxurious lobby/bar/restaurant and a great breakfast selection. The concierge's Archie and Kristian are wonderful assets to the hotel and help make every guest feel special in this busy hotel. In fact every staff member made us feel so welcome and I would like to acknowledge them all. We were treated with unexpected helpful courtesies every step of the way. Bravo Michelangleo!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear NicPerth
Wow! We are thrilled at your positive feedback regarding our staff and service levels. We pride ourselves on committment to service excellence and your review is testament to this.
Our position is indeed ideal and we are happy your were able to get your shopping done and that you enjoyed our breakfast.
We look forward to offering "outstanding in all aspects" service to you again in the near future.
Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We recently spent two nights in this hotel whilst en route from Australia to Cape Town. What a great weekend stopover it proved to be. The most outstanding aspect of the Michelangelo is the quality of the staff. Wherever you go in the hotel the service is impressive. Our room was good, the location for us was excellent and I have to mention the food. It was fantastic. We were spoilt for choice at breakfast time and when we had a special birthday dinner in the Piccolo Mondo with friends, the staff were super attentive and the food was terrific. At the end of the meal, surprise, surprise - the magnificent smoking birthday cake! We were sorry to leave after only two nights at the Michelangelo. Hopefully our next visit will be longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivien P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Vivien P
Thank you for your wonderful review posted on Trip Advisor. It's fantastic to see we met and exceeded your expectations and that your birthday was made just a touch more special with the arrival of the "smoking" cake.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope you do stay with us for a longer period of time on your next visit.
Best Wishes
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
231 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We loved The Michelangelo Hotel. It was in a great and safe location, connected to a mall. It was in central Sandton,many offered tours to many popular places such as downtown Johannesburg and Soweto. The staff was very nice, and accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear JRWalker
Thank you for your Trip Advisor review.
It's wonderful to receive positive feedback such as yours and we are happy to have met and exceeded your expectations.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#3 of 47 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
0.1 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.1 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 47 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michelangelo Hotel

Property: Michelangelo Hotel
Address: Nelson Mandela Square 135 West Street | Sandown, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#7 Business Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Michelangelo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A member of the Leading Hotels of the World, The Michelangelo Hotel guarantees visitors a five-star stay whether spending the day to attend a conference, staying overnight or merely visiting for a breakfast, lunch or dinner meeting. The splendor of the hotel's Renaissance architecture in the heart of Sandton's business and leisure district, as well as the service excellence and world-class facilities on offer, sets The Michelangelo apart from its competitors. Built around a central atrium, guests enjoy the decadent use of space which gives the feeling of grandeur in an area where space is at a premium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michelangelo Hotel Johannesburg
Michelangelo Hotel Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing