We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“premium 5 star hotel”
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Michelangelo Hotel
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2012

we had 2 connecting rooms since i was travelling with my family. hotel location is great since it is connected to sandton city which is a huge mall with all your needs. you need approx. 3 days to get familiar with all services and shops in mall. must try their steaks in nelson mandela square since south africa is very famous in exporting steaks and wines. many attractions inside cinema halls,coffee shops,games,famous shops and all you could ask for. hotel is comfy and staff are very helpfull.it is a top class hotel with excellent services.
try food in indian resturant it is tasty.

Room Tip: book thru famous travel sites. choose rooms facing nelson mandella square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aljehani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,005)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

774 - 780 of 1,005 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2012

This time, it is Johannesburg. I stayed here in Jan 2012. I can say only one word about this hotel Äwesome, Grand, luxury at its best". I stayed last time in Michelangelo Towers and the same was before Soccer Tournament. This time, i was in Michelanglo Hotel near to Nelson Mandela Square. Breakfast is above average but not great. I had a room upgrade and room, bed and bathrooms were luxury. Internet speed was disappointing as it was taking very long for mail download. Given an option, I would have paid extra for high speed. Food is not a problem as there are a number of restaurant in Nelson Mandela Square so what ever your choice, Italian, Thai, Indian ENJOY it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surendra45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, Front Office Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2012

Dear Surendra45

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at The Michelangelo Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We have noted and will investigate the problems you experienced with Internet connectivity during your stay with us.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Best Regards,

Jason Mulligan
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Very nice efficient hotel but just too overpowering, I do not need anyone to press the elevator button for me. Rooms very clean and functional plus if you face into Mandela Square very nice. Food was average but choice of fruit and juices was good. A bit overpriced for what you get and maybe just beginning to look its age

Room Tip: High up facing Mandela Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, Front Office Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2012

Dear John M

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at The Michelangelo Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback.

We do acknowledge that the classical Renaissance Style of the our Hotel does make it look somewhat aged, however we value all feedback and I will relay your comments to our team.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and it is my hope that you will allow us to serve you in the future.

Best Regards,

Jason Mulligan
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Great location, adjacent to Nelson Mandela Square. Lots of restaurants, cafes, bars and shops.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slim_dusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, Front Office Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2012

Dear slim_dusty

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at The Michelangelo Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Best Regards,

Jason Mulligan
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

60 min from gate to room assuming Gautrain in operation.

Perfect location but very pricey for amenities.

Could use overall in f/b and updating of rooms. Internet very slow.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveljunkie042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, Front Office Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2012

Dear traveljunkie042

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at The Michelangelo Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

We have increased our bandwidth and are looking to introduce further changes, in order to increase the speed of our Internet.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Best Regards,

Jason Mulligan
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

We stayed for two nights with a tour group. Room was comfortable with effective temperature control. Breakfast was good, if not spectacular. Location in Sandton is extremely convenient, just a block or two from the Gautrain station, offering rapid service direct to the airport. One feature of the hotel we especially appreciated was the "residents lounge." a place you could sit quietly, use wi-fi devices and if needed, take a shower in a miniature bathroom. Since most long distance flights to USA and Europe seem to leave in the evening, you could check out of your room at mid-day, do some business or sightseeing in the afternoon, and change clothes or shower at the hotel before leaving for the airport. Staff is helpful and pleasant. One more advantage: the shopping center attached to the hotel has one of the best English-language bookstores we have ever encountered anywhere.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PierCove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

On a recent two-week trip to South Africa, I had the chance to stay at the Michelangelo, which is well- located in Sandton at the Nelson Mandela Square. I eagerly anticipated my stay here since I had seen it from afar on prior visits to SAfrica and was curious about it. My more modern interior design tastes did not correspond well to the interior design of the room, unfortunately. Heavy and dark are the two descriptives that come to mind regarding the furniture, bed spread, drapes, and bathroom. While the bathroom could use some repair on its sink drainage, overall this was a clean and comfortable hotel, safe and secure, too. Also, the delicious breakfast spread is worthy of mention, and the hotel's close proximity to Joburg's largest mall is a plus for any shopper. After staying in two other gorgeous hotels in SA where I felt like I was in 5-star heaven, I'd give this a 4 overall. Bottom line: it's really a matter of taste.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Prudala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.1 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
#11 of 47 in Sandton
617 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 47 in Sandton
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Michelangelo Towers
Michelangelo Towers
#26 of 47 in Sandton
93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 47 in Sandton
988 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michelangelo Hotel

Address: 135 West Street Nelson Mandela Square | Sandown, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#7 Business Hotel in Sandton
Price Range: $277 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Michelangelo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A member of the Leading Hotels of the World, The Michelangelo Hotel guarantees visitors a five-star stay whether spending the day to attend a conference, staying overnight or merely visiting for a breakfast, lunch or dinner meeting. The splendor of the hotel's Renaissance architecture in the heart of Sandton's business and leisure district, as well as the service excellence and world-class facilities on offer, sets The Michelangelo apart from its competitors. Built around a central atrium, guests enjoy the decadent use of space which gives the feeling of grandeur in an area where space is at a premium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michelangelo Hotel Johannesburg
Michelangelo Hotel Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing