We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Michelangelo Hotel
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
princeton, nj
Level Contributor
109 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night after the awful 14 hour flight from JFK. In great need of rest and pampering, The Michelangelo provided it all impeccably. Rooms large, king bed in one of ours and 2 twins in the other. Very comfortable. Both rooms had a sitting area with couch and armchairs. Bathroom again great. Sep. shower, bath etc. areas.
Gym is small but adequate. 2 treadmills and upright bikes, one recling bike, an elliptcal and something that moves sideways. Weights.

Pool looks beautiful, more for dipping than swimming. Sauna and steam are unisex. Had a fabulous massage in spa.
Archie the concierge is super helpful and arranged a drive for us to go to the Apartheid Museum and a mall for crafts. Also set up dinner reservations. There are many options in Nelson Mandela square which is right there.
Wifi in rooms, included in our rate.
Would stay again 100%

Room Tip: we were on the floor above the reception ares, in other words low and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amalaPrinceton_Nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear amalaPrinceton_Nj

Thank you for your incredibly positive feedback.

It instills in me a great sense of pride that the whole team is delivering top class service to our valuable guests and your review is proof thereof.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful hotel.

Kind Regards

Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    223
    82
    27
    19
See reviews for
95
265
58
341
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
135 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

The convenience of the hotel from the airport via the Gautrain is great. The room was perfect and the friendliness of the reception staff was great. When i left the hotel i was informed that a chauffeur service is available and that in future i should call and the would collect me at the station. The restaurants on Mandela square are great. The restaurant where the breakfast was served had a great ambience and the variety was good. Will return for all future business in Gauteng. Great experience

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GSAUNDERS1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear GSAUNDERS1958

Thank you very much for your review. We are thrilled your experience was a positive one and that you enjoyed our breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best Wishes

Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

my partner's colleague in jo'burg recommended this place. due to safety concern (yes, it should be your #1 consideration when visiting jo'burg) and the fact that I'd be alone during the day when John goes to office, we decided to stay there. it is part of a shopping complex (everything is all in one gigantic development so you literally don't have to go in street) that occupies one of the most expensive real estate location in jo'burg area. the hotel has very comfortable bed. best part for me is that I can sleep with the French door open - I sleep much better with fresh air. since it is part of a big mall, food was not an issue, killing time window shopping was not an issue either. the elevator hardly worked and hotel restaurant was pretty bad. although breakfast there was half way decent. if/when we go back to jo'burg, we'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xiet99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear xiet99

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

Our location, as you mention, is indeed very convenient for guests and we are happy you enjoyed your time with us.

We look forward to having you as our valued guest again soon.

Kind Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

we spent one day in Michelangelo hotel during our visit to Johannsburg. The location is convenient and the rooms are spacious. Staff are friendly and quite helpful. The breakfast is of good quality.
Overall the stay was good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lulu a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear lulu a

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted your stay was good. Although your time with us was rather short, it's wonderful to see that you found our staff friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed our breakfast.

It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Wishes
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Perfect place to recoup and meet. For a five star, they are able to meet class with a genuine welcome and keep up the special attention for your entire stay. Wonderful breakfasts that become an event in themselves.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Michael Y

Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate the time taken to post a review and look forward to your next stay with us.

Regards

Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
66 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for the AFM conference. Generally speaking, it is a decent hotel with old fashion decoration but very good location. You will find many restaurants next to the hotel around the square. Also, it is safe there don't forget we are in Johannesburg. The down side of this hotel is that some staffs do have attitude problem. The young lady who cleaned room 3015 is one of them. If it is still acceptable to knock the door at 8:15 in the morning requesting to clean the room, it is unbelievable to leave the work site more than three times to pick up sheets, pillows, etc separately and takes more than an hour still keeping the room unsettled. I do not mean to offend but this is completely unacceptable to me !!! What is the point for the management to keep this low efficiency staff?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Youhanguc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Youhanguc

Thank you for your review.

We have addressed your concerns with our Executive Housekeeper and apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

The location is excellent. Ensconced in Sandton, this is a very safe and secure hotel accommodation. Hotel staff members appear very cheerful and always eager to please you. Front desk has often acceded to my request to be given the same room I had used during previous stays. It is also no problem getting an upgrade if alternative rooms are available....so I am a regular at this hotel even though I do not participate in their hotel loyalty program.

Breakfast is very good and service is good. Menu is very limited for lunch and dinner....but you are really better off to walk 30 seconds downstairs and you have multiple choices of restaurants with all kinds of cuisines awaiting you at the Mandela Square. If you still wish to explore a bit more, you can walk 3-5 minutes into the Sandton Mall just beside the hotel for additional choices. You feel a sense of security walking around freely around this facility.

Swimming pool is very small. Gym is very small too. The spa is alright but on the expensive side. I can get a similar treatment for half the price in the US.

Rooms are large. Bathroom is alright. Clean linens, towels and bathrobe. Night turndown and all the services you expect from a 5-star facility. Good price for the service. TV channels are very limited. If you wish to watch the TV while in bed, this hotel is not for you....the TV is awkwardly located. Wireless internet available free and without data limit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear SamB

Thank you for your wonderful comments posted on Trip Advisor.

Your feedback inspires and reinforces the entire team's committment to service excellence and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Wishes

Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 49 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
0.1 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
1.2 mi away
Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michelangelo Hotel

Property: Michelangelo Hotel
Address: Nelson Mandela Square 135 West Street | Sandown, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#7 Business Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Michelangelo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A member of the Leading Hotels of the World, The Michelangelo Hotel guarantees visitors a five-star stay whether spending the day to attend a conference, staying overnight or merely visiting for a breakfast, lunch or dinner meeting. The splendor of the hotel's Renaissance architecture in the heart of Sandton's business and leisure district, as well as the service excellence and world-class facilities on offer, sets The Michelangelo apart from its competitors. Built around a central atrium, guests enjoy the decadent use of space which gives the feeling of grandeur in an area where space is at a premium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michelangelo Hotel Johannesburg
Michelangelo Hotel Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing