We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for Sandton City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location for Sandton City”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Excellent location and spacious rooms but like a maize with no pattern to corridors and wings.Seems as though there have been extensions on extensions.Clean rooms and all other facilities befitting a 3-4 star property.

Room Tip: Bring a compass
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fridge24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear ‘fridge24’.
Thank you for taking the time to write on ‘tripadvisor’.
Your feedback is appreciated and we look forward in welcoming you back again.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    452
    175
    50
    42
See reviews for
131
228
77
421
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

I read the variety of reviews in Trip Advisor before arriving to spend two nights at this hotel. It is a pleasant and agreeable hotel with rooms overlooking one of two pools and garden. Bedrooms are adequately bright and spacious and the Bull Run offers an excellent steak. Given its location in the CBD the Balalaika is a convenient and decent hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Smiler_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear ‘Smiler_8’.
Your kind words on ‘tripadvisor’ are much appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to do so. It is wonderful to read that your all round experience was such a positive one.
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

In Sandton all is modern and very nice. Balalaika looks old style, but it is eve nicer. Nice room, perfect service. Very good breakfast (omelettes). Fair prices at the Bar. Free early check in and late check out. Very stylish staff. Very fair price for this quality.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alfieParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear ‘alfieParis’.
Thank you for taking the time to write on ‘tripadvisor’. Your feedback is much appreciated. How wonderful to read that you enjoyed your all round stay in our beautiful, unique, country styled hotel and also enjoyed the breakfast so much. We are very pleased that we were able to assist you with an early check in and a late check out, as this is not always possible for our valued GUESTS during high occupancies.
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanderbijlpark, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Was booked in very early with many no problem at all. Given my room and all. Had a conference for the day. Went out to supper and got back to my room to find that all is ready with a chocolate to have sweet dreams .
Will definitely be back again.
The staff are all friendly and helpful and kind.
Thanks alot.

Room Tip: East side top beautiful view of garden and quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear ‘Heather T’.
Your positive feedback on ‘tripadvisor’ is greatly appreciated. How wonderful to read that your all round stay was such a wonderful one. We are pleased to have been able to assist you with an early check in and that you found our STAFF to be friendly & helpful.
We look forward in welcoming you back and spoiling you again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Hotel itself was great. Rooms were clean. Amenities - 2 swimming pools, restaurant in hotel open late for dinner, buffet breakfast included in price of room, bar in lobby area, helpful concierge for tourist information. However, very loud construction going on directly outside our room - during evening/suppertime, as well as next morning starting before 7:30am so we couldn't sleep. Would have appreciated being warned about this before taken to our room, or to receive a discounted price for the inconvenience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel consistently over 2 years with work. It is not the most modern or stylish hotel in sandton, but the personal touch and old world charm kept me coming back again and again. Staff all the way up to senior manages took a genuine interest in the quality of my stay, and I always felt at home here. The rooms were slightly dated but perfectly comfortable. The only suggestions I would have, are to make wifi unlimited without using tokens, and to clear some of the trees in the central pool to get the sun in all day. I would strongly recommend this hotel, mostly due to the dedicated staff. Thank you.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear ‘Martin P’.
Thank you for writing your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’. Wow, how wonderful to read that you consider the Balalaika ‘a home away from home’. That is truly a compliment and is very much appreciated.
We look forward in welcoming you back ‘home’ again soon!
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

This 4 night stopover in J'burg was a bit of a surprise and I rather liked the Balalaika. The entrance is rather more grand than the accommodation areas but even so the rooms were clean and comfortable so no complaints at all - it's a very good standard. Limited free internet then chargeable is available throughout and the food was perfectly good too. I tried the attached restaurant on two consecutive evenings and I was very impressed - I strongly recommend the beef kebab (it's not what you expect but if you are meat eater you will love it). The hotel has a gym but this is probably the one area in need of investment - the aircon was ineffective and a lot of the equipment had seen better days. The outdoor pools hardly seemed to be used as they were very small but all told I enjoyed my stay here and will happily return. Please Balalaika spend some money on the gym and get it to high standard.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear ‘richard h’.
Thank you for your feedback on ‘tripadvsior’ and for taking the time to do so. How lovely that your all round stay was such a pleasurable one. Please note that our gym will be receiving a ‘nip & tuck’ in the near future and we are sure our valued GUESTS will be pleasantly surprised. This is only one of the exciting projects happening soon...
We look forward in welcoming you back again.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#14 of 47 in Sandton
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.3 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 47 in Sandton
944 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Address: 20 Maude Street | Sandown, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#10 Business Hotel in Sandton
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton on Maude Street, in Sandton, is located in Johannesburg's economic heartland. The hotel's charming colonial theme is accentuated with wooden elements and delicate floral accents. Each of the 330 classically-styled rooms make guests feel as though they never left home - with a king-size bed, LCD television, electronic safe and a full en-suite bathroom with a walk-in shower. Business executives are catered to with a desk, office chair and international plug points. Complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi is accessible throughout the hotel and the Wi-Fi station situated in the lobby provides convenience for guests requiring instant access to the internet. The English countryside atmosphere defines this four-star hotel as a little bit of country in the heart of Sandton. Birdsong makes guests forget that they are in a bustling metropolis. The Johannesburg Stock Exchange, Sandton Convention Centre and the city's most exclusive shopping mall are a short stroll away. A complimentary shuttle to and from the Gautrain station makes the Balalaika easily accessible. Whether it is for business or leisure, the central location and warm hospitality of the Protea Hotel Balalaika are unrivalled, making it your first and only choice when staying in Johannesburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Johannesburg
Balalaika Hotel
Protea Hotel Balalaika
Sandton Hotel Balalaika
Protea Hotel By Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing