We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World class Leading Hotel of the World”
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Michelangelo Hotel
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This hotel and its staff are simply amazing. I have stayed 3 times in the last year and the consistency with which they provide their services is trully to be commended. I stay in the deluxe room type which has a small separate lounge area and the location is perfect for meetings as it is sitauted in the heart of sandton business district. The variety at breakfast is fantastic.

Room Tip: Deluxe room type overlooking Nelson Mandela square
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psi682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear psi682

Thank you for your kind words on your Trip Advisor review.

We pride ourselves on offering the best possible levels of service and we are happy that you found this to be the case during your various stays with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (966)
There are newer reviews for Michelangelo Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

627 - 633 of 966 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

As security in Johannesburg is an issue, I found this hotel to be very convenient.. I arrived by car and was ushered into reception. My car was valet parked and returned to the entrance whenever I needed it. I did not need it much though, as the Michelangelo is conveniently located with direct access to both Nelson Mandela Square, which has many good restaurants and coffee shops , and to the Sandton City Shopping Mall.
The room was light, large and comfortable and had a great bathroom with a seperate shower and seperate toilet area which I really appreciated. Apart from two large beds, there is a sitting area with a couch and TV.
Breakfast in the morning was a treat, with a huge variety of fresh products. Besides the buffet, there was an a la carte breakfast menu available at no extra charge.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and will definitely go back there again.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be quiet and well located.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Sandra A

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that your stay was memorable and that you particularly enjoyed the breakfast and our spacious rooms.

We look forward to your return and to sharing with you, once again, our genuine hospitality.

Best Wishes
Roberto Rosa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I stay at the Michelangelo every 4 months , It only seems to get better and better.Absolutely wonderfull home away from home.From the front desk to the Spa you will only have a fab time.Well done all.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeraldG729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear GeraldG

I am honoured at your wonderful review of our hotel. Thank you.

We will continue to ensure you always have a "fab time" with us at your "home away from home."

Regards

Roberto Rosa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night after the awful 14 hour flight from JFK. In great need of rest and pampering, The Michelangelo provided it all impeccably. Rooms large, king bed in one of ours and 2 twins in the other. Very comfortable. Both rooms had a sitting area with couch and armchairs. Bathroom again great. Sep. shower, bath etc. areas.
Gym is small but adequate. 2 treadmills and upright bikes, one recling bike, an elliptcal and something that moves sideways. Weights.

Pool looks beautiful, more for dipping than swimming. Sauna and steam are unisex. Had a fabulous massage in spa.
Archie the concierge is super helpful and arranged a drive for us to go to the Apartheid Museum and a mall for crafts. Also set up dinner reservations. There are many options in Nelson Mandela square which is right there.
Wifi in rooms, included in our rate.
Would stay again 100%

Room Tip: we were on the floor above the reception ares, in other words low and it was fine.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amalaPrinceton_Nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear amalaPrinceton_Nj

Thank you for your incredibly positive feedback.

It instills in me a great sense of pride that the whole team is delivering top class service to our valuable guests and your review is proof thereof.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful hotel.

Kind Regards

Roberto Rosa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The convenience of the hotel from the airport via the Gautrain is great. The room was perfect and the friendliness of the reception staff was great. When i left the hotel i was informed that a chauffeur service is available and that in future i should call and the would collect me at the station. The restaurants on Mandela square are great. The restaurant where the breakfast was served had a great ambience and the variety was good. Will return for all future business in Gauteng. Great experience

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GSAUNDERS1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear GSAUNDERS1958

Thank you very much for your review. We are thrilled your experience was a positive one and that you enjoyed our breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best Wishes

Roberto Rosa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

my partner's colleague in jo'burg recommended this place. due to safety concern (yes, it should be your #1 consideration when visiting jo'burg) and the fact that I'd be alone during the day when John goes to office, we decided to stay there. it is part of a shopping complex (everything is all in one gigantic development so you literally don't have to go in street) that occupies one of the most expensive real estate location in jo'burg area. the hotel has very comfortable bed. best part for me is that I can sleep with the French door open - I sleep much better with fresh air. since it is part of a big mall, food was not an issue, killing time window shopping was not an issue either. the elevator hardly worked and hotel restaurant was pretty bad. although breakfast there was half way decent. if/when we go back to jo'burg, we'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xiet99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear xiet99

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

Our location, as you mention, is indeed very convenient for guests and we are happy you enjoyed your time with us.

We look forward to having you as our valued guest again soon.

Kind Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

we spent one day in Michelangelo hotel during our visit to Johannsburg. The location is convenient and the rooms are spacious. Staff are friendly and quite helpful. The breakfast is of good quality.
Overall the stay was good.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lulu a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Dear lulu a

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted your stay was good. Although your time with us was rather short, it's wonderful to see that you found our staff friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed our breakfast.

It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Wishes
Roberto Rosa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.1 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 46 in Sandton
902 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 46 in Sandton
1,334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michelangelo Hotel

Address: 135 West Street Nelson Mandela Square | Sandown, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#7 Business Hotel in Sandton
Price Range: $227 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Michelangelo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A member of the Leading Hotels of the World, The Michelangelo Hotel guarantees visitors a five-star stay whether spending the day to attend a conference, staying overnight or merely visiting for a breakfast, lunch or dinner meeting. The splendor of the hotel's Renaissance architecture in the heart of Sandton's business and leisure district, as well as the service excellence and world-class facilities on offer, sets The Michelangelo apart from its competitors. Built around a central atrium, guests enjoy the decadent use of space which gives the feeling of grandeur in an area where space is at a premium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michelangelo Hotel Johannesburg
Michelangelo Hotel Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing