We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place to stay”
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Michelangelo Hotel
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I travel to Jo burg a couple of times a year and can't recommend the hotel highly enough. Whether it be George on front desk or providence or patricia taking care of the rooms the staff are second to none and can't do enough for you. Rooms are great, try and book the ones overlooking nelson Mandela square, fantastic views.

Hotel is in a great location, kept to the highest standard and can't wait to be back next year

Stephan

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Dear Stephan D,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and that our staff exceeded your expectations. I have passed your comments on to our whole team and look forward to welcoming you back again next year.

Kind Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (965)
There are newer reviews for Michelangelo Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

686 - 692 of 966 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

The two rooms we had were sumptuos, large and with all amenities. The bathrooms were also very spacious, marbled, clean and fully functional. The hotel is situated just above Nelson Mandela Square, a huge mall where one can find evrything. What I disliked was the continuos tipping we were subjected to. Another thing which bothered us but I am sure others might like it is the fussiness during breakfast. we enjoy having a big varied breakfast. And here you can indulge. However we prefer to enjoy it quitely without having too many waiters running around. It might look silly but that is the only minor point . There was also another incident when we were checking out., We were presented with the bar bill which belonged to another room. The bill was attached to our tab, withour room number but thankfully the signature was different and we left the hotel without paying extra. The other room had already checked out, so it was the hotel's problem. Tiny little things which one can do without. However these are human mistakes which are understandable. For our last day in South Africa after roughing it up a bit it was ideal. Do not know a lot about the surrounding area. Went out for a walk but decided to head back to Nelson Mandela Square for some serious shopping.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GRIMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear GRIMS

Thank you for your feedback.

We are delighted that you could enjoy The Michelangelo Hotel after roughing it up in our beautiful country.

I have passed your comments on to the relevant managers to take corrective action and we appreciate your understanding.

The surrounding area offers some attractions and we look forward to welcoming you back again so you can experience that too.

Kind Regards

Roberto Rosa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel in a great location that is pretty safe. If you want a top hotel in Joburg this should be it. It's about 25 minutes from the airport, so take that into consideration. A first class shopping center is attached with plenty of fine restaurants. An exceptionally fine restaurant is also in the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dfls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear dlfs

Thank you for your kind feedback.

We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to having you as our valued guest again soon.

Kind Regards

Roberto Rosa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We were booked here by our travel agent for a couple of days of sightseeing between the airport and the Safari camp. It's a top of the line place with opulent bathrooms, a phenomenal interior courtyard (not for those who fear heights!), glass elevators, stunning pool and excellent restaurants. It's also adjacent to the Sandton City mall -- wow, if you are a mall shopper this place will drive you wild. It must be one of the world's largest -- it just goes on and on and on and on. This should be a day of your plans all by itself. Meanwhile back at the hotel, the Ostrich in the main restaurant was to die for (as were the prices -- so South Africa! you couldn't get a good hamburger in New York at that price), the breakfast buffet was phenomenal and the room service exquisite. The only complaint is that the fitness center is a tad small by American standards, although it had some good equipment. Everything was new and clean -- the beds a tad soft, not in a great way. I didn't see the really big rooms which they rave about on their website, but the room was very nice in a five star standard room sort of way. We had a nice view of Mandela Square.

Room Tip: The whole place seemed quiet and comfortable -- you might not want to be on a low floor facing Mande...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear MarkB

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that your experience with us was a comfortable and memorable one and that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and your room overlooking the statue of Nelson Mandela.

The view of our atrium from the lifts is one of my favourites as well.

We await your next visit to Johannesburg and look forward to sharing our genuine hospitality with you again.

Kind Regards

Roberto Rosa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Over the last few years i have stayed at this hotel at least 10-20 times...
it is very much a "Vegas" style hotel,so if you are looking for clean cut and modern, this is not for you-but the bad taste aside, it is so convenient and comfortable that it makes up for being slightly on the tacky side...the rooms are very spacious and comfortable-they are all suites, and the bathrooms are also large and very well kitted out. the breakfast is always great, and the bar area is a favorite meeting place for local and travelling business people. high tea is also to be recommended. The hotel is facing the Nelson Mandela Square and Sandton City-the biggest shopping center in South Africa, and all though i would normally shy away from such a location most other places in the world, it is welcomed in Johannesburg because of safety issues. this way you have a great variety of restaurants on your doorstep, and you can walk back to the hotel even after dark without any hassle. the only negative is that the check in staff never seemed to remember us-even though we were a group of 4-5 people who always arrived together- and we sometimes stayed at the hotel minimum once a month for a few months straight...and booked at least 4 rooms every time...but every time we checked in it was as though we had never been there before-so that was always a bit disappointing...a "welcome back" would have been appreciated!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CamillaCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear CamillaCapeTown

Thank you for your valued feedback. We appreciate your loyalty and as one of our regualr guests you are quite correct in stating that our fantastic location offers guests many options from dining to shopping, a visit to the theatre or a movie.

I have passed your comments onto our Front Office Manager and will ensure we place more emphasis on "welcoming you back" to your home away from home.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

Kind Regards

Roberto Rosa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We spent 2 glorious days at the amazing Michelangelo hotel recently! The combination of its design, location and amenities therein provides for an experience equally to none especially the Mandela square. However, what really made our stay remarkable and memorable was the staff in its variety! the hotel is blessed in that the entire staff genuinely enjoy their work and do everything they can to make one's stay comfortable and memorable. Having travelled around a bit, the hotel Staff makes the hotel a home awaya from home...GM Rosa and your staff are doing a splendid job for a splendid hotel! keep it up all of YOU! Kholi

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Mandela Square or his Statue are the best all round!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian Ntombo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear Adrian Ntombo K,

We are honoured that your stay with us was so memorable and that we exceeded your expectations. Thank you for your kind comments.

We look forward to welcoming you “home” again soon.


Kind Regards,
Roberto Rosa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed in the amazing Michelangelo hotel in the Sandton business and leisure district and on Nelson Mandela Square in February. We were a group of 7 from Houston who were to catch up with the rest of our group from various cities around the U.S. The plan was to stay here for two nights for some sightseeing before continuing our journey on to Cape Town. Our group of 7 got left behind due to bad weather in Washington so we only got to spend one night before cathing an early flight out. After two days of travel I was exhausted but after a long soak in the oversize jacuzzi tub I was ready to make the best of my one night here. I ventured out on my own and had a light dinner and a few drinks at the hotel’s Il Ritrovo Bar & Lounge. Then I went sightseeing at the connecting Sandton City shopping mall then out onto the Square where an imposing statue of Mandela towers over the Square. During the World Cup in 2010, there had been a huge count-down sign in this square exhibiting the number of days before the big event. I even stepped into a night club in the mall for a few minutes.

Although I didn't get to make the best of my stay due to time constraints, I would have loved to stay a few more days to enjoy their beautiful pool and other amenities the place has to offer.

Definitley a 5-star royalty type property.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aarrtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Dear aarrtt

Thank you very much for your feedback. Our fantastic location does indeed offer our guests a plethora of activities and restaurants proudly watched over by our icon, Nelson Mandela.

We are thrilled that your stay was memorable and hope to see you again soon, next time for a longer stay.

Kind Regards


Roberto Rosa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.1 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 46 in Sandton
901 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 46 in Sandton
1,329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michelangelo Hotel

Address: 135 West Street Nelson Mandela Square | Sandown, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#7 Business Hotel in Sandton
Price Range: $230 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Michelangelo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A member of the Leading Hotels of the World, The Michelangelo Hotel guarantees visitors a five-star stay whether spending the day to attend a conference, staying overnight or merely visiting for a breakfast, lunch or dinner meeting. The splendor of the hotel's Renaissance architecture in the heart of Sandton's business and leisure district, as well as the service excellence and world-class facilities on offer, sets The Michelangelo apart from its competitors. Built around a central atrium, guests enjoy the decadent use of space which gives the feeling of grandeur in an area where space is at a premium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michelangelo Hotel Johannesburg
Michelangelo Hotel Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing