We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Michelangelo Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$147
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$117
$83
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $102/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$133
$110
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $125/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$138
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$280
$143
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$223
$180
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $222/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$133
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$123
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of $118/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$197
$137
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$962
$502
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,051)
Filter reviews
1,051 results
Traveler rating
637
273
90
27
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
637
273
90
27
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnelson mandela squareleading hotels of the worldpiccolo mondoshopping mallhead conciergeindoor poolbeautiful hotelhigh teadirect accessluxury hotelrooms are spaciouscape townhotel restaurantsandton citybusiness tripbreakfast was excellenttop class
Filter
Updating list...
712 - 717 of 1,051 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Good hotel and Had a very pleasant long weekend at this hotel.The staff are exceptionally friendly and most helpful.Our room was nicely furnished as were the public areas.The location of the hotel is excellent -good seeing the Mandela Square.we were at the hotel on the 25/01/2013,the staff is very friendly and helpful,our best impression was at the lounge where we were approached by a Manager who was well spoken and fluently,he offered us a table by the window and he quickly introduced himself as Raphael,and did welcome us by telling us the temperature on that day,and suggested we must have a cold bottle of big still water as it was very hot.he went on to inform us about the soup of the day,the fish of the day and the cakes of the day.
we were actual very impressed by this professional approach,he even asked us if we were there for business or holiday,due to this kind of service we quickly felt at home and started to realize that we were at the right place indeed.

We had breakfast the next day, there was a large choice, all fresh and tasty.All in all can' t say enough about this amazing hotel they deserve to be number one on TripAdvisor! If your looking for 100% service then this is the place. Luxurious furnishings and attentive staff make a weekend stay feel unforgettable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philip r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Philip R

Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate your feedback and assure you that this is what motivates the entire team to continue working hard to ensure we have happy guests and to reaching number 1 on Trip Advisor.

Regards

Roberto Rosa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed here for business & thought the hotel was fantastic. Service was friendly & helpful. Food was great as well. Rooms are big and well decked out. The hotel is a bit aged, but still very stylish & worth the price.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Michael B

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to be friendly and helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Michelangelo Hotel again.

Kind Regards

Roberto Rosa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

LOCATION
My family comes from South Africa and we used to visit there every year, so I know what I'm talking about when I say that if visiting Johannesburg, this is the best part of town to be in (Sandton), and within Sandton, it has the BEST location. It is INSIDE the Sandton shopping center of Nelson Mandela Square. Literally the lobby of the hotel becomes the shopping center, you don't even have to open a door. It is a very safe area of Johannesburg in case that was a worry for anyone. Of course where ever you are in Joburg there's a chance of something happening but Sandton is probably the best part of Joburg to be in, in terms of safety. In all my families years of living in Joburg and my annual visits, nothing has ever happened to me that would put me off returning, nothing has ever happened to me at all. Sandton Shopping Center is very nice and quite large too. When you exit the shopping center, you are in Nelson Mandela Square, which if you are a first time traveler in Joburg is a must see. This is where the statue of Nelson Mandela is. There are lots of very nice and very casual too, restaurants and cafes here. Often you'll see little kids running around outside. (In case of confusion, Nelson Mandela Square was previously known and Sandton Square, the shopping center is known as both Sandton shopping center and Nelson Mandela Square. I just call the actual shopping center 'Sandton shopping center', and the outside of the shopping center 'Nelson Mandela Square'. But it is all the same.)

HOTEL ITSELF
Very nice, large and luxurious. There are a couple of restaurants to my memory, I was there is 2010, and am not exactly sure. Check on the hotel website to be sure. But I do remember, breakfast was very nice, what you would expect at any 5 star hotel. We never ate lunch here, or dinner. But I do think they serve all three meals a day. We actually attended a wedding on this visit to Joburg, which is the reason we stayed in a hotel, usually we would stay with family. But after the wedding, which was quite late at night, the hotel was still running tea's, coffee's and late night desserts in the downstairs lounge/restaurant area. They also had (I think 24hrs), very nice room service, again what you would expect of a 5* hotel.
I am not sure whether or not there was a pool or gym, I am sure there would have been, but take a look on the website to be sure.

SERVICE
All staff are very friendly, and as you would expect at a hotel like this, are there to cater to your every need. Although you don't have to, tips are always welcomed and outside of the hotel, usually expected.

ROOMS
Rooms (or at least the one we stayed in, I am not sure whether or not it was a suite or just a regular room), were very large and of course very nice, clean, and were not 'modern and minimalist' but were still luxurious. With reds and marble and still obviously the crisp, white sheets. The room was quite nice in that it was almost like two rooms, with the bed, bathroom, wardrobe on one level and then a couple steps down and you had a lounge/study area.
The bathrooms always kept in good condition. Marble, or some type of shiny stone cabinetry.

All in all, I think it is the best location if visiting South Africa, very central. They have very friendly and willing staff and good service. The rooms and bathrooms are luxurious and clean and large. The hotel itself is again, very luxurious and grand. And the food as well, very nice.

I stayed in July '10

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MicaelaR0308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear micaelaRO308

Wow! What incredible feedback. Thank you very much for posting your review. Your comments are appreciated by our entire passionate team and truly reinforces our committment to service excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back again and send our regards to your family.

Best wishes

Roberto Rosa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This review is well overdue as my stay at this hotel was at least four months ago.
This is a great hotel in the centre of Sandton.
The food, room and gym was all great. What really made my stay here was the friendliness and professionalism of all the staff I encountered.
I will most definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lloyd v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Lloyd v,

We are most grateful for your recognition and recommendation as your hotel of choice.

Many thanks,

Roberto Rosa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

If you like 100% attention this is the place to stay, nothing is too much trouble. The staff are fantastic and know how to provide a first class service. The only negative for me on this point is that when I'm travelling on business I'd rather have less fuss (but that's just me) the rooms are very equipped and have all the requirements, I did find the room again a little over fussy but this is the design of the hotel, very decadent. I steer more to the cleaner lines and comtemporary type hotels usually but this was a great experience and certainly one I would recommend. My room over looked Mandela square which was lovely, apart from when you want to stand on the balcony and you're besieged by pigeons, so beware. It's right on the square as well so easy to eat in the restaurants below and shop in the mall, the local Gautrain is in walking distance as well, and you can walk reactively safely from the station to the hotel during busy times.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Mandela square even with the pigeons
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PRS333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear PRS333,

Your kind note on your experience at the Michelangelo Hotel is most appreciated by our passionate Team.

Thank you.

Kind Regards,
Roberto Rosa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews