We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hilton Sandton(Sandton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,071)
Filter reviews
1,071 results
Traveler rating
294
486
189
57
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
294
486
189
57
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbull run restaurantlords barcrown courtstock exchangemandela squarebit datedgautrain stationsafe locationbuffet breakfastshopping centrefree shuttlereception areaan oasisshuttle servicebeautiful gardensouth africabusiness district
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
573 - 578 of 1,071 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This hotel has excellent charm and character. The service is superb, and the rooms are neat and clean. The wireless internet works well and staff go out of their way to make your stay a pleasant one. The Bullrun restaurant serves excellent food. I would recommend this hotel to any one.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manfred K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear ‘Manfred K’.
Thank you for writing your review on ‘tripadvsior’. We are very pleased to read that your all round experience was such an enjoyable and pleasant one. Yes, we would have to agree with you that our hotel has character and charm. Your kind words about our STAFF, service and Bull Run Restaurant are much appreciated.
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

When I arrived in early September, there was a lot of renovation going on in the lobby. Everything was covered up but by the time I checked out, they had taken the covers off and I could see that the Balalaika, had a certain old world charm to it. My room was back in the Crown Court so you had to walk past the garden area / swimming pool. The room was your typical standard size room with a somewhat small bathroom. Best part of this place was the location to the Sandton City Shopping Centre but I didn't see much in terms of nightlife within walking distance. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful especially Nelson. Always there to greet you at the front door and to assist in any manner. The breakfast was wonderful - lots of goodies to fill up on. The hotel offered free Wi-Fi (500mb / day) but the connection was poor, either in the room or in the main lobby area. Only place it seemed to work was in the restaurant.

Room Tip: I had a Crown Court room, which had an exterior door leading to the outside. During the morning, you can hear the cleaning carts going over the tiles, which can be noisy. Also, if there is an adjoining door between rooms (great for families), the doors are rather thin and you can hear what is going on next door (including the shower).
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BayAreaTraveler6338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear ‘BayAreaTraveler6’.
Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’. Yes, our hotel is very unique and not at all like the modern high-rise hotels. We pride ourselves in still having that ‘old world charm’ which still seems to appeal many of our valued GUESTS. Thank you for your praise about our STAFF. Your kind words about Nelson in particular are much appreciated. How wonderful that you enjoyed the selection of our scrumptious breakfast buffet. We are pleased to report that our IT Manager has been able to sort out the WIFI concerns. We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Having grown bored of bland business hotels I decided to give the Balalaika Hotel a go. The first thing to make me consider this hotel was the fact that it has a very nice garden area and pool. It's so nice follow up on a days meetings with a beer by the pool rather than sit in the reception area that pretends to be a bar (Holiday Inn). The other reason to stay there is that it is the location of The Bull Run, my favourite restaurant in the area. If you want a good steak in a lively atmosphere (when the Virgin air crews are in), don't bother with the over rated restaurants in Mandela Square.
The rooms are just fine, newly done and comfortable. The breakfast on the terrace was very good and the bar was cosy and friendly. All the staff were polite and attentive so there are not may reasons to mark this hotel down. Just 2 points that stopped me giving 5 stars. 1 - no bottled water in the room. This is a real basic requirement of mine at any hotel. And 2 - there is very little space outside to be picked or dropped off up, harder to fix due to the limted space but a bit of remodelling and doing away with a pointless fountain would make more room to manoeuvre.
All that said, The Balalaika will now be my default hotel for my regular visits to Joburg.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Mumbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear ‘Mumbers’.
Thank you for your positive feedback on ‘tripadvisor’. We are pleased to read that you are among the many travellers that find our location convenient for your travel purposes and that you also enjoyed our beautiful gardens. Apart from our excellent location, we are pleased that the service received was of the high standard, to which we strive. Please note that your suggestions have been noted.
On behalf of the Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton, we would like to thank you for your business and look forward to welcome you back ‘home’ again.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The staff was pleasant enough and the hotel was clean and in good condition- but not very modern (that's what they were going for). Not sure of the age of the hotel but there was an old feel to the room. There is a really huge and comfortable work station in the room (office chair and desk) so it was really easy to get work done during my trip (not sure if all the rooms have this). The bathroom was quite spacious, with shower and tub - perfect for a late night soak.

The grounds are beautiful, pool is a good size and the hotel is ideally located. Room service was excellent and there is a mini fridge in the room.

The hotel is huge but there are no signs inside- as such it is quite difficult to find your room, and to make your way around the hotel in general.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank footprints00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear ‘footprints00’.
Your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’ is much appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to do so. We are pleased that you are among the many travelers that find our location convenient and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comment regarding the signage has been taken to heart and will be addressed in the near future.
We look forward in welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is a very large hotel that can involve a long walk to your room if you are down the back. Reception was not terribly friendly or efficient and during our stay proved not that helpful. However general service was good once we were in, room service was obliging and friendly and really prompt, breakfasts were excellent and the syaff in the restaurant most helpful. The hotel is in a great location with many restaurants conveniently located around.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear ‘John P’.
Thank you for taking the time to write on ‘tripadvisor’. We appreciate your praise about the general service. However, as you can understand, it is very concerning to read about your disappointing service experience with our Reception. Please may we ask you to contact our Front Office Manager, Tessa (Tessa@balalaika.co.za), as she would need to know exactly as to what happened, so she is able to take the relevant action, to avoid such disappointment occurring again. This would be greatly appreciated.
We look forward to your reply and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews