We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just okay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Westford Hotel, Sandton
Ranked #43 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“just okay”
Reviewed October 17, 2010

it was just okay. the rooms were normal. beds were small and uncomfortable. but we had to stay only for one night there so we were not muh concerned. Location wise it is a good hotel as it is in the middle of Sandton area which is the main market there (Sandton Square).

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ankurgupta76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    24
    29
    8
    16
See reviews for
18
24
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2010

The group of hotels under Westford are a CON - they do not offer what is represented on the web-site and have a way of chrging you more then what you will be told when you arrive and inquire on the rates.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank tembo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sandton hotels

world traveller
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2010

We arrived very late, rooms were very good for the cost. Front of house reception is very nice and col and inviting. The hotel is very clean and the staff coul not have been more helpful - they even went to the local petrol station for a bottle of Cola for us.
My husband pre-arranged flowers for my birthday which were presented to me at breakfast in such a lovely way.
Breakfast is fantastic,, fresh fruitis wonderful and varied, everything you want will be cooked immediately for you. Staff so helpful and obliging.
Litle bit of a warren to get to our rooms and up & down stairs with cases is a bore, but you only do that in & out really, and there is always staff to assist.. Altogether we had two very good nights here and at a reasonable cost. Oh yes, nice pool - we enjoyed !

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HARDBATTLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2010

After paying (full price on booking) around 1000 rand (or 150 AUD) for this hotel we were expecting something pretty reasonable standard. On our arrival the lifts were broken and we had to walk the back corridors and a few flights of stairs. The building on a whole seemed run down, however the rooms were really bad. Broken shower doors that required arkward manouvers to get into, broken and noisy air condition and TV remote(s) that didn't work with the TV and poor reception. Breakfasts were OK but some things didn't seem very fresh.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roaming_rodent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tjmm11
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2010

We booked this hotel based on reviews we read here. We weren't expecting a fancy place, but we were expecting something at least decent. This place was, for the most part, a bit of dump.

The staff was all very friendly and the breakfast was quite nice. But those are the only good points. When we arrived, they marched us up several flights of stairs without offering baggage help. We had arrived well after the check-in time, but our room had not been cleaned by the housekeeping staff. So we sat and waited for about 15 minutes while they figured out where to put us. Eventually they marched us back down a few flights of stairs and moved us to another room that had two twin beds instead of one double bed. In our new room, the couches were ripped and full of cigarette burns. The TV remote control was missing. One of the air conditioners didn't even work, and the other one turned on but blew in no cool air. The carpet was filthy. The shower was tiny and difficult to move around in. My bed was OK (although the linens were threadbare) but my spouse's bed had a huge dip in the middle, causing a very achy back in the morning. It was a relatively warm evening in Joburg, and we roasted a bit without a functioning air conditioner. All of the furnishings are poorly maintained and are a mix of pieces that look like they'd appear in someone's grandmother's house and pieces that seem modern but are junk.

Also, we arrived pretty hungry but found out that the restaurant is open only for breakfast.

We thought perhaps the hotel would at least not charge us for a two-hour Internet voucher, due to our troubles of getting to our room. But they made no such overtures and we didn't feel like pressing the point.

The hotel IS inexpensive compared to others in the very pricey Sandton area. But we realized quickly that a *much* nicer hotel room at the nearby Southern Sun Katherine Street was easily worth the extra $50. Easily.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjmm11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2010

Affordable 3-star hotel, well located within Sandton (close to Nelson Mandela Sqr and Sandton City shopping and restaurants. This hotel should only be considered if you just want a place to sleep whilst exploring the surroundings, as the pool is no bigger than one you might have at home and the hotel doesn't offer much else.

Staff are friendly and helpful and I could not fault the service that was available. Property is in need of refurbishment, but represents good value for money given the location. Overall we had a very satisfactory stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank Shawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2009

No complaints at all for this hotel, especially when you compare the price to others in the area (short distance to Mandela Square). The breakfast selection and quality was good (we're both vegetarian and still managed to get a good cooked breakfast), all the staff were very pleasant and helpful, and the room was a good size and very clean.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bandluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.5 mi away
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
#23 of 48 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.5 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Raphael Penthouse Suites
Raphael Penthouse Suites
#33 of 48 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
0.5 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westford Hotel, Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westford Hotel, Sandton

Property: The Westford Hotel, Sandton
Address: 84 Katherine Street, Sandton 2196, South Africa (Formerly Pembury Plaza)
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Westford Hotel, Sandton 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westford Hotel now offers business and leisure travelers the convenience of staying in the heart of Sandton, Africa's economic, shopping and leisure centre at very reduced rates. We offer an alternative to business travellers who are looking for world class convenience, cleanliness, superior comfort and leisure. The hotel is centrally located close to all the main business and leisure centres within entertainment precincts of sprawling restaurants, cinemas, theatres as well as high end clubs and nightspots. The rooms are spacious with kitchenettes, bathrooms and comfortable TV Lounges. The cleanliness is of the highest quality. Security is 24 hours with more than enough secure, free parking on-site. The Westford Hotel is located 5 minutes walk from: The Sandton Convention Centre, The Sandton City Shopping Centre, The Gautrain Station (Rapid rail transport from the airport), Embassy of The United States, The Nelson Mandela Square with the Statue of the global icon, The Johannesburg Stock Exchange. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westford Hotel, Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembury Plaza Sandton
Pembury Plaza Hotel Sandton
The Westford Hotel, Sandton Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing