We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you Michelangelo, Sandton, for a memorable occasion”
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Michelangelo Hotel
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We are frequent visitors to the Michelango Hotel, Sandton, and decided to stay overnight for our anniversary.

The staff went to great lengths to ensure that our special day would be memorable, and my goodness, did they succeed! If we had had any expectations, they were by far exceeded!

To say that the staff at the Hotel, under the management of Roberto Rosa and his team comprising MArio, Heinrich Oberholser, Stephen, Sifanelo, Chef Andrew Atkinson, went out of their way, would be an absolute understatement, as nothing was too much trouble for them, even going to the lengths of baking a special cake!

We would definitely recommend the Michelangelo Sandton to celebrate any occasion - they embody the expression "service beyond expectation"!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cpcresswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

Dear cpcresswell

Thank you for your kind words and ofcourse for sharing your special day with us. We are thrilled that your time at The Michelangelo Hotel was memorable and that we exceeded your expectations. It's a pleasure to see that the team's passion and committment to world class service is yielding positive results.

We look forward to spending many more happy and memorable times with you at our beautiful hotel.

Regards,

Roberto Rosa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (998)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

716 - 722 of 998 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2012

Having stayed at this hotel for over a week,it is streaks ahead of any hotel in South Africa, with world class service, and beautiful classic surroundings, i would never stay anywhere else in JHB. From the moment you arrive, you are surrounded by efficient and friendly staff and managers, the service and food is wonderful.... I was treated as not just a guest, everyone knew my name, and made my trip wonderful'

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudyL970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

Dear Judy L

Thank you very much indeed for your wonderful feedback. We constantly strive to offer the best possible levels of service to all our guests and your comments only reinforce our committment to this. I have passed your comments onto the whole team who are just as delighted as I am with your kind words.

We look forward to sharing our genuine hospitality with you again soon.

Regards,

Roberto Rosa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at numerous 5* hotels worldwide and found the level of service, cleanliness, comfort and attention to detail second to none at the Michelangelo.

The room was well furnished with complimentary High speed wifi 3Mbps provided and the marble bathroom was spacious with an oversized bath and generous shower.

The complimentary breakfast was excellent with choices like salmon, eggs and caviar! Even my toddler was provided with a feeding chair. I stayed with my wife and 2 children and would recommend this hotel to everyone who wants to experience real class.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swaziboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Dear swaziboy,

I am thrilled to see that the Michelangelo continues to receive such great feedback and any General Manager will be very happy to have such a great team.

Thank you,

Kind Regards,
Roberto Rosa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

If you're like me, great service is just as important as the hotel. This place has it both. If you notice, the negative reviews haven't been in the past few months. I was reluctant myself, then found out there's a new GM and team in place. WOW! (one word description). The bellman Patrick (yes, I remember his name) made it obvious he loved his job and wanted to serve as he escorted me to my room. In terms of the room...I have fairly high standards in terms of a hotel that says, "five star". They delivered in every sense of the word. Beautiful room and it was nicely appointed. Very warm and welcoming after a 15 hour flight. The marble bathroom is what you expect and will not disappoint you. Although this was my first stay here, it certainly won't be my last. It's the Four Seasons of Sandton City. The lobby is luxurious and the breakfast was very upmarket. The head chef here one of the judges for Master Chef....that should tell you what to expect with your palette. No wonder this is one of the Leading Hotels of the World.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brianparsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Dear brianparsley,

I truely appreciate you having noticed the positive changes and my team and I remain commited and passionate in taking the Michelangelo to the No.1 spot up where it belongs!

Thank you for your kind feedback.

Kind Regards,
Roberto Rosa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Unfortunately for us, we stayed here only one night, but we really enjoyed our stay. Our room was quite large and nicely furnished with a balcony which overlooked Nelson Mandela Square.
The hotel has a fantastic bar ( we needed a drink having flown 15 hours from Australia) and every aspect of service was brilliant. The staff are a credit to the hotel - again, genuinely friendly and extremely helpful at all times.
We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel or to stay here again if we find ourselves in Johannesburg again (which we hope to do one day).
Thank you for a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryandMelody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Dear GaryandMelody,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that your stay was a memorable one.

We have passed your wonderful comments onto all our staff. The flight is indeed a long one and you truely deserved a drink at our beautiful bar.

We hope to see you again soon and for a longer stay next time.

Kind Regards,
Roberto Rosa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We were treated to a wonderful 2 night stay at Michelangelo and were wowed by the service,stunning room and excellent breakfasts. The hotel has a lovely Italian feel, and lives up to its 5 star reputation. Our dinner in the main hotel restaurant was delicious and highly recommended. It is equipped with a spa, gym and situated right at one of the best shopping centres in Africa. The staff were exceptionally friendly. Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Dear Lesley T,

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback.

I have passed on your compliments to the rest of the team.

It was a pleasure having you with us and we look foward to having you stay at the Michelangelo Hotel again soon.

Kind Regards,
Roberto Rosa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Enjoyed two stays at Michelangelo ,one prior and one following a safari in Botswana. On both occasions staff went out of their way to help our group of twelve New Zealanders. Great breakfasts,excellent rooms and very helpful people!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V6qtro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Dear V6qtro,

Thank you for your positive feedback. We will pass your comments onto out team and hope to see the "New Zealanders" again soon.

Kind Regards,
Roberto Rosa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.1 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
#11 of 47 in Sandton
610 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 47 in Sandton
1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 47 in Sandton
967 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michelangelo Hotel

Address: 135 West Street Nelson Mandela Square | Sandown, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#7 Business Hotel in Sandton
Price Range: $226 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Michelangelo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A member of the Leading Hotels of the World, The Michelangelo Hotel guarantees visitors a five-star stay whether spending the day to attend a conference, staying overnight or merely visiting for a breakfast, lunch or dinner meeting. The splendor of the hotel's Renaissance architecture in the heart of Sandton's business and leisure district, as well as the service excellence and world-class facilities on offer, sets The Michelangelo apart from its competitors. Built around a central atrium, guests enjoy the decadent use of space which gives the feeling of grandeur in an area where space is at a premium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michelangelo Hotel Johannesburg
Michelangelo Hotel Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing