We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute gem of a hotel, a really lovely property”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Michelangelo Hotel
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Absolute gem of a hotel, a really lovely property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

I've just come back from 5 nights of bliss staying at the Michelangelo in Johannesburg and really feel there's a number of things that deserve special mention:
1) Arrive early, they're extremely accommodating!
2) Restaurant staff, really make you feel at home!
3) Good selection of international channels AND movie channels, would love to see BBC added.

The shower has the most amazing power -- frankly I could have spent hours in it as the water pressure is bloody amazing!

I had to request a late checkout as I was catching an overnight flight home, and requested such. Chris the manager was extremely understanding and offered without any quibble a 1700 check out which worked perfectly so I could do meetings, come back and shower before flight.

There is only one thing I would ask them to resolve, and that is the internet bandwidth is low so I've already mentioned that to them as needing improvement.

I cannot wait to go back to the hotel!

Room Tip: I suspect they're all marvellous, mine certainly was!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S6blr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear S6blr

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

Wow! Your comments make me very proud indeed of the entire team and we are thrilled to see that your expectations were met and exceeded.

We look forward to sharing our hospitality with you again soon!

Kind Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    225
    84
    27
    19
See reviews for
96
268
59
347
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

The rooms are very comfortable and the housekeeping service was exceptional

check in was quick and easy.

Direct access to the Nelson Mandela square with nice restaurants and the sandton mall also.

Lovely decor with earthy tones
the breakfast spread was also great and the service quick and efficient if you are a business person

Room Tip: All the rooms open up to an indoor courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronkeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear roneke

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted by your kind words and the fact that you enjoyed your stay especially our breakfast and decor.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Archie is a legend and has been at this hotel since day 1 provided some of the best service and information one could receive. Beautiful clean classical hotel. Has one of the best restaurents in Johannesburg being the Piccolo Mondo. Lovely decored spacious room.

Room Tip: Get view of Nelson Mandela Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Geoff C

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding our Hotel. We are all delighted that your experience was a positive one and that you enjoyed Piccolo Mondo.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Had a very lovely stay and excellent service,loving the public areas and met this young lady who showed me the spa (Sibongile) wow wow well done to all the staff who always render their service a smile

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kzh36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear kzh36

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

Your comments are appreciated and valued.

We look forward to your next visit.

Best Wishes
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
424 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Johannesburg isn't the safest city to visit, but it is an exciting one. The Michelangelo Hotel is a safe and modern hotel. The staff is gracious and helpful and the living quarters are beautiful. The hotel is connected to Nelson Mandela Square the largest indoor shopping mall with lots of restaurants indoors and outdoors in the square. The spa and swimming pool is small but worth the visit for relaxation. We had a room with a window facing the square and at night it was so pretty to see all the lights. Loved the spacious bathroom and shower and housekeeping was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hawaiian555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Hawaiian555

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

Johannesburg is indeed an exciting and vibrant city and we are glad you chose to spend your time here with us at The Michelangelo Hotel and that you found our rooms and housekeeping to be excellent.

We hope to see you in Johannesburg and our Hotel again soon.

Kind Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Other than being an ordinary hotel with some neat finishes, the breakfast is an absolute must. Patrons may book for breakfast even as non-guests at R180. Yes, it may sound steep for brekkie, but it's pretty damn decent and one of the best I've had.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MejMoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Camrin83

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

Breakfast is the most important meal of the day and we are happy that ours is one of the best you've had.

We look forward to your next visit.

Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allyn, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
141 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

What a welcome relief. Seven of us stayed there for one night. It was fabulous. We had a 16 hour flight and they were kind enough to get us an early arrival for our rooms. We could take showers, relax. Then we gathered to see Nelson Mandela Square and have lunch. The staff remembers your name and room, pushes elevator buttons and is very attentive. The staff seems to genuinely enjoy themselves and are happy people. I loved the place.

The breakfast was wonderful. Many choices, presented well and very tasty. Good coffee, too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Jan D

Thank you for your wonderful comments posted on Trip Advisor.

We are truly delighted that you and your group of 7 people had a happy and memorable experience with us. We are also thrilled you found our breakfast selection and coffee to your satisfaction and hope to welcome you back to our Hotel again soon.

Kind Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#3 of 47 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.1 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.1 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 47 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michelangelo Hotel

Property: Michelangelo Hotel
Address: Nelson Mandela Square 135 West Street | Sandown, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#7 Business Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Michelangelo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A member of the Leading Hotels of the World, The Michelangelo Hotel guarantees visitors a five-star stay whether spending the day to attend a conference, staying overnight or merely visiting for a breakfast, lunch or dinner meeting. The splendor of the hotel's Renaissance architecture in the heart of Sandton's business and leisure district, as well as the service excellence and world-class facilities on offer, sets The Michelangelo apart from its competitors. Built around a central atrium, guests enjoy the decadent use of space which gives the feeling of grandeur in an area where space is at a premium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michelangelo Hotel Johannesburg
Michelangelo Hotel Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing