We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Michelangelo Hotel
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed February 8, 2008

Arrival at the hotel was smooth, as was the check in process. I was booked into a deluxe room. These are larger then the standard rooms, with a sitting area consisting of a sofa, coffee table, and TV cabinet with mini bar and TV. This is a step down area from the main room. The deluxe rooms are on the 2nd and 3rd floor of the hotel, while the standard rooms are on the 4th and 5th floors. I was also given an Internet access card which enabled me to use the cable in the room to access Internet. This was very easy to use.

The bathroom is large, with a separate shower, bath, and closed of toilet, and single vanity. The Michelangelo Hotel uses their own branded bathroom products. There were plenty of towels.

There is a safe, but it is not large enough to fit a laptop. Newspapers are delivered daily, but in the afternoon.

The bed was a bit soft (I had twins pushed together), and the pillows were old lumpy cotton ones. There was only a blanket and no duvet. There is a desk with chair (not ergonomic office type).

The room is serviced twice a day, and the maids are very efficient, and thorough.

I asked for an iron and ironing board, and was told that the hotel does not provide these, and instead guests have to pay to have their clothes pressed (never come across that before).

Breakfast was served in the lounge area next to the restaurant. If you were having Continental breakfast, you had to sit in a separate area to where the hot breakfast guests sat. There was a reasonable spread cereals, breads, pastries, fruit, cheese, cold meats, smoked salmon and coffee’s/tea’s. Service was efficient.

The great thing about the hotel is it’s location, overlooking Nelson Mandela Square and adjacent to the Sandton Shopping Mall. Access to restaurants, café’s, etc., was fantastic.

I had stayed at this hotel 4 and 6 years ago, and nothing has changed. The rooms are in need of refurbishment, for both soft and hard furnishings.

  • Liked — Location to the Shoping Mall
  • Disliked — needs up-grading
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank roadwarriorafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    233
    87
    27
    20
See reviews for
108
284
59
358
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
colorado
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2007

We sure had a different experience than those that wrote negative reviews. We had absolutely no complaints.
The hotel is beautiful, our rooms were great, overlooking Nelson Mandla square and connected to an upscale shoppig mall. The bar area is lovely with a fountain, scultures etc. The staff was very accomadating, the included breakfast was delicious. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2007

We stayed for two nights in this hotel, rooms are old and not so nice but the bathroom is very nice with marble and all the amenities you might need.
The hotel is connected to a mall which can be convenient for those who like to shop..

  • Liked — I did not like it so much
  • Disliked — Rooms are not so nice especially not for a 5*hotel
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Wereldreizigster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2007

Nice hotel, didn't eat here as the sandton city mall and nelson mandela square offer so much more. The breakfest is good and offeres alot.. The rooms were very nicely decorated and we had a suite facing the square. On weeknights when it is lively the square can be loud, if your terrace doors are open, however the noise did not bother once closed.. Highly recommend the Butcher Shop as a place to eat outside the hotel or the seafood rest. ajacent to it.. mall fab with all the designer shops and more... FashionTv cafe, is a trendy swanky place to hang, for drinks and good music.... It is not the best leading hotel of the world I have stayed at, but it is not or was not as bad as the other comments posted here. Crime can happen anywhere regardless, even in the best of the best...THis was and is a safe secure hotel, while there one night security was beefed up as magabi and other african leaders where having meeting at the hotel... overall it is a good hotel and I always stay here when in Joberg to shop..

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank snlkhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2007

So, This hotel - may be beautiful looking, but in this case you cannot judge a book by its cover.

I have traveled to more than 20 countries and many US hotels, and I must say that this hotel is one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed. The room that we were given should have been "out of order" since the facilites were not functional. After 5 attempts and numerous "droppings of balls" we were unable to successfully fix the problem.

The food was the terrible (after spending 2 weeks in Cape Town - the mecca of food) it was almost net worth paying for.

If you must stay here, pack a lunch, and be ready to use the public facilities. It is just not worth it!

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank melt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2007

I’m not sure if this hotel has dramatically improved or if those who have written reviews have had exceptionally bad experiences here. However, we thought the Michelangelo was great. We were given a huge suite with a separate dining and living area, a full bathroom with two sinks, a large tub and separate shower and another half bath. Upon arriving in the room, we received complimentary champagne and a fruit basket. The common areas of the hotel are beautiful. Breakfast was excellent. The staff here was not quite as polished as at some of
the other hotels where we stayed in Africa (such as the Twelve Apostles in Cape Town and the Royal Livingstone in Zambia). However,
the staff was very sincere and tried hard to please. The one exception was when we arrived, no one came help us with our luggage right away. Other than that, they were fine. When we were leaving and called for help with our bags, someone came right away. The location is convenient with many restaurants and shops in the attached mall and Sandton Square. Our experience was great. During our stay, there were several professional basketball players staying here for the NBA's Basketball Without Borders program.

  • Liked — wonderful suite!
  • Disliked — no luggage help when we first arrived
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank friscocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2007

A welcome luxury in the big city. The Michelangelo supplies superb rooms, good food, and a superb central location if visiting Jo'burg. The adjacent shopping malls are excellent and enable one to find any missing items.

I found the staff friendly and helpful, the food was not as good as many hotels in this class but the nelson mandela square, opposite and below the hotel contains many good restaurants including the fantastic Butchers Arms.

Overall a very good stay and what you wouold expect from a hotel in this class

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank YBOD98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 48 in Sandton
861 reviews
0.1 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#14 of 48 in Sandton
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michelangelo Hotel

Property: Michelangelo Hotel
Address: Nelson Mandela Square 135 West Street | Sandown, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#7 Business Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Michelangelo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A member of the Leading Hotels of the World, The Michelangelo Hotel guarantees visitors a five-star stay whether spending the day to attend a conference, staying overnight or merely visiting for a breakfast, lunch or dinner meeting. The splendor of the hotel's Renaissance architecture in the heart of Sandton's business and leisure district, as well as the service excellence and world-class facilities on offer, sets The Michelangelo apart from its competitors. Built around a central atrium, guests enjoy the decadent use of space which gives the feeling of grandeur in an area where space is at a premium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michelangelo Hotel Johannesburg
Michelangelo Hotel Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing